FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[APP][Root][OFFICIAL] AdAway v4.3.2 :: [2019-12-29]

602 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,231
 
Post Reply Email Thread
20th February 2018, 05:05 PM |#10481  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmom

@Windoors, have you double checked that the sources are updating correctly. Used DNS logging?


"Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment." - Will Rogers

I was doing it, saw a youtube video with ads and it listed some ad sites in log. What does that supposed to mean?

Also, when adaway enabled, the google/youtube ads show, but if i click on the ads, the link to the ad site seems blocked. So adaway is blocking access to ad sites but allowing the ads to be shown on other sites.
20th February 2018, 06:10 PM |#10482  
ktmom's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 2,664
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Windoors

I was doing it, saw a youtube video with ads and it listed some ad sites in log. What does that supposed to mean?

Also, when adaway enabled, the google/youtube ads show, but if i click on the ads, the link to the ad site seems blocked. So adaway is blocking access to ad sites but allowing the ads to be shown on other sites.

The ads that are displayed are either coming from a different host, or being called via an ip address which bypasses the host file redirect. Anything that shows up in dns logging, that isn't already in the host source or blacklist probably should be added. The call will still show up in the logging, just whether it is blocked is determined if the host file contains a redirect for the url.

"Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment." - Will Rogers
20th February 2018, 07:03 PM |#10483  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 569
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC_Ohr

For me the version from op is working with oreo and magisk. You have to activate Systemless host in magisk settings and then install adaway host file.

Which version? Dev Build-Feb.08.2017 or v3.2?
20th February 2018, 07:15 PM |#10484  
PerfectSlayer's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5,231
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirxdroid

Any updates please on an official build for Oreo and Magisk? Can we please have a dev build posted in the OP for those who don't know how to build from source? Thanks!

Yes there is update. I have created milestones and spent hours to merge PR to finish the 3.3 version.
I'm still waiting for the German translation by @Vankog (I think I'll drop es and ru translations for a 3.4 version).
But I still failed to run built binaries:
Code:
02-20 17:51:54.415  5010  5010 F libc    : Fatal signal 4 (SIGILL), code 1, fault addr 0xb6f78102 in tid 5010 (libtcpdump_exec)
02-20 17:51:54.416   183   183 W         : debuggerd: handling request: pid=5010 uid=0 gid=0 tid=5010
02-20 17:51:54.421  5011  5011 F DEBUG   : *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** *** ***
02-20 17:51:54.421  5011  5011 F DEBUG   : LineageOS Version: '14.1-20170817-NIGHTLY-mako'
02-20 17:51:54.421  5011  5011 F DEBUG   : Build fingerprint: 'google/occam/mako:5.1.1/LMY48M/2167285:user/release-keys'
02-20 17:51:54.421  5011  5011 F DEBUG   : Revision: '0'
02-20 17:51:54.421  5011  5011 F DEBUG   : ABI: 'arm'
02-20 17:51:54.421  5011  5011 F DEBUG   : pid: 5010, tid: 5010, name: libtcpdump_exec  >>> /data/app/org.adaway-1/lib/arm/libtcpdump_exec.so <<<
02-20 17:51:54.422  5011  5011 F DEBUG   : signal 4 (SIGILL), code 1 (ILL_ILLOPC), fault addr 0xb6f78102
02-20 17:51:54.422  5011  5011 F DEBUG   :     r0 00000010  r1 0000007b  r2 0000007b  r3 00000000
02-20 17:51:54.422  5011  5011 F DEBUG   :     r4 b6b8e378  r5 b6f78092  r6 ffffffff  r7 bec4676f
02-20 17:51:54.422  5011  5011 F DEBUG   :     r8 00000000  r9 00000000  sl 00000000  fp bec4799c
02-20 17:51:54.422  5011  5011 F DEBUG   :     ip 00000000  sp bec465b8  lr b6f77e35  pc b6f78102  cpsr 00070030
As you could see, I got illegal opcode running tcpdump… If anyone has a clue to fix it, hit me! (I tried to build under Linux and Windows with the same result.)

About the 4.x.y version, I upgraded the whole build tools and process and I do not have this issue but I don't want to backport it to the 3.x branch (otherwise, it will be a nightmare to merge my hundred of commits).
And Oreo support will be shipped with the new UI and a lot of improvements in the 4.x.y version.
The Following 25 Users Say Thank You to PerfectSlayer For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift PerfectSlayer Ad-Free
20th February 2018, 07:24 PM |#10485  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 115
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirxdroid

Which version? Dev Build-Feb.08.2017 or v3.2?

3.2

Gesendet von meinem HTC U11 life mit Tapatalk
21st February 2018, 10:12 AM |#10486  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Hello, I'm using a third-party Twitter app (Talon), where pictures and videos aren't loading. In the official Twitter app everything is fine. Does anyone know, what I have to whitelist to make it work again? Thanks for your help!
21st February 2018, 12:21 PM |#10487  
AndroidHtc101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 127
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsquare

Hello, I'm using a third-party Twitter app (Talon), where pictures and videos aren't loading. In the official Twitter app everything is fine. Does anyone know, what I have to whitelist to make it work again? Thanks for your help!


You should disable adaway. And enable "Log Dns Requests" in adaway settings. Make sure. You close all apps apart from the twitter app. Then look at the Dns log and enable all in whitelist. It's trial and error in most cases.
Make sure you then enable adaway so new hosts with your new whitelists enabled. Then reboot.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AndroidHtc101 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift AndroidHtc101 Ad-Free
21st February 2018, 02:07 PM |#10488  
vikasb32's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag Hardwar
Thanks Meter: 2,026
 
Donate to Me
More
How to blocks ads from textra?
21st February 2018, 02:16 PM |#10489  
androcraze's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,634
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vikasb32

How to blocks ads from textra?

Some Android applications bypass the /system/etc/hosts file, calling the server IP address directly through the app; AdAway can't block ads unless the website is named in the hosts file, and the hosts file doesn't support IP addresses.

Try the following steps:
- See if the app is listed in the AdAway Wiki Problematic Apps page.
- Perform a search of the AdAway XDA thread and see if someone had a similar issue.
- Run DNS Logging from within AdAway (perform a search for "dns logging" in the XDA thread if you can't figure it out).

If all of the above steps fail to work:
- There may be an Xposed or Magisk module that may do the trick.
- Find an alternate, free (or better yet, open source) app that performs the same function.
- Pay the developer to make the ads go away.
- Live with the ads.

EDIT: https://plus.google.com/+MoezBhatti/posts/LWYZfxKJzwU
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to androcraze For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift androcraze Ad-Free
21st February 2018, 02:45 PM |#10490  
jcsww's Avatar
Senior Member
Toronto, Ontario, Canada/Hampton, Virginia, USA
Thanks Meter: 1,076
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vikasb32

How to blocks ads from textra?

Try Message+ by Verizon. Yes, it works with all carriers.
21st February 2018, 03:13 PM |#10491  
AndroidHtc101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 127
 
More
With ANY app. Run "Log Dns Requests. Open the app you want to block ads in, using the app for a few minutes.
Then look into the dns log and you can add to whitelist or blacklist offended ad urls.(then apply adaway again must reboot)

It's trial and error and might take a few moments but it's worth it. Log Dns Requests is one of the best features of Adaway
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ad block, adaway, adblock, adblocker, source

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes