FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
Post Reply Email Thread
If you loose your 3g after flashing a rom or sbf, try to flash one of those zip to see if you get your 3g back (based on the wcdma(3g) freq your operator work on).

(Edit: in the previous sentence, "operator" was meant for the "original operator" of your phone. So in other words, select what matches your hardware, not your carrier. If you still have the original box, theres a label with the freqs on it.)

freq_F_CN_026-850-2100-signed.zip: 850, 2100MHz (ref)
freq_F_PL_342_131-900-2100-signed.zip: 900, 2100MHz
freq_F_UK_342_117-900-2100-signed.zip: 900, 2100MHz
freq_F_US_342_107-850-1700-2100-signed.zip: 850, 1700, 2100MHz

I've repacked as zip the files that seem to be resposible to gsm/WCDMA frequencies support on the Defy from several dumps (China, Poland, UK, US, all Froyo based). I'm not 100% sure though that it will work, but if it can help.

PLease report your success/failure here

Here is also another zip that is known to bring 3g back to Argentina users on Personal (Thanks gederico):

Fix_3g_850.1900Mhz-signed.zip: 850, 1900MHz


India & South East Asia Defy: http://www.mediafire.com/?k8dsbbq0ceodv86
Vodafone Spain (from Eclair rom, but seem to work for Froyo too): freq_E_ES_VF2.22.0-850-1700-2100-signed.zip
The Following 26 Users Say Thank You to adlx.xda For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift adlx.xda Ad-Free
7th February 2011, 01:18 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
This will greatly improve flexibility to moving between roms for US users. Thanks adlx
The Following User Says Thank You to chaihg For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift chaihg Ad-Free
7th February 2011, 02:11 AM |#3  
Member
Flag Wuxi
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Does use the customer recovery to flash, or via moto recovery?
7th February 2011, 01:36 PM |#4  
adlx.xda's Avatar
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 1,771
 
Donate to Me
More
Arrow
Quote:
Originally Posted by lackyking

Does use the customer recovery to flash, or via moto recovery?

You need to use Custom recovery :)

I wish I could forge Motorola signature ;-D
7th February 2011, 07:29 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 518
 
More
Has anyone been able confirm that all these different variants of the Defy actually do have different hardware radios as well? Or are they all the same hardware with soft-controlled bands?

Example: If someone lives in an area where AT&T's coverage is 1900 MHz only and no 850 MHz, you shouldn't get 3G on a T-Mobile 850/1700/2100 Defy. What if you flash the 850/1900 3G files - do you get 3G now?

Do different country variants have a different FCC ID inside?
7th February 2011, 07:37 AM |#6  
racca's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 85
 
Donate to Me
More
thanks.



ps. are you sure about cn850/2100?
china has cdma800, gsm900 and wcdma2100, so would make more sense to have 2100-only or 900/2100 since wcdma850 would never happen.
7th February 2011, 01:43 PM |#7  
adlx.xda's Avatar
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 1,771
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by racca

ps. are you sure about cn850/2100?
china has cdma800, gsm900 and wcdma2100, so would make more sense to have 2100-only or 900/2100 since wcdma850 would never happen.

I'm not 100% sure. I looked for the information yesterday on Motorola's site, specs for Defy in the respective countries. Today I can't get to the ME525 spec page on Motorola.com(chinese). So I can't confirm.

EDIT: just found it:

频率 WCDMA: 850/2100 HSDPA 7.2 Mbps; GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 GPRS; Edge Class 12

source: http://www.motorola.com/Consumers/CN...E525-CN-ZH.alt
The Following User Says Thank You to adlx.xda For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift adlx.xda Ad-Free
25th February 2011, 11:52 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
I flashed PAYS rom and then the US tmo file here, still not getting 3g. What now? Says mobile network service is disconnected. Ive tried toggling airplane mode, no luck.
16th April 2011, 06:54 PM |#9  
marhensa's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bogor
Thanks Meter: 1,177
 
Donate to Me
More
it seems India and SEA (South East Asia) have a different frequencies.
India = 850 / 2100
SEA = 900 / 2100
(according to this: http://www.and-developers.com/sbf:defy)

but in 1st post, it says India + SEA.
i lived on Indonesia, part of SEA.
i've try that fix months ago, and resulting a bad reception signal.

so, now.. i have a stock Indonesian (SEA) nandroid backup eclair 2.59 from my friend
with unyaffs, i extract these files from \system\etc\motorola\bp_nvm_default
and repack it to signed update zip.

here:
SEA Frequencies Fix (from Indonesian stock eclair 2.59)
http://www.mediafire.com/?97s8vl7e1lkqn3v

maybe it helps people who live on SEA region,
which have a bad signal reception after flashing different region SBF or froyo custom rom.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to marhensa For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift marhensa Ad-Free
1st May 2011, 03:09 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
First, Thanks to all of you
My mobile was tmobile 2.2.1
the new romm is 2.2.2 with arabic lang, the new rom has radio prb. now I installed freq_F_UK_342_117-900-2100-signed.zip:, every thing is ok

Thanks
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes