FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[GPS/AGPS] REAL solution analysis thread (Jupiter Tweaks) - v006! - Froyo JI6

659 posts
Thanks Meter: 897
 
By CLShortFuse, Retired Recognized Developer on 22nd September 2010, 03:14 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
15th February 2011, 01:52 AM |#561  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Read the changelog :P. Just use 6

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
 
 
15th February 2011, 02:01 PM |#562  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Do we have to install all 3 files after extracting from the zip? And if so how do we install them?
16th February 2011, 05:37 AM |#563  
lstat's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Branson, MO
Thanks Meter: 9
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DunDunDario

Do we have to install all 3 files after extracting from the zip? And if so how do we install them?

/system/etc/jupiter.xml
/system/etc/gps.conf
/data/gps/secgps.conf

Each file goes to its respective place as shown on the first post, just install them with ADB.

Using 6 I am getting worse results, im not picking up a single sat. in LBStestmode or in gps test. Would changing the modem help?
16th February 2011, 03:27 PM |#564  
betoNL's Avatar
Senior Member
Here, there, everywhere
Thanks Meter: 2,292
 
Donate to Me
More
Is OP still in the area?
16th February 2011, 03:29 PM |#565  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lstat

/system/etc/jupiter.xml
/system/etc/gps.conf
/data/gps/secgps.conf

Each file goes to its respective place as shown on the first post, just install them with ADB.

Using 6 I am getting worse results, im not picking up a single sat. in LBStestmode or in gps test. Would changing the modem help?

Same. But then I downloaded GPSRestore from the market and everything is working good now.
21st February 2011, 10:55 AM |#566  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Have you tried tracking? GPS Restore doesn't do much of anything for many phones

Sent from my GT-I9000 using XDA App
17th March 2011, 01:44 AM |#567  
Senior Member
Bergen County NJ
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
so i pushed two of the posted jupiter.xml files to my cappy running cognition and gps crashes every time it tries to get a fix.. that dreaded long vibrate and then two short vibrates..... cant seem to get it back. anyone know why? or anyone have a stock jupiter.xml file i can push back to get it to at least attempt a fix?

edit: i tried 006 and its working now. DOH! anyone still have a copy of that original? im an ass and didnt make backups of any of these files
17th March 2011, 02:16 AM |#568  
Senior Member
Flag Monterey, CA
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simbill

so i pushed two of the posted jupiter.xml files to my cappy running cognition and gps crashes every time it tries to get a fix.. that dreaded long vibrate and then two short vibrates..... cant seem to get it back. anyone know why? or anyone have a stock jupiter.xml file i can push back to get it to at least attempt a fix?

edit: i tried 006 and its working now. DOH! anyone still have a copy of that original? im an ass and didnt make backups of any of these files

Try plumbob gps fix. It replaces all the gps files.

Sent from my Nook Color (zoom2) using Tapatalk
17th March 2011, 02:18 AM |#569  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 194
 
More
Backup your apps then reflash cognition 4.11.

Quote:
Originally Posted by simbill

so i pushed two of the posted jupiter.xml files to my cappy running cognition and gps crashes every time it tries to get a fix.. that dreaded long vibrate and then two short vibrates..... cant seem to get it back. anyone know why? or anyone have a stock jupiter.xml file i can push back to get it to at least attempt a fix?

edit: i tried 006 and its working now. DOH! anyone still have a copy of that original? im an ass and didnt make backups of any of these files



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using XDA App
17th March 2011, 04:02 AM |#570  
Senior Member
Bergen County NJ
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Wow! All I can say is that my gps has never worked so well. Took a 20 mile trip with many winds and turns, half the trip using telenav (tmob apk) and the way back using Google nav. Kept me on the RIGHT road the entire time. Distances were measured accurately and turns depicted to what seemed to be accurate by the foot!

and as for the original files... after the test im confident i wont/dont ever need then again. but good point to backup and reflash.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes