[DEV] ubuntu on the transformer

Search This thread

vit0oo

Member
Jun 30, 2011
40
1
I have this error :

Code:
vit0@ubuntu:~/uboot-tegra$ sudo make ARCH=arm ventana CROSS_COMPILE=/home/vit0/CodeSourcery/Sourcery_G++_Lite/bin/arm-none-eabi- DEV_TREE_SRC="tegra2-tf101"
Configuring for ventana board...
make
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
Generating include/autoconf.mk
Generating include/autoconf.mk.dep
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
/home/vit0/CodeSourcery/Sourcery_G++_Lite/bin/arm-none-eabi-gcc -DDO_DEPS_ONLY \
		-g  -Os   -fno-common -ffixed-r8 -msoft-float   -D__KERNEL__ -DCONFIG_SYS_TEXT_BASE=0x108000 -I/home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include -fno-builtin -ffreestanding -nostdinc -isystem /home/vit0/CodeSourcery/Sourcery_G++_Lite/bin/../lib/gcc/arm-none-eabi/4.4.1/include -pipe  -DCONFIG_ARM -D__ARM__ -marm  -mabi=aapcs-linux -mno-thumb-interwork -march=armv5 -Werror -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -fno-stack-protector   \
		-o lib/asm-offsets.s lib/asm-offsets.c -c -S
cc1: warnings being treated as errors
In file included from /home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/config.h:5,
                 from /home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/common.h:37,
                 from lib/asm-offsets.c:18:
[B]/home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/configs/ventana.h:61: error: "CONFIG_ENV_SIZE" redefined
/home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/configs/tegra2-common.h:105: note: this is the location of the previous definition
make[1]: *** [lib/asm-offsets.s] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
make: *** [ventana] Error 2[/B]

Any suggestion ? : )
 

belzebub40k

Senior Member
Dec 30, 2010
177
46
Nexus 7 (2013)
Redmi K20 Pro
I have this error :

Code:
vit0@ubuntu:~/uboot-tegra$ sudo make ARCH=arm ventana CROSS_COMPILE=/home/vit0/CodeSourcery/Sourcery_G++_Lite/bin/arm-none-eabi- DEV_TREE_SRC="tegra2-tf101"
Configuring for ventana board...
make
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
Generating include/autoconf.mk
Generating include/autoconf.mk.dep
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
/home/vit0/CodeSourcery/Sourcery_G++_Lite/bin/arm-none-eabi-gcc -DDO_DEPS_ONLY \
		-g  -Os   -fno-common -ffixed-r8 -msoft-float   -D__KERNEL__ -DCONFIG_SYS_TEXT_BASE=0x108000 -I/home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include -fno-builtin -ffreestanding -nostdinc -isystem /home/vit0/CodeSourcery/Sourcery_G++_Lite/bin/../lib/gcc/arm-none-eabi/4.4.1/include -pipe  -DCONFIG_ARM -D__ARM__ -marm  -mabi=aapcs-linux -mno-thumb-interwork -march=armv5 -Werror -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -fno-stack-protector   \
		-o lib/asm-offsets.s lib/asm-offsets.c -c -S
cc1: warnings being treated as errors
In file included from /home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/config.h:5,
                 from /home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/common.h:37,
                 from lib/asm-offsets.c:18:
[B]/home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/configs/ventana.h:61: error: "CONFIG_ENV_SIZE" redefined
/home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/configs/tegra2-common.h:105: note: this is the location of the previous definition
make[1]: *** [lib/asm-offsets.s] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
make: *** [ventana] Error 2[/B]

Any suggestion ? : )

Comment out line 105 in /home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/configs/tegra2-common.h to fix the problem.
 

vit0oo

Member
Jun 30, 2011
40
1
/home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/configs/tegra2-common.h
Code:
105. define CONFIG_ENV_SIZE         SZ_4K

And i have :

Code:
vit0@ubuntu:~/uboot-tegra$ sudo make ARCH=arm ventana CROSS_COMPILE=/home/vit0/CodeSourcery/Sourcery_G++_Lite/bin/arm-none-eabi- DEV_TREE_SRC="tegra2-tf101"
Configuring for ventana board...
make
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
Generating include/autoconf.mk
Generating include/autoconf.mk.dep
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
/home/vit0/CodeSourcery/Sourcery_G++_Lite/bin/arm-none-eabi-gcc -DDO_DEPS_ONLY \
		-g  -Os   -fno-common -ffixed-r8 -msoft-float   -D__KERNEL__ -DCONFIG_SYS_TEXT_BASE=0x108000 -I/home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include -fno-builtin -ffreestanding -nostdinc -isystem /home/vit0/CodeSourcery/Sourcery_G++_Lite/bin/../lib/gcc/arm-none-eabi/4.4.1/include -pipe  -DCONFIG_ARM -D__ARM__ -marm  -mabi=aapcs-linux -mno-thumb-interwork -march=armv5 -Werror -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -fno-stack-protector   \
		-o lib/asm-offsets.s lib/asm-offsets.c -c -S
In file included from /home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/configs/ventana.h:28,
                 from /home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/config.h:5,
                 from /home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/common.h:37,
                 from lib/asm-offsets.c:18:
/home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/configs/tegra2-common.h:105: error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm' or '__attribute__' before 'CONFIG_ENV_SIZE'
make[1]: *** [lib/asm-offsets.s] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
make: *** [ventana] Error 2
 

belzebub40k

Senior Member
Dec 30, 2010
177
46
Nexus 7 (2013)
Redmi K20 Pro
/home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/configs/tegra2-common.h
Code:
105. define CONFIG_ENV_SIZE         SZ_4K

And i have :

Code:
vit0@ubuntu:~/uboot-tegra$ sudo make ARCH=arm ventana CROSS_COMPILE=/home/vit0/CodeSourcery/Sourcery_G++_Lite/bin/arm-none-eabi- DEV_TREE_SRC="tegra2-tf101"
Configuring for ventana board...
make
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
Generating include/autoconf.mk
Generating include/autoconf.mk.dep
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
/home/vit0/CodeSourcery/Sourcery_G++_Lite/bin/arm-none-eabi-gcc -DDO_DEPS_ONLY \
		-g  -Os   -fno-common -ffixed-r8 -msoft-float   -D__KERNEL__ -DCONFIG_SYS_TEXT_BASE=0x108000 -I/home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include -fno-builtin -ffreestanding -nostdinc -isystem /home/vit0/CodeSourcery/Sourcery_G++_Lite/bin/../lib/gcc/arm-none-eabi/4.4.1/include -pipe  -DCONFIG_ARM -D__ARM__ -marm  -mabi=aapcs-linux -mno-thumb-interwork -march=armv5 -Werror -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes -fno-stack-protector   \
		-o lib/asm-offsets.s lib/asm-offsets.c -c -S
In file included from /home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/configs/ventana.h:28,
                 from /home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/config.h:5,
                 from /home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/common.h:37,
                 from lib/asm-offsets.c:18:
/home/vit0/uboot-tegra/include/configs/tegra2-common.h:105: error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm' or '__attribute__' before 'CONFIG_ENV_SIZE'
make[1]: *** [lib/asm-offsets.s] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/vit0/uboot-tegra'
make: *** [ventana] Error 2

You did somthing wrong. After commenting out line 105 it should look like this

Code:
/* define CONFIG_ENV_SIZE         SZ_4K */
 

vit0oo

Member
Jun 30, 2011
40
1
yes that's work : ) thanks

edit : plymouth-splash main process terminated with status 2 ..
 
Last edited:

lilstevie

Senior Recognized Developer
Apr 17, 2009
1,339
1,040
just a question for those who have compiled u-boot from source, are your devices 16 or 32 gb
 

bonesjones

Senior Member
Dec 9, 2009
354
75
35
Birmingham
I know this is off topic, I've spent the past two days researching this project. I wanna get involved but I gotta lot of reading still to do, for now I've got one question, can someone point me in the direction of getting module rtl8150 on my ubuntu, got a usb to ethernet adapter id like to use.

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
 

belzebub40k

Senior Member
Dec 30, 2010
177
46
Nexus 7 (2013)
Redmi K20 Pro
I know this is off topic, I've spent the past two days researching this project. I wanna get involved but I gotta lot of reading still to do, for now I've got one question, can someone point me in the direction of getting module rtl8150 on my ubuntu, got a usb to ethernet adapter id like to use.

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk

I think changing line 809 in <kernel_dir>/arch/arm/configs/tf101_gnulinux_defconfig will do the job.

Code:
[B]Before:[/B]
# CONFIG_USB_RTL8150 is not set
[B]After:[/B]
CONFIG_USB_RTL8150=y
 

bonesjones

Senior Member
Dec 9, 2009
354
75
35
Birmingham
Ok thanks, Haven't compiled anything in years, and then it was just basic programs.
But thanks for pointing me in the right direction!
 

belzebub40k

Senior Member
Dec 30, 2010
177
46
Nexus 7 (2013)
Redmi K20 Pro
Ok thanks, Haven't compiled anything in years, and then it was just basic programs.
But thanks for pointing me in the right direction!

It's very simple just clone the git repository, make the changes and then run build_kernel.sh from inside the repository. The hard job is to make the new u-boot.img. But if you know how it's also easy. Make a loopmount of the image with:
mount -o loop <path-to-img>/u-boot.img /mnt/<whatever>

Then replace the old uImage in /mnt/<whatever> with the new one from <kernel-source-dir>/arch/arm/boot/uImage.

Now unmount the image with:
umount /mnt/<whatever>

Then flash your new u-boot.img with nvflash.
 

bonesjones

Senior Member
Dec 9, 2009
354
75
35
Birmingham
I think i follow your first part.

However I'm not using uboot, yet.
Just found this dev this morning, I've done all my work using the "flash-linux-android.sh" methods.

I should probably take a step back, read some more then tackle this with a fresh system.

Also I should play with this uboot stuff and get caught up, like I said at first, I'm way behind on this. lol And my only goal in all this is to emulate a simple windows program.
I currently have to lug my tablet, and netbook around just for the netbook to run a program called PCpro to program phone systems.

It's a simple program and if I can manage Qemu then wine I think that'd work, or maybe virtualbox or something.
 

bonesjones

Senior Member
Dec 9, 2009
354
75
35
Birmingham
Err think I just looked stupid. Lol I think I'm good now. Thanks for the direction.

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 03:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:00 PM ----------

It's very simple just clone the git repository, make the changes and then run build_kernel.sh from inside the repository. The hard job is to make the new u-boot.img. But if you know how it's also easy. Make a loopmount of the image with:
mount -o loop <path-to-img>/u-boot.img /mnt/<whatever>

Then replace the old uImage in /mnt/<whatever> with the new one from <kernel-source-dir>/arch/arm/boot/uImage.

Now unmount the image with:
umount /mnt/<whatever>

Then flash your new u-boot.img with nvflash.

Ok I"ve read that there have been improvements, like the touchpad working etc.
Bluetooth working etc, anyway to go ahead and get all those updates before i compile this bad boy?

I want to of course be up to date as possible.

---------- Post added at 04:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:48 PM ----------

It's very simple just clone the git repository, make the changes and then run build_kernel.sh from inside the repository.

Not finding build_kernel.sh anywhere.


*EDIT* Found it, was using the wrong GIT repo. Sorry for flooding.
 
Last edited:

bonesjones

Senior Member
Dec 9, 2009
354
75
35
Birmingham
I thought you are using u-boot with ChromeOS Kernel (https://github.com/lilstevie/CrOS-Hybrid-Kernel)

No i'm running ubuntu 11.04 on TF101

---------- Post added at 05:48 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:34 PM ----------

I thought you are using u-boot with ChromeOS Kernel (https://github.com/lilstevie/CrOS-Hybrid-Kernel)

OK read everything, yeah i went way off topic.

Didn't relize people were compiling chromeOS.

I want to stick with pure ubuntu. Sorry to waste your time.
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 14
    This is my kit for running ubuntu 11.04 on the ASUS Transformer.

    THIS IS NOT A NEWBIE SUPPORT THREAD, NON DEV QUESTIONS AND HELP ME HELP ME KIND OF POSTS ARE NOT WELCOME IN THIS THREAD, THIS THREAD IS FOR DEVELOPMENT RELATED POSTS ONLY

    This thread is to replace old thread for dev information here. Use that thread for newbie support and non development related discussion in relation to ubuntu on the transformer.

    This is running natively and from the eMMC so no µSD card required, at the moment only linux is supported, but a windows of the kit is coming soon.

    This video shows ubuntu running on the transformer, it is slower than what is installed with this flash pack. The video is a class2 µSD card and speeds are not an example of speeds from this kit.

    Updates will be available in .deb form at some point.

    you will need to download an nvflashable rom, like prime.



    Please read the README before attempting this. The readme is below as well as in the kit, YOU WILL LOSE DATA.

    Download links are in the second post.


    Ubuntu flash pack for the ASUS transformer
    ------------------------------------------------------------------

    (c) 2011 Steven Barker <lilstevie@lilstevie.geek.nz>

    This package should have only been linked to from
    http://rootzwiki.com/showthread.php?1072-ubuntu-on-the-transformer
    or http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?p=16097869if you
    got the links to this package from anywhere but that forumpost
    please send an email to the above email address with the subject:
    "unauthorised posts"

    DISCLAIMER
    ------------------------------------------------------------------

    Steven Barker (lilstevie) nor anybody will take any responsibility
    for any damage, data loss, fire, death of a loved one, or loss of
    data resulting from using this mod for your device. Using this mod
    may void your warranty.

    NVFLASH
    ------------------------------------------------------------------

    nvflash is the intellectual property of nvidia, and remains the
    property of nvidia. Any questions or queries regarding the usage
    and licence of nvflash should be directed to nvidia.

    abootimg
    ------------------------------------------------------------------

    abootimg is by Gilles Grandou <gilles@grandou.net> and is
    unmodified. The source is available from online at
    http://gitorious.org/ac100/abootimg

    usage
    ------------------------------------------------------------------

    Before using this pack back up any data that you may have on your
    device, this method is destructive to data, and will wipe
    everything. If you plan on dual-booting with android you will need
    to download a full system like prime and put the images (system.img
    boot.img recovery.img) in images/

    This package does not include the ubuntu rootfs. You should have
    already downloaded this from the link located on this forum post
    located http://rootzwiki.com/showthread.php?1072-ubuntu-on-the-transformer
    or http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?p=16097869if you
    haven't downloaded it yet it is 950MB so start it downloading
    and grab a coffee. Decompress the gzipped tar to images/

    With that taken care of, here are the instructions for use:

    1) select whether you want to dual boot, and which OS you want as
    your default.

    2) make absolutely sure that you have backed up your data, everything
    past this point is going to destroy your data.

    3) run the appropriate sh for the choice you have made in step 1

    flash-purelinux.sh for a pure ubuntu setup, this is no android
    recovery is ubuntu single user mode.

    flash-linux-android.sh for installing android and linux dual boot
    with android as the default OS. To boot into linux hold power+vol-down
    until prompted on screen to press vol-up.

    flash-linux.sh for installing android and linux in dual boot with
    android and linux, linux is the default OS, to boot into android
    hold power+vol-down until prompted on screen to press vol-up.

    flash-android.sh for installing android only, no linux, use this to restore
    back to a android only state, this will retain the blobs-be-gone enhancement.

    restore-default.sh for reverting to a factory state, this restores the emmc
    layout back to how it was before running any of the scripts in this pack.

    4) Boot into linux, oem-config will run giving you initial setup. For this
    you will need either the keyoard dock, or to use adb.

    5) To use the onscreen keyboard you need to attach the usb cable to your
    computer and wait for it to boot to the language selection screen.
    Make sure not to disconnect the cable from your transformer while you are
    using the keyboard during initial setup.

    Connect to the device with adb shell. once connected execute "DISPLAY=:0 onboard"

    The onscreen keyboard will appear.

    6) Enjoy the new life you have with ubuntu on your transformer.

    7) Once on the internet you may like to add the tegra ppa
    5
    Why can't we look to other tablets to get the wifi and hardware execl

    Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App

    This is a development thread - and the OP has requested that development happen in it - not Mobile Phone User Support Services For Ungrateful Nerds.

    Anything not development, or useful to development, will be removed.
    3
    I've written a simple program that will let us perform calls to audio_codec_ioctl() from the terminal. It should be useful for testing. Arguments can be either the names of constants or decimal values.

    **NOTE: Sound is not "fixed" for the TF101 yet. This is for debug purposes only. **

    We have success on speaker output with register 76h toggled by use of your program. I eliminated all references to "need_spk" from kernel sources some time ago, so as shown below, the commands executed successfully.
    Code:
    root@braer-tf101:/home/braer/ioctl# ./ioctl /dev/WM8903 OUTPUT_POWER_CONTROL 1
    ioctl(/dev/WM8903, 1074067203 (0x4004F703), 1 (0x1));
    ERROR: 0 Success
    root@braer-tf101:/home/braer/ioctl# dmesg
    ---
    [12331.109976] DEBUG: audio_codec_ioctl
    [12331.110013] AUDIO_CODEC: Power On
    ---
    [12818.500534] DEBUG: audio_codec_ioctl
    [12818.500570] AUDIO_CODEC: AUDIO_DUMP
    [12818.501523] Read 0X10 = 0X0003
    [12818.501545] Read 0X11 = 0X0003
    [12818.504029] Read 0X76 = 0X0033

    In addition to setting the registers, we must also use command "alsamixer" and unmute (by pressing "m"):
    -Left Speaker Mixer DACL
    -Right Speaker Mixer DACR

    Then "aplay -D hw:0,0 <file.wav>" makes the silent speakers sing.
    3
    OK, I've gotten sound working. Just apply the patch with 'patch -p1 -i sound.patch' to a clean copy of the kernel and compile.
    @lilstevie, if you could update the repo with this I'd appreciate it.

    KNOWN BUGS:
    -a 'click' sound may be heard when the codec turns on/off
    -any mic plugged into the jack will probably be ignored (I didn't have the hardware to test this)
    3
    both questions can be answered with a simple yes, APX is in bootrom, not bootloader
    For more information about the Transformer's boot process, check out my thread here.