FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Overclocking Qualcomm 7201 on Android OS

183 posts
Thanks Meter: 57
 
By BAD_BOY_KIEV, Senior Member on 14th January 2009, 09:39 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hi there!!
Seems to me no one hasn't began this knd of theme. So. Off. info:
Qualcomm MSM7201a
Two cores
ARM11 + ARM9
528 Mhz (one stated speed for two cores...)

So what is G1's heart for real?

This is quotes from here
#1
Quote:

Jean-Baptiste Queru 26 нояб 2008, 20:37

Indeed, the CPU in the G1 is clocked lower than its maximum rated
speed to conserve battery life. It's running somewhere between 300 and
400MHz if I remember correctly.

JBQ

#2
Quote:

jdc4429 27 нояб 2008, 17:04

Hi Jean,

So your saying that the CPU speed is not controlled by the Android
software?
I was looking through the code and found this in the arch/arm/mach-msm/
clock.c file...

617 #define CPUFREQ_TABLE_MAX 4
618 static struct cpufreq_frequency_table cpufreq_table[] = {
619 { 0, 81920 },
620 { 1, 122880 },
621 { 2, 245760 },
622 { 3, 384000 },
623 { CPUFREQ_TABLE_MAX, CPUFREQ_TABLE_END },
624 };

It looks like the max speed is set to 384mhz and it seems it can be
easily changed.
It also seems that the phone already downshifts the CPU based on this
table and the
screen_open/closed speed setting...

702 if (screen_on) {
703 policy->user_policy.min = cpufreq_table
[2].frequency; // 245mhz
704 policy->user_policy.max = cpufreq_table
[3].frequency; // 384mhz
705 } else {
706 policy->user_policy.min = cpufreq_table
[0].frequency; // 82mhz
707 policy->user_policy.max = cpufreq_table
[2].frequency; // 245mhz
708 }

Sure looks controllable to me through Android. Is it really that hard
to add a setting to allow min/max settings
to be adjusted by the user?

Thanks
Jeff

#3
Quote:

Romain Guy 26 нояб 2008, 20:39

> Can that
> be changed in software on the fly and was it set below maximum speed
> to help with the battery issue?

No and yes

> Also is anyone working on adding hardware acceleration so we can take
> full advantage of the processor?

We have a prototype of SGL running on top of OpenGL (it was actually
shown publicly in the SDK 0.9) but it's not the correct solution at
the moment.

Coclusion:
1) Google DevTeam does not know, or don' wanna tell, ca we\how to change CPU's speed or\when it would be possible to get the hardware accelariotion etc.
2) From stated 528Mhz we get 384Mhz maximum, as stated by Jean-Baptiste Queru and the code quote.

Both these I suppose seems not fare for us users)
So, can it be solved through the OS modifing??
 
 
14th January 2009, 01:50 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:

Oh yeah that's another good point -- almost all of my experience on mobile
hardware has been that the memory bus speed was far more of a performance
bottleneck than the CPU was. It generally just wasn't useful to run the CPU
at its fastest speed and consume more power, because most of what it would
be doing was sitting there waiting on memory.

I don't know what is more important, the memory/cpu ratio working at its best or battery life. We'll have energy plans soon for android me thinks..
14th January 2009, 02:08 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
interesting... Anyone want to give it a try?
14th January 2009, 02:24 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
It's very worthwhile to read the entire thread:

http://tinyurl.com/9kme8v

Of particular note, the effect on battery life of clocking the CPU at full speed, and the apparently minimal performance boost.

Of real interest, and the very obvious bang for the buck, is the speed of Dalvik. Note that it's 7-8x slower than comparable JITs. About in line with what you'd expect, but it does imply that if we want to see some serious speed increases - and, I would think, battery life improvements - replacing Dalvik would be the obvious place to start. Or making it JIT, of course.
16th January 2009, 05:41 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
might be but lets say im at home plugged in or what not... then we could scale our CPU... like BatteryStatus or integrate it into an app somewhat like Locale or Power Manager...
End users look at the End result. my phone is rated at 528mhz and it is running slightly over half its rated operating speed. Battery life? Give me 528mhz and let HTC and Tmobile Recall there $h*tty batterys :P
16th January 2009, 08:47 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Paderborn
Thanks Meter: 86
 
More
The only advantage I can think of for this is for demanding games for instance but any other time its good to have it under clocked to save on battery juice. and the phone is fast enough running at half its rated speed!

Phil
17th January 2009, 07:36 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by philje123

The only advantage I can think of for this is for demanding games for instance but any other time its good to have it under clocked to save on battery juice. and the phone is fast enough running at half its rated speed!

Phil

once you get demanding apps installed such as hello aim. phoneplus dgalerts etc there is constant hiccups and the phone becomes bogged down like i said give me 528mhz and let htc,tmo replace there $h**ty batteries didnt they hear over a year ago there was a huge advancement in nano tech for batteries
17th January 2009, 09:42 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 76
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by diabolical28

once you get demanding apps installed such as hello aim. phoneplus dgalerts etc there is constant hiccups and the phone becomes bogged down like i said give me 528mhz and let htc,tmo replace there $h**ty batteries didnt they hear over a year ago there was a huge advancement in nano tech for batteries

True, but *if* it is the CPU which is bogging down (which I am not convinced is the case), the solution is as I stated - speed up Dalvik - not to put the CPU into a mode which drains the battery down even more quickly than it does today. If the fix is to clock the CPU at a higher rate (which again, seems not to be the case), that's only a stepping stone to the ultimate solution, which is going to be removing some apps, since the battery life is marginal right now anyway.
17th January 2009, 10:45 AM |#9  
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter: 68
 
More
The reason why Android is underclocked is posted in the full thread. After a certain point, the increase in speed you get by bumping up the CPU slows down, because it's limited by FSB speed. An example of this (not real numbers), is that a CPU running at 50% speed could actually be closer to 75% speed.

Sure, the CPU CAN run at 100% speed, but after the FSB slows it down, it'll only be 75%. So after a point, increasing CPU speed isn't worth it.
12th February 2009, 05:02 PM |#10  
roguestatuskat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag snelltown
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
hmm
i wonder if we would get an app too monitor it or
under and overclock by adjusting a slider
anywhere from 50% to 150% or whatever is possible
that is anywhere from 264Mhz to 798Mhz which would be amazingly fast
12th February 2009, 07:06 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
gary, might as well just save your breath.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes