FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

An interesting observation - SE using cat-string theory as its main business practice

396 posts
Thanks Meter: 6

By Nocturnal310, Senior Member on 18th January 2011, 02:15 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
i am a business management student...so i thought of sharing my perspective over how Sony Ericsson is playing the smartphone game...

by exagerrating a lot before the product launch ...and after the launch..giving small doses of updates so customers dont change phone in the hope of getting new features.

think of it..

they build great hype for a product months before the launch by strong advertising (probably spending more on ads than R&D itself) , promising a revolutionary interface with ground breaking custom interfaces....X panels for X1 (remember?) and timescape/mediascape (biggest garbage) for X10 ..both over-ambitious

just so they can differentiate from other companies..

ya they have great product design.. which initially attracts impulse buyers...they build anticipation...so we cant wait to get our hands on their phone!

and then they finally launch the product which will NEVER have the latest updates because their entire focus was on marketing the product i.e bringing it to market before competition and capturing market share.

they never really focussed on industry shaking R&D like Apple..c'mon without Apple, touchscreen was a dead market.

and without Android...Apple had a monopoly.

This is revolution....not timescape or mediascape..which are my least favourite apps...battery sucking with extremely slow response rates.

then they ll keep launching small small updates over couple of months...more like over a year...adding little features..so we dont change brand loyalty....giving the wounded customers a faint vision of hope...

finally they release a small update and the entire community goes 'wow' with excitement...like a virgin getting his first blowjob.