FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[REF] Tutorial: How to partition sd card to run wp7 and android from same sd card

109 posts
Thanks Meter: 87
 
By darrengladysz, Senior Member on 14th January 2011, 10:22 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
15th January 2011, 05:39 PM |#21  
OP Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 87
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricola7

Sry, screw question 1. Just saw on the attached pic of yours that you have 3 partitions as well...

There are 2 partitions. The unformatted partition is a math error
 
 
15th January 2011, 05:45 PM |#22  
ricola7's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by darrengladysz

There are 2 partitions. The unformatted partition is a math error

Yeah, you are right ...I counted the unallocated part as a partition as well
15th January 2011, 06:55 PM |#23  
isaiah12345's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bloomfield, NJ
Thanks Meter: 310
 
Donate to Me
More
is the wp7 rom run from the rom or the partition on the sd? and is it possible to use the rom without an sd?
15th January 2011, 06:57 PM |#24  
tigerlocc's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Talking
Great tutorial darrengladysz, very thorough and concise!

I had a bit of a problem though with partitioning my main SanDisk 16GB card. For some reason Easeus Partition Master wouldn't allow me to resize/delete it. I did a little browsing and came across this solution which works perfectly.

"Steve wrote:
How do I delete a partiion on a micro SD card when it is plugged into an XP
machine on USB?

No way without 3rd party tools. Windows sees the card
reader as drive with a removable media and here partitioning
is not supported. If multiple partitions are present then
only the first one is mounted.

A complete erase of the card can be done by my DiskErase tool:

If you format it afterwards in a digicam, then you will
get one single partition. If you format it under XP then
you get a "super floppy" (no partition table).

Maybe the "EASEUS Partition Master" can deal with partitions
on removable drives (I've never tried):

Or turn the cardreader into a "fixed" drive, then partitioning
is supported by XP:

Uwe"

I downloaded the Disk Erase tool and set it to erase my 16 GB card though it did take a very long hour or two it did the job and removed the partition. Now I'm off to mess around with it!

P.S. Sorry I can't link the app because of the new user limitation. I tried attaching it to this post let's see if it works
Attached Files
File Type: zip diskerase.zip - [Click for QR Code] (22.3 KB, 187 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to tigerlocc For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tigerlocc Ad-Free
15th January 2011, 07:41 PM |#25  
Member
Flag TKO
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
I've success to load the WP7, but when I load the Android on SD card, the first Android screen is loaded, and then start to load the SD card, but then it freeze on this screen and I need to take out the battery to reset.
How can I successfully load my Android back????
15th January 2011, 08:24 PM |#26  
jcsy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Land of the Z1/EVO3D/GTAB10.1(2)
Thanks Meter: 960
 
Donate to Me
More
i think not all Android builds are supported... what build were you using ?
15th January 2011, 09:14 PM |#27  
nzxtneo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phoenix
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by newcountry

I've success to load the WP7, but when I load the Android on SD card, the first Android screen is loaded, and then start to load the SD card, but then it freeze on this screen and I need to take out the battery to reset.
How can I successfully load my Android back????


Quote:
Originally Posted by jcsy

i think not all Android builds are supported... what build were you using ?


I tried booting the NexusHD2-FRG83D V1.8 build and it froze on start up. I tried it about 5 times, so I guess that one doesn't work.

Damn...
15th January 2011, 09:22 PM |#28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by darrengladysz

If you have a small wp7 partition and transfer this to your larger sd card it should not affect anything as wp7 will boot from this partition and you will not need to reflash the wp7 rom.

If you have to re-create the partitions using the procedure above then yes, you will need to reflash wp7 and reconnect to live services as there is no know way to reduce and/or resize the wp7 sd partition.

BTW I have reconnected 4 times so far to live services and have had no problems.

Regards,

thanks for the reply, I think its an sd card issue, my card looks exactly like yours the only difference is the name of the card, which I assume doesn't make a difference

Thanks this is a great tutorial
15th January 2011, 10:26 PM |#29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Everything working fine on mine but when I open the camera is asking to insert a sd card anyone know what is going on I follow all the steps with formatting etc.
15th January 2011, 10:46 PM |#30  
Junior Member
Flag Mckinney, TX
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
My findings
I've since done this several times and have been trying to find different quicker ways (there doesn't seem to be one). Some notes.
1) You don't seem to be able to make any pre-partitioning schemes to the card pre wp7 install (tried ext2, 3, 4, exfat, etc) as it WILL be over-written.
2) You can't resize the WP7 partition after its been created, it changes the software raid FS that WP7 uses
3) This takes a VERY long time, please be patient.
4) I activated my live services AFTER I copied the file systems. I ended up creating a copy in VFS for backup once I was done. Hopefully this process will be easier in the future.

-Brooks
The Following User Says Thank You to rbrookstx For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift rbrookstx Ad-Free
16th January 2011, 12:46 AM |#31  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
So if I have 2 sd cards(one for android and other for WM7), how do I load my android OS from my android SD card within WM7 ?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
dual boot, wp7 and android

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes