FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

EZCast aka Miracast dongle vs Chromecast (discussion, similarities and differences)

356 posts
Thanks Meter: 263
 
By mathorv, Senior Member on 1st February 2014, 01:06 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
16th February 2014, 07:30 PM |#11  
mathorv's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 263
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xterminater07

I have my ezcast plugged into my Yamaha receiver to have surround sound, and the router I have is a linksys e2500 dual band. I have most stuff connected through the 5ghz channel, leaving the 2ghz dedicated to guest and ezcast or any other devices. Both bands are on wireless N only, and it's not pointed toward the wall or on the floor, it's sitting on top of my tv stand. My router is fine I have no issues with the roku 2 xs, just the ezcast is always buffering on 720p when streaming from youtube, and 1080p as well. I have the latest firmware and the app update as well. Any more suggestion?

Not much(I doubt it will help):
Update routers firmware.
Experiment with router position - should not be too close to wall/floor or other high density objects.

Be sure you use 40MHz channel width and experiment with different wireless channels.

cheap signal booster example, it'll be hard to direct it between floors
http://lifehacker.com/5839243/use-an...wi+fi-extender
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OZD3MZZTpeY
http://lifehacker.com/296367/boost-y...-wifi-extender

Alternatively just forget about it.
 
 
16th February 2014, 07:53 PM |#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 138
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathorv

Be sure it's updated to 11391, place it not too close to the wall/floor, you may use hdmi extender for tests.
Generally this device should be placed in line of sight not another floor.
It depends on how good is wifi adapter is used. If its not in 802.11n(150Mbps+) or newer such as 802.11ac card there is high chance for lags.
Cast movies via Video mode not mirror screen mode.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mathorv

Not much(I doubt it will help):
Update routers firmware.
Experiment with router position - should not be too close to wall/floor or other high density objects.

Be sure you use 40MHz channel width and experiment with different wireless channels.

cheap signal booster example, it'll be hard to direct it between floors
http://lifehacker.com/5839243/use-an...wi+fi-extender
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OZD3MZZTpeY
http://lifehacker.com/296367/boost-y...-wifi-extender

Alternatively just forget about it.



It's working so far, but I noticed my ios youtube native app no longer can airplay to the ezcast! It keep telling me playback error, however if i use the "web" function of the ezcast app it works flawless.
18th February 2014, 06:15 AM |#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 138
 
More
a quick update on this... I tried the ezmirror using my laptop and it plays 720p and 1080p perfect! I don't know why when playing over tablet or iphone it lags so much! Any experts in here know how to sniff out the protocol it uses?
18th February 2014, 11:52 AM |#14  
mathorv's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 263
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xterminater07

a quick update on this... I tried the ezmirror using my laptop and it plays 720p and 1080p perfect! I don't know why when playing over tablet or iphone it lags so much! Any experts in here know how to sniff out the protocol it uses?

Be sure that you use latest version of app.
EZCast 1.1.150 Feb 01, 2014 https://itunes.apple.com/en/app/ezcast/id677053215
It requires iOS 6.1 or later and is optimized for iPhone 5.

Use Wireshark on Linux or OS X platform if you want to " sniff out the protocol it uses"
https://www.wireshark.org/download.html
Alternatively read specs and manuals from links in OP(Opening post).
Or even visit their forum that's linked in OP and ask there.

P.S.
That's cool that I helped to solve your problems.
You didn't mention what worked and you don't even bother to say thank you.
The Following User Says Thank You to mathorv For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mathorv Ad-Free
18th February 2014, 01:10 PM |#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 138
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathorv

Be sure that you use latest version of app.
EZCast 1.1.150 Feb 01, 2014 https://itunes.apple.com/en/app/ezcast/id677053215
It requires iOS 6.1 or later and is optimized for iPhone 5.

Use Wireshark on Linux or OS X platform if you want to " sniff out the protocol it uses"
https://www.wireshark.org/download.html
Alternatively read specs and manuals from links in OP(Opening post).
Or even visit their forum that's linked in OP and ask there.

P.S.
That's cool that I helped to solve your problems.
You didn't mention what worked and you don't even bother to say thank you.

I have iphone 5 but running ios 7. I am on windows lapto so I can't use that wireshark! Also I have not forget to say thank u to u, just we have not finished solving this issue that is all eheeeh don't misunderstand! I greatly appreciate all anyone does to help troubleshoot!
18th February 2014, 02:50 PM |#16  
mathorv's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 263
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xterminater07

I have iphone 5 but running ios 7. I am on windows lapto so I can't use that wireshark! Also I have not forget to say thank u to u, just we have not finished solving this issue that is all eheeeh don't misunderstand! I greatly appreciate all anyone does to help troubleshoot!

Two answers at once:
1. Technologies used on iOS - Ezair(Airplay)
2. There are known issues on iOS 7 with no workaround.
According to developer "yuanwei" it should be fixed within a month. SOURCE
The Following User Says Thank You to mathorv For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mathorv Ad-Free
18th February 2014, 05:03 PM |#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 138
 
More
Thank u! I did see their forums but it looks very inactive thats why I didnt bother posting there! Odd how it worked before on native youtube app but not anymore! It's like random.... Also I wish they have a stronger antenna bc I cannot connect to any other channel besides auto! It also took me awhile to connect to the tv via my laptop, but it connected fine now. Major lags within the windows OS when using ezmirror but youtube stream and flash contents are on sync with the laptop!
The Following User Says Thank You to xterminater07 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift xterminater07 Ad-Free
19th February 2014, 07:05 PM |#18  
mathorv's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 263
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by xterminater07

...and the router I have is a linksys e2500 dual band. I have most stuff connected through the 5ghz channel, leaving the 2ghz dedicated to guest and ezcast or any other device

It's worth to read about linksys routers vulnerability
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2014/02...s_a_hnap1_bug/
6th March 2014, 09:18 AM |#19  
Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
I have the Tronsmart T1000 and have been using it for a couple of months to stream from both Android and Windows.

I have used both Miracast with Android and also using the devices built in WiFi network to stream from Android and Windows. Miracast is a little laggy and buggy but typically works fine. Sometimes with larger video files there is a .5 second sync issue with audio and video but it is not present at all times.

The Tronsmart (and devices like it) really do fill a gap that the CC doesn't. If anyone has any questions about the Tronsmart T1000 let me know!
8th March 2014, 01:50 AM |#20  
squicky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 194
 
More
@mathorv
I'm waiting for my Measy A2W right now. Can you tell me how is the situation with multichannel sound? I see on my Galaxy Note 2 (Android 4.3) that there is option for surround sound on HDMI output, but I guess it's just some kind of Virtual Surround. At least I didn't get any DTS or Dolby Digitial signs on my amplituner (I was using mhl adapter). Would I be able to get proper 5.1 surround sound out of Measy A2W with GN2 or will I have to stick to Dolby Prologic? I've heard that Chromecast can output multichannel sound so maybe this baby can do this too?
8th March 2014, 05:05 PM |#21  
mathorv's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 263
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by squicky

@mathorv
I'm waiting for my Measy A2W right now. Can you tell me how is the situation with multichannel sound? I see on my Galaxy Note 2 (Android 4.3) that there is option for surround sound on HDMI output, but I guess it's just some kind of Virtual Surround. At least I didn't get any DTS or Dolby Digitial signs on my amplituner (I was using mhl adapter). Would I be able to get proper 5.1 surround sound out of Measy A2W with GN2 or will I have to stick to Dolby Prologic? I've heard that Chromecast can output multichannel sound so maybe this baby can do this too?

Never tested it. Iezvu.com forums is right place to ask.
The Following User Says Thank You to mathorv For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mathorv Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
chromecast, ezcast, miracast

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes