FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
Honor 7x
Win an Honor 7X!

[Recovery] [32A & 32B] [16-May-2010] RA-sapphire-v1.7.0

1,295 posts
Thanks Meter: 403
 
By Amon_RA, Retired Senior Recognized Developer on 26th June 2009, 10:05 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
3rd June 2010, 11:08 PM |#1001  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
hey i flashed the recovery image (1.7.0) thru Terminal & i cant get to the recovery screen. (i have a MT3g 32b)
did i do something wrong?
 
 
4th June 2010, 02:17 AM |#1002  
knny1491's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Suffolk
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Re: [Recovery] [32A & 32B] [16-May-2010] RA-sapphire-v1.7.0
What rom are you running?
4th June 2010, 03:49 PM |#1003  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
Donate to Me
More
Im completely ftrustrated with Amon_ra recovery. I have a tmobile mytouch 3g.

Im trying to partition my SD card for apps2SD and its been all but failure at this point. let me detail what I have done and hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

I have installed on my phone cyanogen 5.0.7.
I tried to install the recovery img and messed it up once and couldnt get to the recovery console on boot. ok lesson learned. reflashed the phone back. loaded clockwork and I got my recovery console now. i put the ROM back on so the phone is operational.

I have tried to flash the amon_ra recovery image but i think either its the wrong one or im doing it very wrong.

in adb ive tried to do flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery.img (which i renamed the file to) with multiple versions.
recovery-RA-dream-v1.7.0 and recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.6.2G. both lock up the phone and wont boot past the initial screen. I really do not know how to get Amon_Ra on this mt3g at this point.

Im really out of options here on how to redo this sdcard since nothing I have tried works including doing it via the adb shell. For some reason parted isnt on the device so Im left with using Amon_ra.

Any help someone could provide would be awesome. If you need more information just ask.
I have tried the following versions and none work: recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.7.0G / recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.6.2G / recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.5.2H / recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.5.2G

Im at the point now where I had to actually reload SAPPIMG.nbh to totally reset the phone via fastboot. Im losing a lot of faith in Amon_Ra. It doesnt look like it even works.

My next step is that I am going to try to put an older more compatible version of cyanogen on and try it that way.
4th June 2010, 05:57 PM |#1004  
Amon_RA's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 403
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxavier

Im completely ftrustrated with Amon_ra recovery. I have a tmobile mytouch 3g.

Im trying to partition my SD card for apps2SD and its been all but failure at this point. let me detail what I have done and hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

I have installed on my phone cyanogen 5.0.7.
I tried to install the recovery img and messed it up once and couldnt get to the recovery console on boot. ok lesson learned. reflashed the phone back. loaded clockwork and I got my recovery console now. i put the ROM back on so the phone is operational.

I have tried to flash the amon_ra recovery image but i think either its the wrong one or im doing it very wrong.

in adb ive tried to do flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery.img (which i renamed the file to) with multiple versions.
recovery-RA-dream-v1.7.0 and recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.6.2G. both lock up the phone and wont boot past the initial screen. I really do not know how to get Amon_Ra on this mt3g at this point.

Im really out of options here on how to redo this sdcard since nothing I have tried works including doing it via the adb shell. For some reason parted isnt on the device so Im left with using Amon_ra.

Any help someone could provide would be awesome. If you need more information just ask.
I have tried the following versions and none work: recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.7.0G / recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.6.2G / recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.5.2H / recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.5.2G

Im at the point now where I had to actually reload SAPPIMG.nbh to totally reset the phone via fastboot. Im losing a lot of faith in Amon_Ra. It doesnt look like it even works.

My next step is that I am going to try to put an older more compatible version of cyanogen on and try it that way.

Did you read the first post?
It's clearly indicated (in red and in a large font) that CM7.0.5 currently has issues using flash_image. This is not my fault, nor can I do something about it. Please direct your issues on the CM forums.

Like indicated in the first post : use fastboot instead
4th June 2010, 06:44 PM |#1005  
Morrolan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amon_RA

Did you read the first post?
It's clearly indicated (in red and in a large font) that CM7.0.5 currently has issues using flash_image. This is not my fault, nor can I do something about it. Please direct your issues on the CM forums.

Like indicated in the first post : use fastboot instead

How does one go about flashing 1.7.0 to a MyTouch 1.2? With the current 1.33.0013, I have no access via fastboot. I tried through ADB, but got the error you referred to. Would it be better to stick with 1.6.2?
4th June 2010, 07:00 PM |#1006  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I managed to solve my (self-induced) problem. I downloaded the a (presumably vanilla) vodafone SAPPIMG.nbh from here: "forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=580631", then followed this guide: "theunlockr.com/2009/10/15/how-to-root-a-donut-phone-android-1-6" using the one-click root method and flashed amon ras latest recovery image via flashrec.apk, then installed the latest cyanogen. Works like a charm now.

PS: I did not create a goldcard but simply used the sdcard that came with my phone.
4th June 2010, 07:06 PM |#1007  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amon_RA

Did you read the first post?
It's clearly indicated (in red and in a large font) that CM7.0.5 currently has issues using flash_image. This is not my fault, nor can I do something about it. Please direct your issues on the CM forums.

Like indicated in the first post : use fastboot instead

Im not saying it is, thats why i said it was my mistake. What I have a problem with is none of the above listed methods seem to work. I will post more details shortly with some error messages.
4th June 2010, 07:24 PM |#1008  
Amon_RA's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 403
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxavier

Im not saying it is, thats why i said it was my mistake. What I have a problem with is none of the above listed methods seem to work. I will post more details shortly with some error messages.

You didn't mention that you've tried the fastboot method to flash the recovery, so I assumed you didn't try it yet...

Just boot your phone into fastboot.
fastboot flash recovery recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.7.0G.img

Works just fine.

Again, the fact that flash_image doesn't work on CM 5.0.7 in adb or terminal is out of my control... and has nothing to do with my recovery.
4th June 2010, 07:28 PM |#1009  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amon_RA

You didn't mention that you've tried the fastboot method to flash the recovery, so I assumed you didn't try it yet...

Just boot your phone into fastboot.
fastboot flash recovery recovery-RA-sapphire-v1.7.0G.img

Works just fine.

Again, the fact that flash_image doesn't work on CM 5.0.7 in adb or terminal is out of my control... and has nothing to do with my recovery.


Yea I understand that.
The problem I had with fastboot is that adb does not recognize any devices. I have started over and I am going to try it shortly.
4th June 2010, 07:40 PM |#1010  
Amon_RA's Avatar
OP Retired Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 403
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxavier

Yea I understand that.
The problem I had with fastboot is that adb does not recognize any devices. I have started over and I am going to try it shortly.

fastboot and adb are 2 different things...

- adb only works in recovery and when your phone is booted, it will not work when your phone is in fastboot mode.
- fastboot only works when your phone is in fastboot mode.

If fastboot doesn't find your phone it's due to incorrect usb driver settings on your machine.
4th June 2010, 09:17 PM |#1011  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amon_RA

fastboot and adb are 2 different things...

- adb only works in recovery and when your phone is booted, it will not work when your phone is in fastboot mode.
- fastboot only works when your phone is in fastboot mode.

If fastboot doesn't find your phone it's due to incorrect usb driver settings on your machine.

fastboot returns with this:

c:\adb\tools>fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
sending 'recovery' (4528 KB)... FAILED (remote: not allow)
finished. total time: 0.003s

I have the phone back to cyan5.0.7 at this point. I just wanted to post a reply. I am looking through other posts to see if any are related. It looks like I need to update my SPL.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
amon ra

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes