[INFO] Palm Pre (Cards-Like) Thumbnails

Search This thread

dashed

Senior Member
Jun 4, 2008
145
0
This might be something totally different then what you guys are talking about, but back when Haykuro ported the magic to the G1, there was an option for a rotation animation that zoomed out and then focused back in. Almost like it was a thumbnail. IDK its probably totally different lol.
 

jroid

Senior Member
Jan 8, 2009
1,365
77
This might be something totally different then what you guys are talking about, but back when Haykuro ported the magic to the G1, there was an option for a rotation animation that zoomed out and then focused back in. Almost like it was a thumbnail. IDK its probably totally different lol.

those are the cupcake bouncy autp-rotate animations; they aren't thumbnails
 

kingklick

Senior Member
Jun 23, 2009
2,432
6
Hi all,

@ruqqq (aka arctu, author of HelixLauncher) tweeted me a whole bunch of stuff this afternoon, and to be honest, this is 99% his credit, I only changed the required line in framework to help him test, so I get 1% :p. Anyway, @ruqqq did some searching online, and the one of most importance was this:

http://www.mail-archive.com/android-developers@googlegroups.com/msg21135.html

After looking at the code, we simply uncommented the following line in ActivityThread.java:

Code:
//info.thumbnail = createThumbnailBitmap(r);

With it commented, it thumbnail will always be null, with it uncommented, well, we may be able to get actual thumbnails. @ruqqq then went on to write a quick (and ugly :p) app to find out if thumbnails of running apps can be retrieved, and the result is, yes, it can be retrieved. The screenshot I posted only shows 2 apps cause of the lack of ScrollView, but I believe he's writing a better proof-of-concept as we speak, while I'm rushing to go out once I end this post (else the girlfriend's fury :p).

Screenshot: http://twitpic.com/1w1p6t
New Screenshot (Still ugly :p): http://twitpic.com/1w1v6k

So what's the point of this post? Nothing, really. It's just that the commented line has apparently been in there as early as 1.5, but it was always commented out. We removed the comment, and it actually does return thumbnails. With this, it means that if future ROMs are compiled with that line uncommented, it will be possible to actually write apps to emulate/simulate the cards system, possibly even on a system level (by overriding the recent applications dialog).

That's all :).

@ruqqq's concept app source: http://github.com/ruqqq/ActivityThumbnailPrototype-Application
framework source: Come on, it's just a line :p.


haha man that is sweet!


so simple yet such a great find

sweet stuff Wysie
 

innisdb

Senior Member
Jan 13, 2010
172
8
now what we need is this combined with Quickdesk to create a palm pre like multitasking app. if we can create thumbnails it should be simple to implement it to create a multi tasking app
 

Waza_Be

Inactive Recognized Developer
Jul 22, 2009
822
234
The "awesome dude" waw, i deserve all that?? are you sure?

Thanks!

I will implement that in TaskOS as soon as I will be able to test on the first ROM that will enable that feature. I have subscription for this thread, don't worry johnnie93!
 
Last edited:

Wysie

Senior Member
Jul 4, 2009
1,122
6
I'll upload an update.zip that replaces the framework.jar for CM5.0.8 in a while :).

Update.zip (Flash in recovery, over existing CM5.0.8) for CM5.0.8: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/263378/androidstuff/CM5.0.8_Framework_Thumbnail_Update.zip

Note: The update.zip simply contains a framework.jar that has the line uncommented. It is mostly for developing applications only :). profete162 and other devs: Do msg me on Twitter @Wysie_Soh if you need anything else :).
 
Last edited:

Afirejar

Senior Member
Aug 19, 2009
89
0
1. higher resolution + optimization (perhaps: a bit sensitive issue)

Can't see, how this is a perhaps - as they are now, the thumbnails are aweful and almost unusable. No wonder, they were commented out in the first place. ;)
I'm really looking forward to someone developing this further, though.
 

Wysie

Senior Member
Jul 4, 2009
1,122
6
profete162: Yup it should work. Do a Nandroid first just in case. One thing tho, his one is test7, not sure if it's based off the latest source.
 

danielj58

Member
Mar 25, 2009
15
1
Hartlepool
Don't know how much help this might be, but on the Acer Liquid (at least in the initial donut roms), the default task manager only showed open app, and instead of an icon it showed the last screen the user saw.

watch?v=mlbynhj-0Zg#t=1m59s
 

Waza_Be

Inactive Recognized Developer
Jul 22, 2009
822
234
Any news?

I have now installed CyanogenMod 6 (Froyo) on my Desire and really would like to use the screenshot feature.

Can you make an update.zip file, so I will be able to test?

I have no knowledge in creating ROM files or compiling CM6

Thank a lot.