FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
Honor 7x
Win an Honor 7X!

[ROOT][TOOL]Debugfs automated root [09/18/2012]

432 posts
Thanks Meter: 807
 
By sparkym3, Senior Member on 12th June 2012, 06:45 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
12th June 2012, 08:38 PM |#11  
Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Running the updated bat as I type.... stand by

update #1 - sitting at the same spot.

Is it possible some of the files in the zip need to be in the MS-Win system32 folder?
 
 
12th June 2012, 08:43 PM |#12  
texstar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
sparkym3- you have a quick link to the win driver installation tutorial? Gonna try this but haven't used Windows in years. Got a lappy with xp on it.
12th June 2012, 08:47 PM |#13  
Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by texstar

sparkym3- you have a quick link to the win driver installation tutorial? Gonna try this but haven't used Windows in years. Got a lappy with xp on it.

Plug your prime into the computer with the Asus usb cable. When the Autoinstall drivers dialogue pops up, tell it you want to select the drivers. when it asks you to browse to the drivers, browse to the location where you unzipped sparky's and select it. WinXP does the rest.
12th June 2012, 08:48 PM |#14  
sparkym3's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 807
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gremlin001

Running the updated bat as I type.... stand by

update #1 - sitting at the same spot.

Is it possible some of the files in the zip need to be in the MS-Win system32 folder?

Can you tell me what the console displays after these lines. That should tell if all the files got copied over to the device.
adb push debugfs /data/local/
adb push debugfsinput /data/local/

Since debugfs actually runs, at least that one is copied over, my main concern is debugfsinput, this is the file that tells debugfs what to do.

Also, would you post a screenshot so I can see exactly what is happening, something might jump out if I can actually see it.
12th June 2012, 08:55 PM |#15  
Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Screen shot won't do any good. Lettering is very dark. Here is a select all/copy of the output.


Waiting for device to be detected...
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *


Step 1 - Pushing files...
843 KB/s (1862336 bytes in 2.156s)
698 KB/s (22364 bytes in 0.031s)
7 KB/s (119 bytes in 0.015s)

Rebooting...


Step 2 - Rooting...
debugfs 1.42 (29-Nov-2011)
debugfs:


I'm exiting the batch file.
12th June 2012, 09:06 PM |#16  
sparkym3's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 807
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gremlin001

Screen shot won't do any good. Lettering is very dark. Here is a select all/copy of the output.


Waiting for device to be detected...
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *


Step 1 - Pushing files...
843 KB/s (1862336 bytes in 2.156s)
698 KB/s (22364 bytes in 0.031s)
7 KB/s (119 bytes in 0.015s)

Rebooting...


Step 2 - Rooting...
debugfs 1.42 (29-Nov-2011)
debugfs:


I'm exiting the batch file.

Would you just run this line manually and see if you get the same.
adb shell "/data/local/debugfs -w /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 < /data/local/debugfsinput"

I wish I had my prime i could test, all i have with me is an emulator.
On the emulator i get errors, but it still runs the correct commands then exits


C:\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>adb shell "/data/local/debugfs -w /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 < /data/local/debugfsinput"
debugfs 1.42 (29-Nov-2011)
/dev/block/mtdblock0: Attempt to read block from filesystem resulted in short read while opening filesystem
debugfs: cd: Filesystem not open
debugfs: write: Filesystem not open
debugfs: set_inode_field: Filesystem not open
debugfs: set_inode_field: Filesystem not open
debugfs: set_inode_field: Filesystem not open
debugfs:
C:\Android\android-sdk\platform-tools>
12th June 2012, 09:22 PM |#17  
Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More

C:\Documents and Settings\kcr\Desktop\Root>adb shell "/data/local/debugfs -w /de
v/block/mmcblk0p1 < /data/local/debugfsinput"
debugfs 1.42 (29-Nov-2011)
debugfs: debugfs: write: The file 'su' already exists

debugfs: debugfs: debugfs: debugfs:

C:\Documents and Settings\kcr\Desktop\Root>


Then it exits to dos shell

---------- Post added at 02:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:14 PM ----------

Gotta run sparky. I'll be back to try again in about 4 hours. Thanks for giving it a go and setting up the bat. It will likely be something simple messing up - it usually is.
12th June 2012, 09:26 PM |#18  
sparkym3's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 807
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gremlin001


C:\Documents and Settings\kcr\Desktop\Root>adb shell "/data/local/debugfs -w /de
v/block/mmcblk0p1 < /data/local/debugfsinput"
debugfs 1.42 (29-Nov-2011)
debugfs: debugfs: write: The file 'su' already exists

debugfs: debugfs: debugfs: debugfs:

C:\Documents and Settings\kcr\Desktop\Root>


Then it exits to dos shell

if the file already exists, then that may be a problem.
you could try this to remove the existing file:
Code:
adb shell
/data/local/debugfs -w /dev/block/mmcblk0p1
rm /xbin/su
quit
exit
This should clear out any current su file that's in there and then try that line again.

Hopefully somebody else can come in and confirm they are seeing the same because I am useless for trying things without my device.
The Following User Says Thank You to sparkym3 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sparkym3 Ad-Free
12th June 2012, 09:35 PM |#19  
demandarin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Alexandria, Va
Thanks Meter: 2,047
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkym3

Latest Supported Versions:
v9.4.2.21 for the TF201
v9.2.1.17 for the TF101
v9.4.3.29 for the TF300

These are the latest supported versions as far as I know, if I get any further input I will update this post.

The latest update for TF201 v9.4.2.28/29 due out within a day or 2 has been reported to not have any of the known root exploits, do NOT upgrade to the latest build prior to rooting or you may be out of luck.

I'm already out of luck

so i can't even downgrade either, if I wanted to, huh? .28 blues..lol
12th June 2012, 10:06 PM |#20  
texstar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
Ok I'm in if you are still around sparkym3.

Running v1.3 bat gets me to...

Step 2 -- Rooting...
debugfs 1.42
debugfs: Allocated inode: 1369
debugfs: su: File not found by ext2_loopback
debugfs: su: File not found by ext2_loopback
debugfs: su: File not found by ext2_loopback
debugfs:
Rebooting...
Testing superuser...
/system/bin/sh: /system/xbin/su: not found

uid and gid should both be 0.
Are they? (y/n):

I'm stopped here. not sure how to proceed.
12th June 2012, 10:11 PM |#21  
Member
Flag Alexandria
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by texstar

Ok I'm in if you are still around sparkym3.

Running v1.3 bat gets me to...

Step 2 -- Rooting...
debugfs 1.42
debugfs: Allocated inode: 1369
debugfs: su: File not found by ext2_loopback
debugfs: su: File not found by ext2_loopback
debugfs: su: File not found by ext2_loopback
debugfs:
Rebooting...
Testing superuser...
/system/bin/sh: /system/xbin/su: not found

uid and gid should both be 0.
Are they? (y/n):

I'm stopped here. not sure how to proceed.

Same here
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes