Windows Phone "Jailbreak App Store"

Search This thread

lovenokia

Sep 1, 2011
I am trying to see if anybody in this thread would like to start developing a beginning to a Windows Phone "Jailbreak App store" meaning that the whole cummunity of homebrew apps could all be in one place. As I am aware to jailbreak ios and install "Cydia" you must hold the power and home button in a certain order. Since all Windows phones have the power button, unlock, and volume I think that this could work if a similar process like what is done in ios will be done with windows phone since they are both closed source operating systems. I am not a developer I truely dont know all the details of how something like this could work. I am asking if the whole Windows phone cummunity could work together and get this going.

Thanks

Last edited:

dstyl

Apr 24, 2010
Heilbronn
Maybe XDA-DEV could manage the server so it would grow fastly if every dev who post his app in the thread automaticly to the appstore but only final realeases or only apps who cant brick the device. Cool idea but to let a server work cost money and who pays it ?

lovenokia

Sep 1, 2011
Maybe XDA-DEV could manage the server so it would grow fastly if every dev who post his app in the thread automaticly to the appstore but only final realeases or only apps who cant brick the device. Cool idea but to let a server work cost money and who pays it ?

The whole Windows Phone cummunity could pay for the servers together. Maybe there could be some awesome paid homebrew apps in there that could supply money for the server.

shawchyn

Mar 20, 2008
Kuala Lumpur
I don't support the "crack paid apps" either.

My ideas for these "alternative marketplace" is for those developers/hobbies to make their apps and allow others to use it.

I don't mind the "homebrew" apps is chargable, coz if you look at some apps in Cydia, it also have some apps which chargable due to that app is rejected by Apple.