FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[ROM] Native Ubuntu on the Epic!

150 posts
Thanks Meter: 209
 
By DrGit, Senior Member on 6th April 2012, 05:48 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
12th April 2012, 06:11 AM |#41  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 209
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sterfreak

sudo cp /usr/bin/qemu-arm-static /media/linux/usr/bin

Do "sudo apt-get install qemu-arm-static".

Quote:
Originally Posted by sterfreak

sudo tar xvf /path/to/modules.txz -C /media/linux/lib/modules

You don't need these, the WiFi driver doesn't work anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sterfreak

Also, when making the linux partition, should it be a primary or extended partition?

I usually do primary, but I don't think it will have trouble if it's extended. Don't quote me on that, though, I haven't tried it. As long as it's the second partition (and not FAT) it should work.
The Following User Says Thank You to DrGit For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift DrGit Ad-Free
 
 
12th April 2012, 01:35 PM |#42  
Member
Flag Silverado
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Alright, thanks. Will try it when I get home. Appreciate the help.
12th April 2012, 03:11 PM |#43  
Recognized Developer
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 2,804
 
Donate to Me
More
A couple other steps I had to take during setup, not sure if anyone else will need this:

During step 2, I modified the apt sources.list before entering chroot, but also ran these commands to allow for apt updates to work
Code:
$ sudo mount -o bind /proc /media/linux/proc
$ sudo mount -o bind /dev /media/linux/dev
$ sudo mount -o bind /dev/pts /media/linux/dev/pts
$ sudo mount -o bind /sys /media/linux/sys
$ sudo cp /etc/resolv.conf /media/linux/etc/resolv.conf
$ sudo chroot /media/linux
Substitute for your mount point, and maybe only the resolv.conf file is needed, but either way, it worked. I'm still working on my setup, but at least I can install packages, and it boots.
12th April 2012, 10:37 PM |#44  
Member
Flag Silverado
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbelos

A couple other steps I had to take during setup, not sure if anyone else will need this:

During step 2, I modified the apt sources.list before entering chroot, but also ran these commands to allow for apt updates to work

Code:
$ sudo mount -o bind /proc /media/linux/proc
$ sudo mount -o bind /dev /media/linux/dev
$ sudo mount -o bind /dev/pts /media/linux/dev/pts
$ sudo mount -o bind /sys /media/linux/sys
$ sudo cp /etc/resolv.conf /media/linux/etc/resolv.conf
$ sudo chroot /media/linux
Substitute for your mount point, and maybe only the resolv.conf file is needed, but either way, it worked. I'm still working on my setup, but at least I can install packages, and it boots.

This should be added to the instructions. Hard to add packages without this step.
13th April 2012, 08:48 PM |#45  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 209
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sterfreak

This should be added to the instructions. Hard to add packages without this step.

You only need to mount the target filesystem with "dev" permissions (mount -o remount,dev /media/linux) to add packages.
Bind mounting shouldn't be necessary - in fact, it's a security risk, as it exposes your host devices to the chroot.

Instead of using your host system's resolv.conf, you can use Google's public DNS server, which I find faster and more convenient:
Code:
echo "nameserver 8.8.8.8" |sudo tee /media/linux/etc/resolv.conf
The Following User Says Thank You to DrGit For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift DrGit Ad-Free
14th April 2012, 01:44 AM |#46  
Senior Member
Flag /home/kp
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
Keep up the great work!!
14th April 2012, 04:09 AM |#47  
Senior Member
Flag Galaxy S, quadrant 2
Thanks Meter: 120
 
More
ugh why can't i thank you more than once?
15th April 2012, 06:06 AM |#48  
Senior Member
O 'Fallon, MO
Thanks Meter: 408
 
More
Could we boot this from a loopback file system, instead of having to partition the sd card?
15th April 2012, 06:59 AM |#49  
thomasskull666's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St. Louis
Thanks Meter: 415
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ugothakd

Could we boot this from a loopback file system, instead of having to partition the sd card?

Interesting idea, I'm curious also

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
15th April 2012, 09:26 AM |#50  
Senior Member
O 'Fallon, MO
Thanks Meter: 408
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasskull666

Interesting idea, I'm curious also

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium

The rootfs is specified in the config file is mmcblkp0, so I think changing that line to a rootfs container (loopback thingamajig) and compiling might work?
15th April 2012, 10:51 AM |#51  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
i know we aren't supposed to ask these questions, but how is it looking for modem drivers? It would be kinda fun to use something like this as a daily. We could have unlimited UI possibilities.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
boot, kernel, linux, rom, ubuntu

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes