FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

*TrackMe* GPS/CellID Tracking tool for Google Earth & Google Maps

2,560 posts
Thanks Meter: 129
 
Post Reply Email Thread
29th October 2007, 10:01 PM |#21  
_LEM_'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JorSlz

I installed it on my Wing, but it is not responding.

first error I got. unable to open port 4

I changed to port 1 and what I get is - waiting for gps respond.

not working for me.

Do I have to be outside the house for this or online?

If you get that is because you are not selecting the right port of your GPS.
Try to check what com port your GPS is using (maybe with other programs that you use for your GPS) and set that com port in TrackMe.


As soon as TrackMe gets an answer from the GPS, you should see a message saying 'Searching for satellites...'
You should get that message even if you are indoors.
 
 
29th October 2007, 11:06 PM |#22  
ghale's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag South Italy
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Unhappy
Mmmhh...
I tap on Start
Status is connected.
Satellistes: 08

But...
I see: No lat/long info: $GPGGA,220436.0

and similar.

What's wrong with my GPS?

I use other GPS software and all it's ok.

Someone can help me, please?

BTW: the application is very good!
29th October 2007, 11:18 PM |#23  
_LEM_'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghale

Mmmhh...
I tap on Start
Status is connected.
Satellistes: 08

But...
I see: No lat/long info: $GPGGA,220436.0

and similar.

What's wrong with my GPS?

I use other GPS software and all it's ok.

Someone can help me, please?

BTW: the application is very good!

ghale, could you please try the attached version?
I just made a change that will create 2 log files called gpsdata.dat and gpserror.dat as soon as you start getting data from the GPS.
(the files will be located in your Program Files\TrackMe folder on your PDA)

Please try the program until you start getting those errors for a while.
After that please post a message attaching the files.

That info will help me to debug why is not working on yours.

Thanks
Attached Files
File Type: cab TrackMe.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (167.8 KB, 258 views)
29th October 2007, 11:30 PM |#24  
ghale's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag South Italy
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Done.

Posted the two files.

I'll wait for a response.

Thanks,
ghale.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ghale.ZIP - [Click for QR Code] (3.5 KB, 136 views)
29th October 2007, 11:45 PM |#25  
_LEM_'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
Donate to Me
More
ghale,

Sorry to bother you again. Could you please download the previous attached file again? As soon as I uploaded it, I noticed that I forgot to include something and I uploaded again. However, it seems that you got the previous version.

Please try it again and if you can, send me also the file trackme.dat , just in case is a problem with the configuration values.

I think it will be easy to fix, as soon as I find out what is causing the problem.

If you want to, you can use my email: emluisREMOVETHIS@gmail.com

Thanks a lot!
29th October 2007, 11:50 PM |#26  
tariq_niazi's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, Pomoma
Thanks Meter: 0
 
Donate to Me
More
I run my own web server. Is it possible to have the kml sent to my webserver? If not, what do I need to make it happen?

- TKN
29th October 2007, 11:52 PM |#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Great software. Keep up the development.

Surur
29th October 2007, 11:57 PM |#28  
_LEM_'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 129
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tariq_niazi

I run my own web server. Is it possible to have the kml sent to my webserver? If not, what do I need to make it happen?

- TKN

It's the server the one that generates the KML file.

I will provide soon a version where you can upload the information to your own server and I will also include the php files that you need to copy to your server. (it should be very simple to setup)
30th October 2007, 12:01 AM |#29  
ghale's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag South Italy
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
I've sent the files to you gmail account.

Let me know, and thanks very much for a such application!
30th October 2007, 12:08 AM |#30  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Staryon,

Your program looks very promising!

Personally, all i would need your program to do is make an HTML call with the information in the URL. I could write my own script to receive the call and generate the KML file. Could you possibly allow a custom server configuration? I could take care of the rest i think.

Also... could you make a setting that tells the program to turn off the GPS between fixes? That way, i could set it to take a fix every hour or so, and it wouldn't drain my battery in between.

Thanks a lot!
30th October 2007, 12:14 AM |#31  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
How about just save the kml file off to the PDA, and/or allow e-mailing out? That way an external server is not needed.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cell id, gps, tracking

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes