FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

GENERAL CHAT!! All XDA'ers Welcome (noobs included) :)

2,793 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,681
 
By DarkStryder, Senior Member on 11th November 2013, 05:49 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
18th July 2017, 02:57 PM |#521  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 118
 
More
Download the .img file
Install first the older twrp in zip.
Then, boot in the old twrp and select Install > Install image and select the .img file you downloaded
The Following User Says Thank You to john99ap For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift john99ap Ad-Free
19th July 2017, 11:45 AM |#522  
Junior Member
Flag Dordrecht
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Good morning again,
Thanks all who helped solve the problem, since it now works like a charm!
While for a while it seemed that it was getting from bad to worse... I finally solved it....
First I installed a cwrm backup from a year ago (there were 5 backups in the device that is why I did not have space left...)
This got me a normal working Android 4.4 and from there on it was easy sailing thanks to your help!
Now have the slimrom 6 working and I really cannot believe how smooth this build works, much faster than the 4.4...
So also a big hand for all that helped realize this rom!
Am contemplating buying another used Tab2 since it has a good battery life end nice screen and looks quite sturdy... But this one goed to my son... Hope he can play his games OK...
By the way is this the best build for this device or should I go Nougat?
Thanks again!
19th July 2017, 10:09 PM |#523  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 118
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kewl_one

Good morning again,
Thanks all who helped solve the problem, since it now works like a charm!
While for a while it seemed that it was getting from bad to worse... I finally solved it....
First I installed a cwrm backup from a year ago (there were 5 backups in the device that is why I did not have space left...)
This got me a normal working Android 4.4 and from there on it was easy sailing thanks to your help!
Now have the slimrom 6 working and I really cannot believe how smooth this build works, much faster than the 4.4...
So also a big hand for all that helped realize this rom!
Am contemplating buying another used Tab2 since it has a good battery life end nice screen and looks quite sturdy... But this one goed to my son... Hope he can play his games OK...
By the way is this the best build for this device or should I go Nougat?
Thanks again!

In my opinion Slim6 is the best rom. Nougat is a bit laggy.
3rd August 2017, 09:46 PM |#524  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Understanding Tab 2 devices names
I having issue getting the right recovery image. I think it is because I do not understand the device names.
For example I see references to 51xx 31xx espresso and ...
This image got me rooted with stock recovery "CF-Auto-Root-espresso10att-espresso10uc-samsungsghi497.tar.md5"

I have tried "espresso-common_TWRP_3.1.0-2.tar.md5" and many others. I am trying to enter recovery menu the same way as stock and that might be an issue. The blue "recovery" flashes then shuts off. The tablet will boot if I let it.

I started posting on "https{too new for links}://androidforums.com/threads/keep-getting-system-recovery-3e-even-after-factory-resets.1172390/"]Keep getting system recovery <3e> even after factory resets[/URL]
Here is the snippet from that post:
Quote:

First attempt to root/flash rom.
According to the instructions it said download odin 1.8. When I could not get past startup, something said download odin3. I current have odin3 3.10.6. I used it to download the .pit that came with 1.8.
I was locked into the tab 2 going into download mode. Could not get to recover for even a factory reset.
So I found something that said to use "espresso10_stock_childofthehorn.tar.md5". That downloaded using odin3. I am able to boot and go into recovery, but I get a <3e> dead android red triangle.
After many data wipes Still get the <3e> error.
What next?
Update:
First, I must have stumbled into download the first time. Now I know it is power and vol-, then press vol+.
After some more playing around and I am starting to connecting some more dots, I found a recovery imaged that work and gave me root with stock recovery.
It is "CF-Auto-Root-espresso10att-espresso10uc-samsungsghi497.tar.md5"
But, when I try and use it to update the rom, the verify files fail. From googling it seems I need a custom recovery. So where can I find a customer recover that works with espresso10uc?

As you can see although starting to connect some dots, still so far out in the weeds I am getting stickers.
As I said, just been trying to root/rom since yesterday, so I have a lot to learn.
I was giving a Samsung SGH-I497, so I can be more brave than with my phone.
3rd August 2017, 10:35 PM |#525  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 118
 
More
Espresso common twrp is not compatible with your model. It works with GT-p31xx and GT-p51xx while yours is SGH-I497.
3rd August 2017, 10:59 PM |#526  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by john99ap

Espresso common twrp is not compatible with your model. It works with GT-p31xx and GT-p51xx while yours is SGH-I497.

So that means mine is not a 31xx or 51xx. Then what is it? Do I even need a different recovery image? I figured once I got the right recovery, then I will know what rom to use.
3rd August 2017, 11:03 PM |#527  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 118
 
More
Yours is a verizon variant of the tab and yes, you need a different recovery, try to search in google. Mind that your model is not espresso, so espresso roms will not work on it.
3rd August 2017, 11:20 PM |#528  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by john99ap

Mind that your model is not espresso, so espresso roms will not work on it.

I agree, they haven't so far:
This is the part that confuses me, because the recovery that works for me is "CF-Auto-Root-espresso10att-espresso10uc-samsungsghi497.tar.md5" and it has espresso in the name.

Quote:
Originally Posted by john99ap

Yours is a verizon variant of the tab

That another thing that confuses me, it boots with the ATT logo.

Let me give a little more context for what I am going to use it for and it might matter what I do.
My home automations is Homeassistant running on a Raspberry Pi 3. There is a dashboard that is basically a web page. Lot of guys use tables on the wall for UI. If I could link, I could give better context.
So I need to start a browser in kiosk mode. All I need is WiFi, no cell.

Any time two techies talk, the first 1 hour is just getting the jargon, thanks for being patient while I go through the process.
3rd August 2017, 11:32 PM |#529  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 118
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by penright

I agree, they haven't so far:
This is the part that confuses me, because the recovery that works for me is "CF-Auto-Root-espresso10att-espresso10uc-samsungsghi497.tar.md5" and it has espresso in the name.

Yes but it also has sghi497 (your model) in its name.

Quote:
Originally Posted by penright

That another thing that confuses me, it boots with the ATT logo.

Let me give a little more context for what I am going to use it for and it might matter what I do.
My home automations is Homeassistant running on a Raspberry Pi 3. There is a dashboard that is basically a web page. Lot of guys use tables on the wall for UI. If I could link, I could give better context.
So I need to start a browser in kiosk mode. All I need is WiFi, no cell.

Any time two techies talk, the first 1 hour is just getting the jargon, thanks for being patient while I go through the process.

Well, sorry but I don't know anything about automations. Maybe someone else can help
The Following User Says Thank You to john99ap For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift john99ap Ad-Free
4th August 2017, 12:24 PM |#530  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by john99ap

Yes but it also has sghi497 (your model) in its name.

After sleeping on it I do have another question. So do I need to quit using Tab 2 10.1 for my query and only use SGH-I497 or is SGH-I497 a subset of Tab 2 10.1?


As far as the question, it is not as much about automation as running a browser in kiosk mode. I haven't looked at it yet, but someone has done an app. Basicly is a browser that using the entire screen.
They did extend it (now we getting into HA) The forward facing camera becomes a motion sensor that can be used in the automation.
4th August 2017, 12:55 PM |#531  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 118
 
More
Tab 2 10.1 comes in many different models. One model is GT-p5100, another one is GT-p5110, another is SGH-I497. So yes use SGH-I497 while searching.
The Following User Says Thank You to john99ap For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift john99ap Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes