FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

The AT&T Jelly Bean Release Thread (4.1.1 released; Kies and OTA)

866 posts
Thanks Meter: 435
 
By ikjadoon, Senior Member on 10th November 2012, 08:10 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
4th December 2012, 03:56 AM |#961  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Death&co

I really don't understand how Kies can't connect to my phone via A CORD. God this is frustrating.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rha_december

The same has happened to me, so I'm just going to wait for a flashable zip. It shouldn't take too long.


I had to run through the connection troubleshooter to get my phone to be detected.
 
 
4th December 2012, 03:57 AM |#962  
jazzespresso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC-USA
Thanks Meter: 1,661
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Death&co

I really don't understand how Kies can't connect to my phone via A CORD. God this is frustrating.

Kies is the worst and the most buggy software out there. I never never use it, only this kind of situation, like official update (if don't want to wait OTA update)...otherwise, i don't even open it...
4th December 2012, 03:58 AM |#963  
Senior Member
Flag AƱasco
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
Mr. Robinson already released a pre-rooted one... Go for it and do it via Odin... Worked like a charm for me
4th December 2012, 04:00 AM |#964  
Junior Member
Flag Newark, NJ
Thanks Meter: 2
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordmorphous

You might want to use Triangle Away again. MrRobinson's thread stated flashing a custom recovery regardless of the method would increase your counter.

Thanks for the heads up. It did add to the counter after adding custom recovery.
4th December 2012, 04:00 AM |#965  
jazzespresso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC-USA
Thanks Meter: 1,661
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by garydv2002

OK two questions....
1. I'm running twrp recovery so do I need to flash the stock recovery to update via kies?
2. Who the hell won the bragging rights lol? I picked the 10th so I'm a whole week off..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2

good question (#1), tell you the truth I did not even realized until I read your post and realized I am also running custom recovery on my S3, but my upgrade already started....Kies still working on it, not sure what the heck is going on though..my S3 is now screen is black and red light...must be doing something..
4th December 2012, 04:01 AM |#966  
Brandimc's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Washington
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
Can I update from a custom ROM?
I'm running a custom ROM. Will that affect things if I plug my phone in and update via KIES?
4th December 2012, 04:02 AM |#967  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vibrantuser

Mr. Robinson already released a pre-rooted one... Go for it and do it via Odin... Worked like a charm for me

Any clue if I can do it straight from cm10?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747
4th December 2012, 04:03 AM |#968  
rich84's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Cali
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Wink
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrRobinson

Could flash stock rooted image here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1739426

Thank you sir it worked like a charm!
4th December 2012, 04:04 AM |#969  
jazzespresso's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC-USA
Thanks Meter: 1,661
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vibrantuser

Mr. Robinson already released a pre-rooted one... Go for it and do it via Odin... Worked like a charm for me

so if we go that route, all our apps, data will be there untouched, right??
The Following User Says Thank You to jazzespresso For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jazzespresso Ad-Free
4th December 2012, 04:04 AM |#970  
krips2003's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 117
 
More
Got mine update. OTA root keeper didn't keep the root . Other than that the install went smoothly.
4th December 2012, 04:07 AM |#971  
iJemuel's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
From Stock
Downloaded from: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1739426

Extracted (with WinRAR) and updated via Odin. Everything is intact, no restore needed.
The Following User Says Thank You to iJemuel For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift iJemuel Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes