FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] Need help recovering my S3 -- TWRP ADB Sideload not working

263 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By corrosivefrost, Senior Member on 10th January 2014, 03:14 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
11th January 2014, 06:21 PM |#51  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimSnoopOS

Are you both on TWRP 2.6.3.1?

I am now. And it fixed my issues. It wasn't exactly broadcasted anywhere and the methods I was using to get my phone up to date with custom recovery and such put a max of TWRP 2.6.0.0 on my phone. I had to go find the VZW TWRP 2.6.3.1 and flash it with Odin to get passed the error.

Thanks to everyone in this thread (and the Gummy thread), my phone is recovered and running Gummy Nightly 1-6-14.

Thank you so much.
The Following User Says Thank You to corrosivefrost For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift corrosivefrost Ad-Free
 
 
11th January 2014, 07:13 PM |#52  
Member
Flag West Union
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimSnoopOS

Are you both on TWRP 2.6.3.1?

I have been. going to try 2.5 ...

EDIT: I'm not trying to flash 4.4 ... I'm trying to flash the last carbon nightly (4.3) or one of the latest PAC nighlies (also 4.3) coming off of 4.1.2 .. If I can't get rid of this TW i'm going to lose my mind.
11th January 2014, 11:38 PM |#53  
Member
Flag West Union
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
TWRP 2.5.x.x didn't work either.. I don't know what to do.
12th January 2014, 03:53 AM |#54  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,824
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjmcsw87

TWRP 2.5.x.x didn't work either.. I don't know what to do.

Hey, still have issue or it resolved??
12th January 2014, 04:29 AM |#55  
Member
Flag West Union
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr

Hey, still have issue or it resolved??

I just got MF1 firmware to flash.. Making a backup now of that.

Going to try to flash a rom next.

I had to change the update-binary in the zip and flash from internal storage. Ext. storage wouldn't work even with the update-binary change.
12th January 2014, 04:36 AM |#56  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,824
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjmcsw87

I just got MF1 firmware to flash.. Making a backup now of that.

Going to try to flash a rom next.

I had to change the update-binary in the zip and flash from internal storage. Ext. storage wouldn't work even with the update-binary change.

Make sure you do the unlock bootloader/root/cwm(twrp) first...
12th January 2014, 05:27 AM |#57  
Member
Flag West Union
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
it wasn't an Odin file, just the radio ( I think) 12MB or so zip

Can't flash a ROM still. I don't know what to do..

---------- Post added at 12:27 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:12 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr

Make sure you do the unlock bootloader/root/cwm(twrp) first...

Do you think I should do what the thread author had to do ? complete MF1 Odin file and then unlock/root/recovery ? I'm not so sure it would make any difference though.

I always get my fail when it's doing the symlinks..
I get -
"Creating Symlinks ..
set_perm: some changes failed
E:Error executing updater binary in zip '/xxxxxxxxx
Error flashing zip "


Now I just got a fail on restoring my MF1 backup
Failed at the data partition.
12th January 2014, 05:40 AM |#58  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,824
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjmcsw87

it wasn't an Odin file, just the radio ( I think) 12MB or so zip

Can't flash a ROM still. I don't know what to do..

---------- Post added at 12:27 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:12 AM ----------



Do you think I should do what the thread author had to do ? complete MF1 Odin file and then unlock/root/recovery ? I'm not so sure it would make any difference though.

I always get my fail when it's doing the symlinks..
I get -
"Creating Symlinks ..
set_perm: some changes failed
E:Error executing updater binary in zip '/xxxxxxxxx
Error flashing zip "


Now I just got a fail on restoring my MF1 backup
Failed at the data partition.

I haven't following your case from beginning, but is it possible to wipe everything and Odin from scratch??
12th January 2014, 05:50 AM |#59  
Member
Flag West Union
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr

I haven't following your case from beginning, but is it possible to wipe everything and Odin from scratch??

Not much to tell. I just keep getting that error when i try to flash ANYTHING.

On another note - Neither of my current backups (one from maybe a hour ago after I flashed MF1 rpm zip and one from two days ago) are working now at all. keep failing on restoring data..and I've restored the older one probably 15x in the past day and a half wiping and trying to install on different recoveries and versions of recoveries.
I WAS on hyperdrive rls16 4.1.2 trying to flash 4.3 carbon nightly or pac nightly.

I could download the MF1 Odin file and try it I suppose, it'll probably take hours to download my internet is crappy verizon mifi only picks up 3g

going to format /data and then try to restore again
12th January 2014, 06:01 AM |#60  
buhohitr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,824
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjmcsw87

Not much to tell. I just keep getting that error when i try to flash ANYTHING.

On another note - Neither of my current backups (one from maybe a hour ago after I flashed MF1 rpm zip and one from two days ago) are working now at all. keep failing on restoring data..and I've restored the older one probably 15x in the past day and a half wiping and trying to install on different recoveries and versions of recoveries.
I WAS on hyperdrive rls16 4.1.2 trying to flash 4.3 carbon nightly or pac nightly.

I could download the MF1 Odin file and try it I suppose, it'll probably take hours to download my internet is crappy verizon mifi only picks up 3g

going to format /data and then try to restore again

Oh, you're using hyperdrive...not good..OK, let start give this a try, you do have the latest twrp right? if you do let wipe cache/dalvik cache/data/system/ and format sd. then install carbon.
12th January 2014, 06:24 AM |#61  
Member
Flag West Union
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by buhohitr

Oh, you're using hyperdrive...not good..OK, let start give this a try, you do have the latest twrp right? if you do let wipe cache/dalvik cache/data/system/ and format sd. then install carbon.

yeah this rom is borked BAD. I had to dirty flash it over itself like 5x just to get it to work to begin with.
I am on the latest twrp.
format /data worked, and I have a OS again.

I have done a wipe of dalvik, system, data, internal storage, and cache + format /data and still get the errors.
I've done all the above probably 10-15 times in the last 48 hrs. the only progress I've made is I got the MF1 radio installed from internal sd after placing the newer version of update-binary in it, and re-zipping it.

I installed PhilZ recovery (latest version) the night before last and got errors from there on out. I've flashed back to twrp via recovery, odin, and goo.im since. (I tried a couple different versions between 2.5.x and now back to 2.6.3.1)

Edit: I've also put the newer update-binary in the carbon, pac, and gapps zips but still nothing. Tried flashing from internal and external.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes