FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[mod]Boosting Signal Strength (hspa/gprs)

365 posts
Thanks Meter: 75
 
By djscopesofm, Senior Member on 22nd January 2011, 11:42 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
4th February 2012, 04:05 AM |#101  
vampirexhunter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djscopesofm

we it looks like the files are creates on boot so I'm not sure if we r able to remove or disable this "throttling"... I guess u could try the sd cache method to delete it on boot every time. but wat I really want is to some how decompile these files and modify the throttling to allow large down and up speeds to trick the system instead of just deleting them..

any takers?

Try this.... I edited the file in editor, deleted everything. 0 byte file now. Changed the permission to nothing.

Seemed to work for me.

I get a constant 2.5-3.5M D/L and 1.0-2.0M U/L!!!

EDIT: I hit 3.6M Upload! wow..

Sent from my Dell Streak using XDA App
 
 
15th February 2012, 01:43 PM |#102  
cyapalmpos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
I don't know how ya'll are getting those speeds. Must be the network out here in Colorado sucks. I only see a little over 1MB down even after tweaking with the ro.ril entries. I'm running DSC .7.
15th February 2012, 01:54 PM |#103  
Senior Member
Flag Heredia
Thanks Meter: 1,051
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyapalmpos

I don't know how ya'll are getting those speeds. Must be the network out here in Colorado sucks. I only see a little over 1MB down even after tweaking with the ro.ril entries. I'm running DSC .7.

in your build.prop those values can be at the very end if it didn't have them already, but also make sure to leave two blank lines AFTER the last entry.

Also, reboot at least twice clearing any caches before seeing any differences
15th February 2012, 04:56 PM |#104  
cyapalmpos's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Yep. Rebooted and all that. Several times.

build.prop (with a blank line at the end):
ro.ril.enable.dtm=1
ro.ril.gprsclass=12
ro.ril.hep=1
ro.ril.enable.3g.prefix=1
ro.ril.hsdpa.category=8 (tested with '14' as well. no diff)
ro.ril.hsupa.category=6
ro.ril.hsxpa=5 (tested with '2' as well. no diff)

Just ran 3 tests (was sure to close all other apps and turn off sync before running the tests) and averaged:
1752 kbps down
55 kbps up

I get better upload when in the city. I'm at home right now. My download stays about the same.
15th February 2012, 05:03 PM |#105  
Senior Member
Flag Heredia
Thanks Meter: 1,051
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyapalmpos

Yep. Rebooted and all that. Several times.

build.prop (with a blank line at the end):
ro.ril.enable.dtm=1
ro.ril.gprsclass=12
ro.ril.hep=1
ro.ril.enable.3g.prefix=1
ro.ril.hsdpa.category=8
ro.ril.hsupa.category=6
ro.ril.hsxpa=5

Just ran 3 tests (was sure to close all other apps and turn off sync before running the tests) and averaged:
1752 kbps down
55 kbps up

I get better upload when in the city. I'm at home right now. My download stays about the same.

I don't know what to tell ya then. I live in Costa Rica and I have the quickest mobile plan available which is 4Mbps, with the tweaks I can get almost 3 of that, without the tweak the most I get is nearing 800 Kbps.

So I would have to say it's an incompatibility with your network maybe
16th February 2012, 12:18 PM |#106  
vampirexhunter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Here are my settings that I've been getting 4MB DL/3MB Upload.

#Signal Boost
ro.ril.enable.dtm=1
ro.ril.gprsclass=10
ro.ril.hep=0
ro.ril.enable.3g.prefix=1
ro.ril.hsdpa.category=8
ro.ril.hsupa.category=6
ro.ril.enable.a53=1
ro.ril.hsxpa=2
net.dns1 8.8.8.8
net.dns2 8.8.4.4
16th February 2012, 03:31 PM |#107  
Account currently disabled
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 366
 
Donate to Me
More
Hello,

Just dropping by to let you know that you've been featured on the XDA Portal

http://www.xda-developers.com/androi...gnal-strength/


16th February 2012, 05:46 PM |#108  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
I have tried all kinds of combination of these so called signal boosting tweaks... they are absolutely of no value. My upload/download speeds stay pretty much the same.
16th February 2012, 07:05 PM |#109  
Senior Member
Flag Heredia
Thanks Meter: 1,051
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent5150

I have tried all kinds of combination of these so called signal boosting tweaks... they are absolutely of no value. My upload/download speeds stay pretty much the same.

1) they do NOT boost signal... it aids network data
2) don't say it doesn't work just because you don't note any differnce... for many of us these tweaks DO make a considerable difference
16th February 2012, 08:43 PM |#110  
vampirexhunter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent5150

I have tried all kinds of combination of these so called signal boosting tweaks... they are absolutely of no value. My upload/download speeds stay pretty much the same.

1. Carrier could be throttling your connection.
2. The settings you tried, don't really work with your carrier.
3. It won't boost the Network Speeds if your already at CAP.
4. There could be some throttling services/configs on your phone, entered by your carrier, preventing you from using full speeds.. (Like Rogers AT&T)
16th February 2012, 10:31 PM |#111  
borijess's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,470
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vampirexhunter

1. Carrier could be throttling your connection.
2. The settings you tried, don't really work with your carrier.
3. It won't boost the Network Speeds if your already at CAP.
4. There could be some throttling services/configs on your phone, entered by your carrier, preventing you from using full speeds.. (Like Rogers AT&T)

How do u where they aapply these configuration files to throttle u?

Sent from the SuperStreak! ;)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
signal, strength

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes