FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Kernel] Flykernel-13 "Back from the Grave"

1,437 posts
Thanks Meter: 459
 
By erasmux, Retired Recognized Developer on 20th July 2010, 01:29 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
21st July 2010, 07:15 AM |#21  
erasmux's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 459
 
Donate to Me
More
The kernel itself should not be tied to a specific ROM, although I am not sure about taking it to Froyo. You can try to play with the files and see if you get it working. In any case I hope to have time soon to start looking at Froyo myself.
Regarding the modules, like I said I will take it under consideration for future releases and try to keep the modules that load with =y to a minimum.
I do think the frequency table should not be too large, I tried to include enough frequencies to suit everyone's needs but not too much.
Finally regarding the dalvik2sd, if it bothers you, use this update to disable it:
http://www.multiupload.com/TF7C3DLE38
 
 
21st July 2010, 03:44 PM |#22  
Senior Member
Flag Tallinn, Estonia
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
after ~ 24 hours of use ... wifi, gaming, playing with phone, mobile internet via 3G - still 72% of battery!!! nice !

Thanks! =)
21st July 2010, 06:18 PM |#23  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Just to confirm you flash this the same way as you flash a custom rom, etc..?? Sorry just a bit new to this flashing of custom roms!!
21st July 2010, 07:33 PM |#24  
erasmux's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 459
 
Donate to Me
More
You flash it over an existing working VillainROM 12, from the recovery just like you flash a custom ROM.
Note, that a nandroid backup is always recommend before such things.
21st July 2010, 09:44 PM |#25  
erasmux's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 459
 
Donate to Me
More
Added to main post the BFS kernel (which I am currently using), in case anyone wants to give it a try.
22nd July 2010, 01:17 PM |#26  
jelbo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 168
 
More
0.5 BFS is very unresponsive for me, back to 0.4 with the OC addon
7th August 2010, 03:36 PM |#27  
ravi84m's Avatar
Senior Member
Venlo
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
does the rtl fix improve rendering in browsers? or is it just a solution for the mentioned apps?
also can i flash it on other roms?
thanks in advance
8th August 2010, 12:40 AM |#28  
floomat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Good work erasmux battery life is superb!

but the first problem i have is that i can't use my previous settings for the frequency at 652/245 or 614/245
because your steps are too big: 576-691, but my device don't supports 691~ Mhz and it will freeze.

Is it possible to change the steps? like in the original villain12 kernel?

Greetings from Germany
8th August 2010, 01:36 AM |#29  
Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Bischheim
Thanks Meter: 883
 
Donate to Me
More
Hi, I flashed the kernel, but now it loops on bootlogo .. is this normal?
Should I have a ext partition on sd or not?
Thanks
8th August 2010, 12:26 PM |#30  
erasmux's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 459
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravi84m

does the rtl fix improve rendering in browsers? or is it just a solution for the mentioned apps?
also can i flash it on other roms?
thanks in advance

Actually, my RTL fix here is a bit outdated by now and does not support Arabic rendering. I have started looking into this and hopefully will post initial support for Arabic during the coming week.

Quote:
Originally Posted by floomat

Good work erasmux battery life is superb!

but the first problem i have is that i can't use my previous settings for the frequency at 652/245 or 614/245
because your steps are too big: 576-691, but my device don't supports 691~ Mhz and it will freeze.

Is it possible to change the steps? like in the original villain12 kernel?

Greetings from Germany

I was not aware that there are devices that did not support 691, I'll try to add 652 when I have time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flemmard

Hi, I flashed the kernel, but now it loops on bootlogo .. is this normal?
Should I have a ext partition on sd or not?
Thanks

A boot loop is definitively NOT normal. Can you provide me with a logcat (if possible run the logcat right before the phone boots) so I can try to understand what the problem is.
About the ext partition it's the same as VR12, if you want app2sd you need a ext partition.
8th August 2010, 12:37 PM |#31  
ExMM's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Japan
Thanks Meter: 93
 
More
Exclamation
"mainly neocore 31.5 FPS @ "

HOW!?!?!??! How can u get 31.5 Mflops with this kernel? I ALWAYS get the same, no matter what changes... 3.1/2.9...

How can I improve it?? T_T
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes