[FIX] For wifi connection dropping too easily/often

Search This thread

kylon

Senior Member
Dec 17, 2010
2,615
2,028
For all rom,you need root

Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA Premium App
 

kylon

Senior Member
Dec 17, 2010
2,615
2,028
Because they are outdate

Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA Premium App
 
D

Deleted member 4123551

Guest
Also here, stuck on bootscreen. Reflash :mad:
Oh well, i won't blame him, i flashed it. :eek:

You can reflash your ROM without restoring, so you wont lose data of old recoverys B-)
 

kylon

Senior Member
Dec 17, 2010
2,615
2,028
Any news?
I need it

Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA Premium App
 

onlyankush_s

Senior Member
Dec 29, 2008
378
88
Kharupetia
www.ajs.shantibhog.com
I guess we can't fix this problem as this is hardware related moreover this is due to aluminium case that is phone has. Same problem was there in iPhone4 because of the aluminium body. Our problem is even worse if we use any case like casemate's barely there. We have to live with it...

Sent from Desire Aj'S using XDA eXtra Premium App!
 

kylon

Senior Member
Dec 17, 2010
2,615
2,028
.......
So,why htc used it????
Damn!

Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA Premium App
 

skymoon_891_

Member
Aug 10, 2011
25
0
I think its about the body but we can fix a litle with changing the minumum signal value. This fix had done it for old roms. Any dev can port it for new roms maybe
 

kylon

Senior Member
Dec 17, 2010
2,615
2,028
Yea,but i would like to know how to do this !!!
There is no guide here,how can i do this?

Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA Premium App
 

kylon

Senior Member
Dec 17, 2010
2,615
2,028
i know how it works!
but i need help to repack a framework.jar
i m using dex2jar,ce(class editor) and dx(i have some error with it)
thanks
 

kylon

Senior Member
Dec 17, 2010
2,615
2,028
Maybe they are lazy xD.i don t know

Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA Premium App
 

kylon

Senior Member
Dec 17, 2010
2,615
2,028
Up
Come on,a lot of people are waiting this.i asked a little help

Sent from my HTC Desire S using XDA Premium App
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 10
    I don't even have this phone, but I'm tired of hearing you guys complain about your wifi dropping :p. HTC programmed the Desire S to drop wifi connections if the signal falls below -88db. I'm not sure why they did that because -88db is a perfectly usable signal. With this fix, your wifi connection won't drop until the signal falls below -108db.

    You need to be running a custom deodexed ROM to apply this fix.

    Flash through Clockwork Recovery.

    Let me know if it works for you!


    If you appreciate my work, donations of any amount are very much appreciated.
    2
    [PATCH] framework.jar for altering WiFi RSSI values in ICS

    /*
    * I am not responsible for bricked devices, dead SD cards,
    * thermonuclear war, or you getting fired because the alarm app failed. Please
    * do some research if you have any concerns before flashing it!
    * YOU are choosing to make these modifications, and if
    * you point the finger at me for messing up your device, I will laugh at you.
    */


    A big thanks to gtg465x, kylon and others in the forum for explaining things in posts. It's their work mostly and not mine.

    I'm writing this here just in case someone needs the info..

    Since I had a problem with the reception of WiFi signal in a Desire S and I've been searching the forum for many days to find a solution to this that I got no responce I decided to search for the framework.jar file patch that has to be done with the /etc/calibration file change to the value of rssi_offset so that Desire S won't drop the connection so easily. Tried also to contact gtg465x but I guess he's busy.

    This was done to ICE_DS 6.5 ROM

    The patch goes as this:
    (1. I am not a developer (used to code, not in android though)
    2. I modified the values only by -10 dBm just for test you can change to -20 if you like
    3. feel free to correct my wrongs)



    gtg465x describes very nicely here what needs to be done http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?p=25174730 but this is for GB ROM
    Read carefully to edit your /etc/calibration file. In that post it's changed to -20, in my test to -10

    but ICE_DS 6.5 is a ICS ROM

    and the code in WiFiManager.smali is as follows
    (the sections that need to be edited)
    Code:
    .field private static final MAX_RSSI:I = [COLOR="Red"]-0x37[/COLOR] [COLOR="Blue"]#changed to -0x41[/COLOR]
    
    .field private static final MIN_RSSI:I = [COLOR="red"]-0x64[/COLOR] [COLOR="Blue"]#changed to -0x6e[/COLOR]

    Code:
    .method public static calculateSignalLevel(II)I
        .registers 9
        .parameter "rssi"
        .parameter "numLevels"
    
        .prologue
        const/4 v6, 0x5
    
        const/16 v5,[COLOR="Red"] -0x46[/COLOR] [COLOR="Blue"]#changed to -0x50[/COLOR]
    
        const/16 v4, [COLOR="red"]-0x50[/COLOR] [COLOR="Blue"]#changed to -0x5a[/COLOR]
    
        .line 963
        const/4 v1, 0x0
    
        .line 964
        .local v1, level:I
        const/4 v3, 0x4
    
        if-eq p1, v3, :cond_b
    
        if-ne p1, v6, :cond_23
    
        .line 965
        :cond_b
        if-lt p0, v5, :cond_13
    
        .line 966
        const/4 v1, 0x3
    
        .line 974
        :goto_e
        if-ne p1, v6, :cond_12
    
        add-int/lit8 v1, v1, 0x1
    
        .line 986
        :cond_12
        :goto_12
        return v1
    
        .line 967
        :cond_13
        if-ge p0, v5, :cond_19
    
        if-lt p0, v4, :cond_19
    
        .line 968
        const/4 v1, 0x2
    
        goto :goto_e
    
        .line 969
        :cond_19
        if-ge p0, v4, :cond_21
    
        const/16 v3, [COLOR="red"]-0x55[/COLOR] [COLOR="Blue"]#changed to -0x5f[/COLOR]
    
        if-lt p0, v3, :cond_21
    
        .line 970
        const/4 v1, 0x1
    
        goto :goto_e
    
        .line 972
        :cond_21
        const/4 v1, 0x0
    
        goto :goto_e
    
        .line 976
        :cond_23
        const/16 v3, [COLOR="red"]-0x64[/COLOR] [COLOR="Blue"]#changed to -0x6e[/COLOR]
    
        if-gt p0, v3, :cond_29
    
        .line 977
        const/4 v1, 0x0
    
        goto :goto_12
    
        .line 978
        :cond_29
        const/16 v3, [COLOR="red"]-0x37[/COLOR] [COLOR="Blue"]#changed to -0x41[/COLOR]
    
        if-lt p0, v3, :cond_30
    
        .line 979
        add-int/lit8 v1, p1, -0x1
    
        goto :goto_12
    
        .line 981
        :cond_30
        const/high16 v0, 0x4234
    
        .line 982
        .local v0, inputRange:F
        add-int/lit8 v3, p1, -0x1
    
        int-to-float v2, v3
    
        .line 983
        .local v2, outputRange:F
        add-int/lit8 v3, p0, 0x64
    
        int-to-float v3, v3
    
        mul-float/2addr v3, v2
    
        div-float/2addr v3, v0
    
        float-to-int v1, v3
    
        goto :goto_12
    .end method


    this translates to java as (the original values)
    Code:
     public static int calculateSignalLevel(int paramInt1, int paramInt2)
      {
        if ((paramInt2 == 4) || (paramInt2 == 5))
        {
          int i;
          if (paramInt1 >= -70)
            i = 3;
          for (;;)
          {
            if (paramInt2 == 5)
              i++;
            return i;
            if ((paramInt1 < -70) && (paramInt1 >= -80))
              i = 2; else if ((paramInt1 < -80) && (paramInt1 >= -85))
              i = 1; else
              i = 0;
          }
        }
        if (paramInt1 <= -100)
          return 0;
        if (paramInt1 >= -55)
          return paramInt2 - 1;
        return (int)((paramInt2 - 1) * (paramInt1 + 100) / 45.0F);
      }


    There is also another section in WiFiManager.smali called calculateSignalLevel(III)I
    Code:
    .method public static calculateSignalLevel(III)I
        .registers 7
        .parameter "rssi"
        .parameter "numLevels"
        .parameter "frequency"
    
        .prologue
        const/16 v3, -0x41
    
        const/16 v2, -0x46
    
        .line 2027
        const/16 v1, 0x1324
    
        if-le p2, v1, :cond_22
    
        .line 2028
        const/4 v0, 0x0
    
        .line 2029
        .local v0, level:I
        if-lt p0, v3, :cond_12
    
        .line 2030
        const/4 v0, 0x3
    
        .line 2038
        :goto_c
        const/4 v1, 0x5
    
        if-ne p1, v1, :cond_11
    
        add-int/lit8 v0, v0, 0x1
    
        .line 2041
        .end local v0           #level:I
        :cond_11
        :goto_11
        return v0
    
        .line 2031
        .restart local v0       #level:I
        :cond_12
        if-ge p0, v3, :cond_18
    
        if-lt p0, v2, :cond_18
    
        .line 2032
        const/4 v0, 0x2
    
        goto :goto_c
    
        .line 2033
        :cond_18
        if-ge p0, v2, :cond_20
    
        const/16 v1, -0x4b
    
        if-lt p0, v1, :cond_20
    
        .line 2034
        const/4 v0, 0x1
    
        goto :goto_c
    
        .line 2036
        :cond_20
        const/4 v0, 0x0
    
        goto :goto_c
    
        .line 2041
        .end local v0           #level:I
        :cond_22
        invoke-static {p0, p1}, Landroid/net/wifi/WifiManager;->calculateSignalLevel(II)I
    
        move-result v0
    
        goto :goto_11
    .end method

    which reads as:

    Code:
      public static int calculateSignalLevel(int paramInt1, int paramInt2, int paramInt3)
      {
        if (paramInt3 > 4900)
        {
          int i;
          if (paramInt1 >= -65)
            i = 3;
          for (;;)
          {
            if (paramInt2 == 5)
              i++;
            return i;
            if ((paramInt1 < -65) && (paramInt1 >= -70))
              i = 2; else if ((paramInt1 < -70) && (paramInt1 >= -75))
              i = 1; else
              i = 0;
          }
        }
        return calculateSignalLevel(paramInt1, paramInt2);
      }

    but I have the believe (which I may well be wrong) that has to do something about WiMax (if (paramInt3 > 4900)) so I didn't touch that.
    2
    Ok, checked the file and it's possible but a bit hard using init.rc.
    Another way, download the attached file, extract it, open the extracted file and replace the PATHTOCALIBRATIONFILE with the correct path inclusive filename, afterwards copy it to your /etc/init.d folder and set the correct permissions (r-xr-xr-x or 555 or everyone execute and read), this will write at startup the fitting values to the calibration file.
    2
    Grab Root Browser its free

    Sent from my Desire S using XDA
    1
    Small update... noticed that I didn't set the permissions right on one of the files. May want to grab v2.

    On another note, where is everyone? Dev community for this phone needs to wake up!