FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
Honor 7x
Win an Honor 7X!

[Q] News and weather app (GenieWidget) stopped working?

111 posts
Thanks Meter: 16
 
By f308gt4, Senior Member on 24th October 2013, 11:01 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Has this app stopped working for anyone else here? I tried force closing, and clearing data. Also tried uninstalling and re installing the .apk.

Every time I try to launch it, I get a message that says "Unfortunately, News and Weather has stopped."

Haven't changed anything on the phone. It was working this morning, but when I tried it this afternoon, kept getting the error.


Thanks!
 
 
25th October 2013, 12:36 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
yeah, i think we are having the same problem here
25th October 2013, 12:53 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
News and Weather stops during startup
Quote:
Originally Posted by mofunzone

yeah, i think we are having the same problem here

Likewise here in New Zealand on a Note 3. Fine last night, no good today. Have uninstalled, rebooted, tried several different apks now out there (1.3.11 being the newest) - all the same result. I sincerely hope this is a temporary thing, I depend on that app and really dislike the less flexible and more data-hungry alternatives like NewsHog.
25th October 2013, 02:14 AM |#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
same here
exact same thing here. only "new" thing i could remember was a chrome update last night (could definitely be another thing.. jus sayin). now the news and weather app doesn't work just as you guys described. no amount of data clearing and reinstallation works on my ics. - vancouver
25th October 2013, 02:22 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by f308gt4

Has this app stopped working for anyone else here? I tried force closing, and clearing data. Also tried uninstalling and re installing the .apk.

Every time I try to launch it, I get a message that says "Unfortunately, News and Weather has stopped."

Haven't changed anything on the phone. It was working this morning, but when I tried it this afternoon, kept getting the error.


Thanks!

Having same difficulty here with an HTC One, Android version 4.3, HTC Sense 5.0, Software number 3.24.531.3, HTC SDK API level 5.45. Likewise, have tried Force Close, clearing Data, clearing Cache. Seems to work once phone is rebooted; text and the local wx/temp shows up. However, when I click on the Genie widget, I (1) first see a progress bar at the bottom of a plain black field, then (2) get the popup, "Unfortunately, News & Weather has stopped. (OK)."

Agreed, it's an invaluable app which came installed on my One. Please fix if possible. Thanks!
25th October 2013, 05:49 AM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PtelMeas

Having same difficulty here with an HTC One, Android version 4.3, HTC Sense 5.0, Software number 3.24.531.3, HTC SDK API level 5.45. Likewise, have tried Force Close, clearing Data, clearing Cache. Seems to work once phone is rebooted; text and the local wx/temp shows up. However, when I click on the Genie widget, I (1) first see a progress bar at the bottom of a plain black field, then (2) get the popup, "Unfortunately, News & Weather has stopped. (OK)."

Agreed, it's an invaluable app which came installed on my One. Please fix if possible. Thanks!

i think it has been fixed, at least on my nexus 4
25th October 2013, 06:39 AM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mofunzone

i think it has been fixed, at least on my nexus 4

Not for me. Seems like Chrome update last night broke something.
25th October 2013, 07:07 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
All good now
Quote:
Originally Posted by A4ko

Not for me. Seems like Chrome update last night broke something.

Fixed here also now.

I had no Chrome update yesterday that I recall, and updated nothing today except for reinstalls of this app. If you think Chrome was the issue, maybe try winding its version back in app manager?

But I'm guessing it was unrelated, and therefore hopefully your app will come right also in the near future.
25th October 2013, 04:47 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mofunzone

i think it has been fixed, at least on my nexus 4

Yes, it's working fine as of this morning's reboot. Temporary glitch, apparently. Maybe related to "Google's server down" issue? Whatever it was...it's good to go now. Thanks!
25th October 2013, 04:49 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Mine is working again today... Thanks!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes