FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Installer] SMACKME 2.1 (kexec or moboot, native Linux or Android - with recovery!)

211 posts
Thanks Meter: 340
 
Post Reply Email Thread
8th February 2013, 08:26 AM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Installer] SMACKME 2.0 (kexec or moboot, native Linux or Android)
OK BTW love the work you have done here.. OK i got slack all in and desided to remove my original Ubuntu install and redo it under kexec..then it broke. I get an error every time i run smackme...photo shows it (the marks at the very bottom were me hitting the volume key to see if it froze.) Any ideas...going to doctor my TP and start fresh will report. (Note this problem now shows with or with output files in sminstall dir.)




Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app

---------- Post added at 08:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:35 AM ----------

OK update soft bricked tablet during doctor..... just looping so doing partition fixes and re doctor then i'll have to let it charge up a bit. update tomorrow.
 
 
9th February 2013, 06:54 AM |#22  
Picture doesn't show up. Attach it to your post instead so I can see it..

Everyone with troubles, try to attach sminstall/log if it's created.
9th February 2013, 01:02 PM |#23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by castrwilliam

Picture doesn't show up. Attach it to yoget it into my drinksur post instead so I can see it..

Everyone with troubles, try to attach sminstall/log if it's created.

Yeah noticed that. Can't add it XDA says service us unavailable. Ill get it into my dropbox for you. Update is the tablet is back up and going to get started again soon.


http://db.tt/sSO2U2lq

That should work.
The Following User Says Thank You to kicker22004 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kicker22004 Ad-Free
9th February 2013, 03:00 PM |#24  
Don't redo it. I found a bug and will fix and upload.

You see where there's a double "M" on the "free VG space"?

That means that my cut command doesn't work right when there are less than 3 characters (or something like that...)

EDIT: fixed: http://www.mediafire.com/?qec3cis9zcyrme6
Try it again with the uImage from that link.
9th February 2013, 08:17 PM |#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Installer] SMACKME 2.0 (kexec or moboot, native Linux or Android)
Sorry man i had already restored to to factory by the time i replyed. My tablet is just a test device nothing important.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
9th February 2013, 08:58 PM |#26  
Senior Member
10025
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Unhappy so im trying still to install android on this with smackme
so far no go

i have tried several time
10th February 2013, 12:51 AM |#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 99
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by netkillercat

so far no go

i have tried several time

I have also been totally unsuccessful getting any type of android installed however the linux ports work perfect.
10th February 2013, 01:00 AM |#28  
Logs. Are they being created or no?

Also, it was updated with two bug fixes yesterday.

I'm sorry everyone's having such an unfortunate experience... :/
10th February 2013, 09:00 AM |#29  
atrix4g18's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,181
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by castrwilliam

Logs. Are they being created or no?

Also, it was updated with two bug fixes yesterday.

I'm sorry everyone's having such an unfortunate experience... :/

I'm having a great experience. Thanks for the hard work!

Right now I have installed Slackware no problem, but I'm looking to SmackMe2 Ubuntu. So I just want to confirm, here is your post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by castrwilliam

New version of Ubuntu 12.10
Hello everyone. It's been a while since I released 12.10 (beta 1 at the time) for TP. It was quite large and somewhat buggy, with a few regressions from
12.04.

I am proud to present you with a completely reworked, fully up-to-date new version of Ubuntu 12.10.

What works:
- USB OTG
- Touchscreen + Service (ts_srv_0, ts_srv_90)
- GNOME 3 - fallback only
- Sound (only through the speaker for now)
- Wi-Fi (NetworkManager)
- Bluetooth (tested, HID k/b visible from gnome3)

Useful features (now mostly in the right places):
...

logins
login: ubuntu
password: ubuntu

login: root
password: root

download links (You'll need all four!)
Kernel [3.3 MiB]: http://www.mediafire.com/?4y2adpjdvrhl2lh
Part 1 [200 MiB]: http://www.mediafire.com/?190elok4akdw482
Part 2 [200 MiB]: http://www.mediafire.com/?hhiyp0w8jef5p5w
Part 3: [104.62 MiB]: http://www.mediafire.com/?4u49m34xmftlx9h

install instructions
(You'll need at least MoBoot to be installed already.)
1. If you don't already have Ubuntu on your TP, run the "4GBPartition.sh" but not the other scripts. Either way, BACK UP.
2. Install my new, modified kernel in /boot. (The modules and Freedreno driver are already included in the tgz.)
3. Download the TouchPadBuntuRootfs1210v2.tar.gz.1, 2 and 3 files from MediaFire to the root of the SD card/internal storage of the TP.
4. Run the following commands in novaterm:

Code:
mount -o remount,rw /boot
cd /media/internal
cp uImage.Ubuntu /boot
cat TouchPadBuntuRootfs1210v2.tar.gz.* > TouchPadBuntuRootfs1210v2.tar.gz
mkdir -p ubuntu-root
mkfs.ext3 /dev/store/ubuntu-root
mount /dev/store/ubuntu-root ubuntu-root
cd ubuntu-root
tar -xvpzf ../TouchPadBuntuRootfs1210v2.tar.gz
cd ..
umount /dev/store/ubuntu-root
sync
mount -o remount,ro /boot
reboot
5. Select Ubuntu in the moboot menu to boot Ubuntu 12.10 final!!

This is using moboot so I want to confirm... How should I do this via SmackMe2?

---------- Post added at 04:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:59 AM ----------

Also since I already have kexec what is different for the ubuntu installation?
10th February 2013, 03:43 PM |#30  
Quote:
Originally Posted by atrix4g18

I'm having a great experience. Thanks for the hard work!

Right now I have installed Slackware no problem, but I'm looking to SmackMe2 Ubuntu. So I just want to confirm, here is your post:



This is using moboot so I want to confirm... How should I do this via SmackMe2?

---------- Post added at 04:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 03:59 AM ----------

Also since I already have kexec what is different for the ubuntu installation?

Just put the concatenated "TouchPadBuntuRootfs.tar.gz" in the sminstall where you put Slackware.
The Following User Says Thank You to castrwilliam For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift castrwilliam Ad-Free
10th February 2013, 05:03 PM |#31  
atrix4g18's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,181
 
More
delete
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes