[HOW TO] Root/update/ your Australian Xoom

Search This thread

tromboc

Dec 11, 2010
Nambour
WANT TO ROOT YOUR AUSSIE NEXT G XOOM?

Firstly, I know this is in the wrong section of the forum, but I dont have enough XDA posts to put anything in the developement section. DEAL WITH IT :)

DISCLAIMER - I am not a developer or active XDA forum poster, I am a forum reader and user. The reason for this post is a lack of information regarding AUSTRALIAN Xoom rooting and updating on XDA (correct me if im wrong). This information is gathered from multiple different sources and I DONT TAKE ANY CREDIT FOR THEIR HARD WORK, nor do I take any responsibility for their instructions. Everything here is their work, however please follow the links for a more up to date process. Therefore take this information with a grain of salt, I have, however, seen it work on 4 Xoom's so far with 100% success. These instructions assume you can use adb, fastboot, and clockworkmod and assume you know that all warranty is voided by doing any of this.

Now, for the nice bit...

Do you have an Australian Xoom with 3G and wondering what to do about Verizon, US, EURO, UK, 3G, 4G, WIFI only, etc?? you want a forum that says OZ dont you? you want to ROOT YOUR XOOM!

Firstly from what I can tell our model is very similar if not identical to the UK model in that they provide 3G (Telstra Next G for us) connection. The US models dont have sim cards and access the network differently, so some of their processes and information will not apply to us, neither will all the UK information. So to save you some time, here is a collaboration of my findings after hours of web searching and flashing, re-flashing, etc.

Step 1 - Root it

[GUIDE] XOOM 3G Euro Root Instructions + Files.
http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=1049901

This link and all associated files work perfectly to root your OZ-Spec Xoom

Step 2 - ClockworkMod Recovery

[Recovery] ClockworkMod 3.0.2.8 Modded for Internal media [UPDATED 5/13]