Installing Debian + Gnome, KDE, IceWM or LXDE Desktop on your rooted G1!

Search This thread

zeezee

Senior Member
Jun 13, 2007
549
15
Found an easy way to install Debian, resize the debian.img, and run a desktop on your rooted G1!

1. Installing Debain - has an installer.
For step 6. Do this instead:
Code:
# su
# ./installer.sh
OR
# su ./installer.sh
2. Resize debain.img
3. Installing Desktop

For those who run into problems or errors while installing/downloading tightvncserver and/or LXDE follow these modifications:
1. type:
Code:
cd /etc/apt
nano sources.list
2. add after the first one:
Code:
deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian lenny main contrib non-free
deb-src http://ftp.debian.org/debian lenny main contrib non-free
3. Hold down the trackball and hit o
4. Hit return (to save the new sources.list)
5. Hold the trackball and hit x (to exit nano)
6. Type (enter after each one):
Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install tightvncserver
apt-get install lxde


For Haykuro's builds [Thanks to buttkicker!]:
The procedure is same for 5.0.2H versions as well.

However, some files need to be modified.

I am attaching two sets of files.
Use as needed.
1: debian_v21-sdcard.zip
extract to /sdcard/debian
2: debian_v21-system-sd.zip
extract to /system/sd/debian (ext2 partition)

Replace the files in the original downloaded package with the ones in this post.

If you chose option 2, remember to type
Code:
cd /system/sd/debian
in step 4

Mirrors of Installer & debian.img:
Code:
http://mindsofwisemen.com/fileso/other/debian_v21.zip
http://www.filedropper.com/debianv21


Mirrors of Attached:
Code:
http://www.filedropper.com/debianv21-sdcard
http://www.filedropper.com/debianv21-system-sd
 

Attachments

  • debian_v21-sdcard.zip
    2.6 KB · Views: 915
  • debian_v21-system-sd.zip
    2.6 KB · Views: 660
Last edited:

Meltus

Senior Member
Jan 11, 2009
1,903
1,023
Manchester
www.androidaudiohacks.com
no it doesn't. you run debian via the terminal emulator, then you run the Desktop app through a VNC viewer (i think, something like that anyway)
also this has been around for ages and doesn't have much use as all of them run stupidly slowly. (that being said, now we can get the processor running faster it might be better)
n1 on the guides though, much more helpful than trawling through countless threads :D
 

zeezee

Senior Member
Jun 13, 2007
549
15
does this make a dual boot option? or how does it work?

This is not dual boot. This runs Debian "like" an app running in the android Shell. Calls and everything will still work while in the debian.

no it doesn't. you run debian via the terminal emulator, then you run the Desktop app through a VNC viewer (i think, something like that anyway)
also this has been around for ages and doesn't have much use as all of them run stupidly slowly. (that being said, now we can get the processor running faster it might be better)
n1 on the guides though, much more helpful than trawling through countless threads :D

Actually it isnt that "laggy" nor slow. Practical for developing code on the go. (you can have the gcc on here :))
 

buttkicker

Senior Member
Feb 17, 2008
71
2
Thanks for this info, I'd also like to know if anyone hs tried it using the H build roms .... as apposed to JF's rom ... as stated in the instructions!

I just finished installing on 5.0.2Gr3
The procedure is same for 5.0.2H versions as well.

However, some files need to be modified.

I am attaching two sets of files.
Use as needed.
1: debian_v21-sdcard.zip
extract to /sdcard/debian
2: debian_v21-system-sd.zip
extract to /system/sd/debian (ext2 partition)

Replace the files in the original downloaded package with the ones in this post.

If you chose option 2, remember to type
Code:
cd /system/sd/debian
in step 4.
 

Attachments

  • debian_v21-sdcard.zip
    2.6 KB · Views: 100
  • debian_v21-system-sd.zip
    2.6 KB · Views: 82

zeezee

Senior Member
Jun 13, 2007
549
15
I just finished installing on 5.0.2Gr3
The procedure is same for 5.0.2H versions as well.

However, some files need to be modified.

I am attaching two sets of files.
Use as needed.
1: debian_v21-sdcard.zip
extract to /sdcard/debian
2: debian_v21-system-sd.zip
extract to /system/sd/debian (ext2 partition)

Replace the files in the original downloaded package with the ones in this post.

If you chose option 2, remember to type
Code:
cd /system/sd/debian
in step 4.
Awesome...now everyone has instruction on how to acheive this :D
 

ben29pickett

Senior Member
Mar 16, 2008
106
0
Everytime i do this when it comes to the bit of typing

su (hit return)
chmod 4755 *

UPDATED! 6.as root (or su) run the installer like this:

installer.sh

It says unable to chmod bootdeb: operation not permited when i do the 1st
then that means i cant install the last one
 

ben29pickett

Senior Member
Mar 16, 2008
106
0
Anyhelp guys? i would really appreciate it please :D im not sure whether i should Downgraid back to JF? Ill miss the pros of Haykuros H build but if i can get debian workn then its worth it :D
 

phuthanvinh

Senior Member
Jan 8, 2009
65
0
Oh my...zeezee, you are a girl and you know more about computer stuffs more than i do, it's a shame for me, so embarrassing, but anyways i'm stuck at installing LXDE, could you help me out? I have debian and vncserver installed but when i run this command, i got an error msg

localhost:/# vncserver -geometry 480x320
vncserver -geometry 480x320
bash: vncserver: command not found

Do you have idea how to solve this problem? i've been hours try to figure it out but i'm totally clueless.
 

buttkicker

Senior Member
Feb 17, 2008
71
2
Oh my...zeezee, you are a girl and you know more about computer stuffs more than i do, it's a shame for me, so embarrassing, but anyways i'm stuck at installing LXDE, could you help me out? I have debian and vncserver installed but when i run this command, i got an error msg

localhost:/# vncserver -geometry 480x320
vncserver -geometry 480x320
bash: vncserver: command not found

Do you have idea how to solve this problem? i've been hours try to figure it out but i'm totally clueless.

Did you install vnc server by running this?
Code:
apt-get install tightvncserver
and, did the installation finish without errors.
 

phuthanvinh

Senior Member
Jan 8, 2009
65
0
Did you install vnc server by running this?
Code:
apt-get install tightvncserver
and, did the installation finish without errors.

yes i did, but everytime i run a command to install something, there were always errors that the links are not valid (404). However I run get update fix missing file command afterward.
 

ZilverZurfarn

Senior Member
Feb 11, 2009
970
23
Göteborg
For those (like me) who get errors when apt-get'ing thightvncserver and/or lxde:
(from the thread at androidfanatic.com)
instructions
cd /etc/apt
nano sources.list


now add

deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian lenny main contrib non-free
deb-src http://ftp.debian.org/debian lenny main contrib non-free


after the first one

then hold down the trackball and hit o
then hit return (to save the new sources.list)
then hold the trackball and hit x (to exit nano)
then type
apt-get update
apt-get install tightvncserver
apt-get install lxde


That did the trick for me at least.

/Mats
 
Last edited:

ben29pickett

Senior Member
Mar 16, 2008
106
0
its actually the seccond part i get an error on chmod 4755 * saying something not permited bla bla bla lol
 

Skynet2Mainframe

Senior Member
Oct 19, 2007
104
1
Glasgow
Hay there. ok i have debian setup and lxde but when i got to the vnc and connect all i get is a gray screen can any body help?
i know this has already been adressed but i cant find the thread again.