FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

HTC WP7 USB Internet Tethering - DFRouter

18 posts
Thanks Meter: 23
 
By dfvn, Junior Member on 20th January 2011, 06:13 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
8th May 2011, 02:33 AM |#171  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
there is a big problem with my HTC HD7...I uninstall the DFrouter before change the zune modem,now,my phone can't connect zune...
I tried all:flashing my phone,reinstall,reinstall my PC...but,it can't work...
who can indeed the DFrouter.XAP to the ROM...and,I can change the mode by the rom
HELP!!!
12th May 2011, 05:38 PM |#172  
thesecondsfade's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 119
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewharmon102

look at the step where your adding your advanced settings. internet.t-mobile doesnt look right to me, it should have an ending (mine ends .uk, i guess as yours is german it would end .de), it should be the same as your APN settings. hardware failure is pretty much the only error you get, so it could be anything. have a look at my post on this a few replies up and see if that helps

also make sure you turn off internet connection on the phone before trying to connect on the pc (it has to start a new connection).

The correct APN for T-Mobile USA is epc.tmobile.com. I'm not sure if they use the same APN for the rest of the world.
12th May 2011, 05:40 PM |#173  
thesecondsfade's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 119
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyonting

there is a big problem with my HTC HD7...I uninstall the DFrouter before change the zune modem,now,my phone can't connect zune...
I tried all:flashing my phone,reinstall,reinstall my PC...but,it can't work...
who can indeed the DFrouter.XAP to the ROM...and,I can change the mode by the rom
HELP!!!

My suggestion is to read the forum before you try something like this. There are warnings all over the place.

You can try officially dev-unlocking the device by paying $99 to Microsoft but who knows if that will even work...
13th May 2011, 10:42 PM |#174  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
keep the good work thanks for this
14th May 2011, 10:49 AM |#175  
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 13
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thesecondsfade

The correct APN for T-Mobile USA is epc.tmobile.com. I'm not sure if they use the same APN for the rest of the world.

if you search the forums, there was a thread on APN settings. mine is internet.t-mobile.uk (for UK t-mobile) i would guess they use a different one for each country.

have a look at http://modmyi.com/wiki/index.php/Carrier_APN_Settings
14th May 2011, 02:06 PM |#176  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I'm beside myself trying to get my HD7 to tether.

First, I've read every post remotely related to this topic on this forum and others. Thanks to all the people in this community who have shared information on how to crack these phones, provide ROMs, troubleshooting and expertise.

I would have never gotten this far without all of your help.

I hope someone can solve this issue, because it sounds like many others have, or will have the dreaded "Error 692" problem when attempting to tether.

Some background: I'm attempting to tether a Windows 7 32-bit laptop to a T-Mobile HD7 in the US. In order to jailbreak the phone, I got an sim unlock code, then I installed one of the 7004 build ROMs from the HD7 developer's forum on this board, then unlocked with Chevron. I'm still under OS7004, with a boot loader version of 1.54.2250 and firmware 2250.09.15402.531.

I then followed the following procedure, posted on this forum and others:

//
1. Download XAP file
2. Download HTC Sync for Android from HTC for USB Modem driver
3. Deploy XAP file to your phone
4. Turn of your Data conection in your phone.
5. Run DFRouter and click on “HTC Modem”
6. Open your device manager, it will show 2 unknown device, choise device have ID is : USBVID_0BB4&PID_0EFF&REV_0000&MI_01, update your driver with HtcUsbMdm and you got HTC USB Modem.
7. Make a dial up call from your computer and set it work like other WP7 tethering from samsung or LG.
8. Click “Zune Mode” to come back with Zune Sync.

For dial up make a call *99# with mi_01 id modem. Mi_00 is diag port, maybe have some qualcomm unlock here. Don’t forget add +CGDCONT=1,”IP”,”your apn” in your advance property of modem.

//

The only variation is that I could not, no matter how hard I tried, manually install or change the two HTC modem drivers. Despite downloading them from several sources, and even trying both 32bit and 64bit drivers, I could not get windows to accept them. Even if I "uninstalled and deleted the drivers" then attempted to reinstalled the drivers for the two "Unknown Devices" I could not. Windows would not recognize the HTC drivers as being appropriate for the device. The only way I could get the HTC modem to install was using the HTC Sync software that automatically installs those drivers. By doing so, it seemed that in the Device Manager the HTC mode is installed... but there is only one device listed, the "HTC USB Modem."

In troubleshooting this, here are the things I have tried:

- Restarting the phone and machine numerous times.
- Performing all functions with anti-virus and firewall disabled.
- Yes, I have made sure the WiFi and data connection are off before connecting the USB and attempting dial up.
- I have tried the trick of selecting "USB" Sync then "HTC Modem" right before attempting dial up.
- I have tried every T-Mobile APN known to man in the initialization string.
- I have turned off "IPV6" and compression on modem settings.
- I have tried all COM ports 1-8.
- I have entered in the same APNs that are in the modem init string to the HD7's settings under cellular > Network Selection.

There are probably other things I have tried as well... if it was listed in any post on this board, I've probably tried it.

When I attempt to query the HTC Modem, the response I get is always something to the effect of "can't detect modem... make sure it is turned on." Here is a cut and paste of the log... which is always the same no matter what I seem to try.

05-14-2011 08:35:33.152 - File: C:\Windows\system32\tapisrv.dll, Version 6.1.7600
05-14-2011 08:35:33.153 - File: C:\Windows\system32\unimdm.tsp, Version 6.1.7600
05-14-2011 08:35:33.154 - File: C:\Windows\system32\unimdmat.dll, Version 6.1.7600
05-14-2011 08:35:33.154 - File: C:\Windows\system32\uniplat.dll, Version 6.1.7600
05-14-2011 08:35:33.156 - File: C:\Windows\system32\drivers\modem.sys, Version 6.1.7600
05-14-2011 08:35:33.156 - File: C:\Windows\system32\modemui.dll, Version 6.1.7600
05-14-2011 08:35:33.157 - File: C:\Windows\system32\mdminst.dll, Version 6.1.7600
05-14-2011 08:35:33.157 - Modem type: HTC USB Modem
05-14-2011 08:35:33.158 - Modem inf path: oem19.inf
05-14-2011 08:35:33.158 - Modem inf section: Modem0
05-14-2011 08:35:33.159 - Matching hardware ID: usb\vid_0bb4&pid_0eff
05-14-2011 08:35:33.163 - Opening Modem
05-14-2011 08:35:33.163 - 115200,8,N,1, ctsfl=0, rtsctl=1
05-14-2011 08:35:33.168 - Initializing modem.
05-14-2011 08:35:33.173 - DSR is low while initializing the modem. Verify modem is turned on.
05-14-2011 08:35:33.173 - CTS is low while initializing modem.
05-14-2011 08:35:33.185 - Send: AT<cr>
05-14-2011 08:35:35.185 - Timed out waiting for response from modem
05-14-2011 08:35:35.185 - The modem failed to respond to the initialization command, Retrying one more time
05-14-2011 08:35:35.185 - 115200,8,N,1, ctsfl=0, rtsctl=1
05-14-2011 08:35:35.186 - DSR is low while initializing the modem. Verify modem is turned on.
05-14-2011 08:35:35.186 - CTS is low while initializing modem.
05-14-2011 08:35:35.197 - Send: AT<cr>
05-14-2011 08:35:37.197 - Timed out waiting for response from modem
05-14-2011 08:35:37.197 - The modem failed to respond to the initialization command, Retrying one more time
05-14-2011 08:35:37.199 - 115200,8,N,1, ctsfl=0, rtsctl=1
05-14-2011 08:35:37.201 - DSR is low while initializing the modem. Verify modem is turned on.
05-14-2011 08:35:37.202 - CTS is low while initializing modem.
05-14-2011 08:35:37.212 - Send: AT<cr>
05-14-2011 08:35:39.217 - Timed out waiting for response from modem
05-14-2011 08:35:39.220 - Session Statistics:
05-14-2011 08:35:39.220 - Reads : 0 bytes
05-14-2011 08:35:39.220 - Writes: 9 bytes

I'm sure I must be missing something simple or stupid. I sounds like windows doesn't have the drivers it needs or can't connect to the device.

Any help would be hugely appreciated... I desperately need to get this working so that I can have mobile internet access for my work.

Thanks!
14th May 2011, 04:45 PM |#177  
Junior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
The modem failed to respond to the initialization command
I've got the exact same error. I've done almost every steps you did and from what I can gather from many posts, tons of people have that same error.

The problem is really with communicating with the modem. We're not even negociating with the carrier.
14th May 2011, 07:23 PM |#178  
Junior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Thumbs up Finally fixed it
Alright, to everyone who has the 692 error, there can be 2 cause:
- The modem is not on the same COM port has the HTC DIAG port
(see below)
- The APN is not correctly typed
(don't copy and paste from the Internet, retype it to avoid invalid caracters)

I've spent a lot of time trying stuff until I found this post. (Bold stuff are not usually clear with other post.

-------------------------------
1. deployed xap to phone
2. turn off mobile internet and wifi (leave 3g on)
3. open dfrouter and tap htc modem
4. uninstall htc modem that gets installed automatically, ticking the box to delete driver files.
5. scan for hardware changes in device manager
6. 2 unknown devices that need drivers: (force a manual installation)
M_00 needs htcVcomV32.inf
M_01 needs htcusbmdmv32.inf

now i have 2 devices:
HTC USB Modem under Modems
HTC Diagnostic Interface (COM4) under Ports (COM and LTP)

7. in advanced properties of htc modem, add +cgdcont=1,"IP" ,"general.t-mobile.uk" to extra settings (quotes needed)
8. in advanced port settings, change COM port number to 4
9. in network and sharing centre, click setup new connection
10. create dialup connection, dialing *99# (NO username, NO password)
11. wait for windows to create and connect to phone. get as far as authenticating computer on the network then appeared to hang but it did finish THIS TOOK 3 MINUTES!!
12. reset phone and pc
13. connect phone in usb modem mode using dfrouter
14 connect to dial up connection
15th May 2011, 01:39 AM |#179  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
OK … I think I’ve made a breakthrough that might help some of us with the 692 error on the HD7.

Many of you have expressed (as have I) difficulty forcing the drivers for “separate devices” on the HTC Modem and the HTC Diag Port.

It appears there is some difference between how your browse in Device Manager for a driver… or “force” a driver, so to speak. One method will not find the appropriate .inf file (and therefore won’t allow the device to be installed) whereas a second method will work.

So here is what you need to do.

If you have the HTC Modem installed on your system, right click on it in Device Manager and uninstall it. Make sure to check “remove drivers” during the install.
If you un plug, then plug your phone back in and hit “HTC Modem” on the DF Router page of your phone, you’ll get the two “Unknown Devices” in Device Manager that we’ve all seen, but have yet to be able to get the drivers installed for.

OK, here’s the tricky part… must follow this exactly.

Check the first Unknown Device ID: Right click --> Properties --> Details: Mine was xxxx MI_00. Meaning, this device needs the COM driver, or htcVcomV32.inf, which is found at either a place where you unpacked the drivers or if you installed HTC Sync, is at C:\Program Files\HTC\HTC BMP USB Driver\HtcVComV32

HOW YOU BROWSE TO THIS LOCATION IS CRITICAL, as I mentioned before. One method will let you install this driver, the other will not.

So, the correct way to “force” this driver is this:
1. Right click on “Unknown Device”
2. Select “Update Device Driver”
3. Select “Browse My Computer for Device Software”
4. But instead of browsing using the top function, select the option below, “Let me pick from a list of drivers on my computer.” (Yes, strange, I know.)
5. A box with a list of all sorts of devices will come up. Do nothing except click “next.”
6. A new dialog box will ask you to select the device from a list. Just click “Have Disk.”
7. NOW you can browse to the location with the correct .inf file. In this case, my first one was C:\Program Files\HTC\HTC BMP USB Driver\HtcVComV32.inf
8. After you select that .inf file and hit “OK,” you should see the first device now show up in the box under ‘Model.’ In this case, you would see “HTC Diagnostic Interface.”
9. When you hit “OK” you’ll get a lengthy warning about Windows not being able to verify that this is the correct driver… blah, blah, blah. Just ignore that message and hit “OK.”
10. You should get a success message… but BEFORE YOU CELEBRATE AND CLOSE THAT BOX, NOTE THE COM PORT THAT THIS WAS INSTALLED ON. For me, it was COM 3.
11. If you repeat steps 1-10 for the other “Unknown Device” (in my case, the modem now.. or MI_01) you should see the “HTC USB Modem” installed under modems and HTC Diagnostic Interface (COM X) installed under Ports (COM & LPT).
12. Remember I said earlier, that you needed to note which COM port the HTC Diagnostic was on? Well, that is because you need to make sure your HTC modem is not on that port. So since my diag was on COM 3, I set my modem to COM4.

And presto, despite hours of frustration not being able to tether… BINGO… popped on during the first try and I’m posting this message while tethered to my laptop.

At the end of the day, this was all due to a stupid little mistake I was making on how to force the drivers to get the two separate devices. Why windows has this “browsing” bug when looking for a driver… i.e. one method lets you find it while another does not… I have no idea. Maybe there is a good reason for that. But I would venture a guess many of you were having this same problem I was, hence why I posted such a lengthy description of what I did to fix it.

Good luck to all of you and thank you to all of those who have been helping me and others resolve their tethering issues!

HD7s rock!
15th May 2011, 11:33 AM |#180  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Is there any solutions ? Switching back WP7 device to Zune mode, after DFrouter has beed deleted.
15th May 2011, 05:06 PM |#181  
thesecondsfade's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 119
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by frugas

Is there any solutions ? Switching back WP7 device to Zune mode, after DFrouter has beed deleted.

Not at this time. I don't even think officially dev unlocking your phone would do it because it needs the Zune connection to do it. When the Marketplace allows private betas and such, we might be able to get a version of DFRouter available for those who have the problem. That's not going to happen until Mango though.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes