FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Basic L9 Overclocking instruction

360 posts
Thanks Meter: 125
 
By csrow, Senior Member on 15th January 2013, 03:49 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
This is the instruction originally posted by kevev in the other thread. I am reposting it here for others to find it easier.

--------------------------------------------------------------

1.) Root your device.

2.) Download to your device "overclock.zip" from this thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1961989

3.) Install "AndroZip File Manager" from the Play store.

4.) Run AndroZip and browse to overclock.zip. (Probably /mnt/sdcard/Download .)

5.) tap on the file "overclock.zip" and select "Extract file here".
(A new directory named "overclock" is created)

6.) Install "ES File Explorer File Manager" from the Play store.

7.) Run ES File Explorer and press your "menu" button then select "settings".

8.) Change these settings:

Home Directory = /

Root settings --> Check all boxes

9.) Press the "back" button until the app exits.

10.) Run ES File Explorer again.
(Now your root partition "/" should be mounted with read/write permissions.

11.) Browse to the overclock directory. (Probably /mnt/sdcard/Download/overclock/ .)

12.) Long press on the cpu_control.ko file and a menu should open. Select "copy".

13.) Browse to the /system/lib/modules/ directory .

14.) Press "menu" button and select "Operations" then select "Paste" .

15.) Long press on the cpu_control.ko file and a menu should open. Select "Properties".

16.) Press "Change" and check the boxes like this:

User: read write
Group: read
Other: read

17.) Perform steps 12-17 on the symsearch.ko file which is also in the overclock directory.

18.) Install "Rom Toolbox Lite" from the Play store.

19.) Run ROM Toolbox Lite and select "Scripter".

20.) Press the "+" symbol in the top right corner and select "Create" to add the overclock script.

21.) Name it "overclock" or whaterver you wish.

22.) In the "Commands:" field enter this:

insmod /system/lib/modules/symsearch.ko
insmod /system/lib/modules/cpu_control.ko

echo 0 300 980 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu
echo 1 600 1200 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu
echo 2 800 1300 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu
echo 3 1200 1370 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu

23.) Your phone will overclock to 1.2Ghz.
If you wish to overclock higer you can try changing 1200 in the last line to 1300 for 1.3Ghz.

24.) Press the floppy disk in the top right corner to save the script.

25.) Press the overclock script and a menu will open. Select "Run Script".

If everything worked you should see an "exit valut:0" message.
If you run the script again you will see the same value but with a warning message.
This is normal since the modules are already loaded.

26.) You can load a cpu monitoring app to see if the overclocking works or just create another script that displays cpu clock info.
Here is the command for that script:

cat /proc/cpu_control/opp_table_current

27.) After making sure your device is stable you can have the overclock script run automatically at boot.

Press the "overclock" script and a menu will open.
Press "Set at boot"
Reboot the device and you will see a notification that the script ran in the notification area of the device at top.

All credits go to iodak and the thread created here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1961989
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to csrow For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift csrow Ad-Free
 
 
15th January 2013, 03:53 PM |#2  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
More
I have been using slightly different apps to make the phone set to overclock automatically after a boot, I use 'SManager' app to edit and save the script (there is a free version) to run the script after a boot up.

Then I also use "CPU Master"(free version) to control the upper frequency set and the scaling method. I have been using 'interactive'.

With those two apps, the phone will boot up after a reset to the proper frequency and be ready to go automatically.

Try the following script if you want to try to push it to 1300MHz.

Code:
#! /system/bin/sh
insmod /system/lib/modules/symsearch.ko
insmod /system/lib/modules/cpu_control.ko
echo 0 333 830 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu
echo 1 666 1050 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu
echo 2 999 1150 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu
echo 3 1300 1340 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu
15th January 2013, 04:02 PM |#3  
luq529's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Świętochłowice
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
You can try 1220Mhz on 1270mV. For me it is more stable then on 1200Mhz and 1360mV.
15th January 2013, 04:09 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by luq529

You can try 1220Mhz on 1270mV. For me it is more stable then on 1200Mhz and 1360mV.

Were you having problems at 1200MHz and 1360mV? I'm just curious how one determines one set up is more stable than the others.

I have tried running SetCPU stress tests before but that test either runs fine or ends with a lock up.
15th January 2013, 04:19 PM |#5  
kevev's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 304
 
More
Thank You csrow for mentioning me.

My P769 would not run stable @ 1200Mhz so I removed the overclock. I may have bad hardware because it has been rebooting randomly at stock clock speeds. This is my 3rd L9. My wife is on her 3rd also.
15th January 2013, 04:52 PM |#6  
luq529's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Świętochłowice
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by csrow

Were you having problems at 1200MHz and 1360mV? I'm just curious how one determines one set up is more stable than the others.

I have tried running SetCPU stress tests before but that test either runs fine or ends with a lock up.

I don't know why. On this settings I have 8200 points in Antutu. Maybe 1220 Mhz is better for our processor.
15th January 2013, 05:11 PM |#7  
adixtra's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 353
 
More
my current stable voltages

Code:
echo 0 300 830 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu
 echo 1 600 860 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu
 echo 2 800 890 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu
 echo 3 1000 950 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu
15th January 2013, 08:00 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Brick
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Unhappy
Link is dead :'[
The Following User Says Thank You to Jrkoffjonson For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Jrkoffjonson Ad-Free
15th January 2013, 08:09 PM |#9  
luq529's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Świętochłowice
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adixtra

my current stable voltages

Code:
echo 0 300 830 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu
 echo 1 600 860 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu
 echo 2 800 890 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu
 echo 3 1000 950 > /proc/cpu_control/tweak_cpu

How do you do that ?! That's amazing from 1388 to 950. I will try it soon.
15th January 2013, 08:46 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrkoffjonson

Link is dead :'[

Fixed the link. Try again.
The Following User Says Thank You to csrow For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift csrow Ad-Free
15th January 2013, 09:49 PM |#11  
cmahendra's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 4,933
 
More
Now we have full working CWM 6 for L9, is it by any chance possible to make flashable zip for overclocking and a zip for reverting back to default clock settings?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes