FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA
Honor View 10
Post Reply Email Thread
Ok, we have numerous reports of GPS not holding lock after upgrading to Honeycomb.

This thread is for the purpose of identifying the resolution to this issue.

To begin with I'll start with asking for details from those of you who are encountering the issue and also those who are not.

What I want to know is, what software you were running and also exactly how you got to that version. For example ist is not sufficient to say you did my S-OFF upgrade, I also need to know the device (wifi or 3g) and version of the upgrade you used and whether you switched from a different version of the software to your current version.

For example, something like this:

Not Working: US Wifi Flyer, S-OFF, originally upgraded with the WIFI package built from 3.55.405.1 3G package, re-flashed with the US wifi OTA.

Casual observation seems indicate that it is all or mostly Wifi flyers that are affected.
7th January 2012, 01:53 AM |#2  
Kudzus's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 92
 
More
Had trouble with my US Wifi Flyer, S-OFF, originally upgraded with the WIFI package built from 3.55.405.1. Updated that to us OTA package and still had trouble.

Started all over downgraded to GB then went straight to Globatron’s latest (the big file)
Working now
The Following User Says Thank You to Kudzus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Kudzus Ad-Free
7th January 2012, 01:56 AM |#3  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag All over the place
Thanks Meter: 2,064
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kudzus

Had trouble with my US Wifi Flyer, S-OFF, originally upgraded with the WIFI package built from 3.55.405.1. Updated that to us OTA package and still had trouble.

Started all over downgraded to GB then went straight to Globatron’s latest (the big file)
Working now

Thanks, this is consistent with my working assumption which is that it affects WIFI flyers that were flashed with the 3g ROM.
7th January 2012, 05:34 AM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I have the US wifi flyer. S-Off, installed the 3.55.405.1 3G package followed by Leedroid rom. GPS was no good. Went back to the 3.55.405.1 3G package (from nandroid backup) and GPS no good.

Then installed the US WiFi rom. GPS is fine. Installed Leedroid and GPS is still fine.
The Following User Says Thank You to timropp For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift timropp Ad-Free
7th January 2012, 09:20 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
hi globaltron,
US BB Wifi Flyer, S-OFF, originally upgraded with the HC WIFI package built from previous RUU_flyer_wifi_B10.zip, then installed LeeDrOiD HC V2.1.0 but GPS satellite lock wont stay on (dropping signal), tried all agps patches no go. Finally flashed new RUU_flyer_wifi_BBUS.B10.zip (2x) just to make sure over leedroid rom still the same results.
7th January 2012, 10:04 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
GPS Dropping
DEVICE: UK WIFI FLYER, 16GB

NOT WORKING: S-OFF, 3.55.401 - roms tried: LeeDroid, WestFire, Globatron's B09 (originally upgraded with the WIFI package built from 3.55.405.1 3G package)

NOT WORKING: S-OFF, 3.55.1114.31 - roms tried: HoneyPot, Globatron's B10

WORKING: S-ON, OTA 3.55.1114.31 (updated from Stock GB)


Also, worth noting that I (may) have experienced bluetooth problems. I use a OBD2 bluetooth adapter with my car and Torque App was having none of it with HC custom roms (including B09/B10). Basically, it connects to the OBD2 adapter, but but never negotiates the protocol. Works fine with GB and HC OTA. I could be alone on this since I don't trust the OBD2 adapter.

Navigation apps I use: CoPilot 8 & 9, Google Maps.
8th January 2012, 04:55 AM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
[QUOTE
WORKING: S-ON, OTA 3.55.1114.31 (updated from Stock GB)[/QUOTE]

so, with S-ON no GPS issues good to know. I have been trying to find a fix with no avail. I'm S-OFF US HC wifi rom.
8th January 2012, 04:56 AM |#8  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag All over the place
Thanks Meter: 2,064
 
Donate to Me
More
no, it's not hboot.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to globatron For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift globatron Ad-Free
8th January 2012, 05:25 PM |#9  
DigitalMD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Washington DC
Thanks Meter: 643
 
More
My observations using the GPS Status app.
DEVICE: US BB WIFI FLYER, 16GB

Working: GB stock rooted & GB Leedroid

NOT WORKING: S-OFF, 3.55.1114.31 All configurations below
1. Globatron's B09 (originally upgraded with the WIFI package built from 3.55.405.1 3G package).
2. Globatron's B10 Cross-grade from Globatron's B09 Wifi
3. Globatron's B10 full clean install of US Wifi RUU over Globatron's B09 Wifi .

Not tested : HC OTA update from GB

Setup: Turn off screen timeout. Open GPS status or another app that uses GPS that shows you status constantly.

Symptoms to watch for:
GPS turns on and locks quite fast, first time will stay locked for 30 - 60 secs. Then it loses lock and starts searching, Acquires lock again in a few seconds, then loses lock again after about 10 sec. repeats the loss of lock from this point acquiring and then losing lock every few seconds.

Tried clearing AGPS data and re-downloading, no help.
8th January 2012, 11:14 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 154
 
More
NOT WORKING:
1.Lee Droid
2. Globatron's B10 full clean install of US Wifi RUU over Lee Droid.

Not tested : HC OTA update from GB

Setup: Drive around with Flyer. It loses GPS consistantly every 1-2 minutes.

Symptoms to watch for:
GPS turns on and locks quite fast, first time will stay locked for 30 - 60 secs. Then it loses lock and starts searching, Acquires lock again in a few seconds, then loses lock again after about 10 sec. repeats the loss of lock from this point acquiring and then losing lock every few seconds.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes