[A700] EasyRoot 2.0

Search This thread

benjieb

Senior Member
Sep 24, 2008
305
69
Paris
Oh and by the way, which of the two kernel file should I flash ?

Patched stock or IconiaN ?

actually what is the difference between the two ?
 

Fooox1

Senior Member
Aug 28, 2006
566
254
If you have a DE, at least for me the case, then take the Stock, if you have the UK version, the Iconian.
Background are different builds.
The Iconian has increased, the RV10, the Stock, the RV09.
 
Last edited:

Fooox1

Senior Member
Aug 28, 2006
566
254
No, the version. DE was only one example. So you should know what you have for a Rom on it.
 

Vorbeth

Senior Member
Mar 10, 2006
2,180
2,355
Does not matter what version you use.
One is patched RV10 stock kernel.
Other is compiled from acer source code.
Only difference so far is compiled does not have HSF+ and apparently runs @ 1.4GHz.
I've not tested CPU speed.

For what it matters they are region free, stock RV09 & RV10 use exactly the same kernel.
Compiled from source has no region either.

Sent from my EndeavorU using xda app-developers app
 
Last edited:

chemcup

Senior Member
Jun 6, 2012
203
78
I'm sure it is a coincidence, but as soon as I finished, my external SD card became unreadable/unmountable. Trying it in my PC and it says it needs to be formatted. All my data was lost. (Well...Maybe...I'm trying some recovery stuff before I give up and reformat).
the same here. Can’t format using the table or my handy even the computer could not format it using 3 different program (EASEUS Partition SDFormatter and Paragon) it was not possible to format the sd. The computer see it as 32 mb but can’t format ( I had 64 GB SanDisk)
 
Last edited:

TomONeill

Senior Member
Dec 4, 2008
236
64
Unrooting the tablet

I really like the new way!
I hope there's going to be a way just like this to unroot the tablet.

Wouldn't this do the trick?:

Code:
@echo off
cls
echo Make sure USB debugging is enabled on your Tablet
pause
cls
echo Rebooting to bootloader
adb reboot bootloader
echo Flashing original boot.img (using A700 JB Full ROM AV051_1.028.00_EMEA_DE RV09RC02)
fastboot flash boot boot.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot
cls
echo Allow your tablet to reboot into android and
echo make sure USB debugging is still enabled
pause
cls
echo Unrooting...
adb remount
adb shell rm /system/xbin/su
adb shell rm /system/app/Superuser.apk
adb shell rm /system/xbin/busybox
adb push install-recovery.sh /system/etc/
cls
echo Removing busybox
adb shell rm /system/xbin/busybox
cls
echo Rebooting to bootloader
adb reboot bootloader
echo Flashing recovery.img
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot
cls
echo Done...
echo Your A700 will be fully unrooted after it has booted
pause

Using the boot.img and install-recovery.sh from A700 JB Full ROM AV051_1.028.00_EMEA_DE RV09RC02.zip.
Don't know where the recovery.img comes from.. ?
I don't know/think it removes busybox completely with this. Is /system/bin/ really using busybox?

!!!!!This is just a theory and should not be used for real. I don't have actual knowledge of the above code. !!!!!
!!!!I hope that someone with actual knowledge of the above code can confirm something like this working.!!!!
 

Vorbeth

Senior Member
Mar 10, 2006
2,180
2,355
I really like the new way!
I hope there's going to be a way just like this to unroot the tablet.

Wouldn't this do the trick?:

Code:
@echo off
cls
echo Make sure USB debugging is enabled on your Tablet
pause
cls
echo Rebooting to bootloader
adb reboot bootloader
echo Flashing original boot.img (using A700 JB Full ROM AV051_1.028.00_EMEA_DE RV09RC02)
fastboot flash boot boot.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot
cls
echo Allow your tablet to reboot into android and
echo make sure USB debugging is still enabled
pause
cls
echo Unrooting...
adb remount
adb shell rm /system/xbin/su
adb shell rm /system/app/Superuser.apk
adb shell rm /system/xbin/busybox
adb push install-recovery.sh /system/etc/
cls
echo Removing busybox
adb shell rm /system/xbin/busybox
cls
echo Rebooting to bootloader
adb reboot bootloader
echo Flashing recovery.img
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot
cls
echo Done...
echo Your A700 will be fully unrooted after it has booted
pause

Using the boot.img and install-recovery.sh from A700 JB Full ROM AV051_1.028.00_EMEA_DE RV09RC02.zip.
Don't know where the recovery.img comes from.. ?
I don't know/think it removes busybox completely with this. Is /system/bin/ really using busybox?

!!!!!This is just a theory and should not be used for real. I don't have actual knowledge of the above code. !!!!!
!!!!I hope that someone with actual knowledge of the above code can confirm something like this working.!!!!

I was planning on doing something like that in the next day or two
 
  • Like
Reactions: TomONeill

TomONeill

Senior Member
Dec 4, 2008
236
64
Don't know where the recovery.img comes from.. ?

Maybe using the way MD described?:
adb shell dd if=/dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/SOS of=/sdcard/stock-recovery.img
adb pull /sdcard/stock-recovery.img
adb shell rm /sdcard/stock-recovery.img
But then instead of pulling it, flashing it.
Code:
adb shell dd if=/dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/SOS of=/sdcard/recovery.img
fastboot flash recovery /sdcard/recovery.img
fastboot erase cache
adb shell rm /sdcard/recovery.img
fastboot reboot

I was planning on doing something like that in the next day or two
You're the best. Can't thank you enough!!
 

Moscow Desire

Retired Senior Moderator
Maybe using the way MD described?:

But then instead of pulling it, flashing it.
Code:
adb shell dd if=/dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/SOS of=/sdcard/recovery.img
fastboot flash recovery /sdcard/recovery.img
fastboot erase cache
adb shell rm /sdcard/recovery.img
fastboot reboot


You're the best. Can't thank you enough!!

The funny thing, is that we (vorbeth and I) both work together on things ;)

Sorta the way things should be done ;)

And yeah, he's pretty darn good......

MD
 

Vorbeth

Senior Member
Mar 10, 2006
2,180
2,355
Maybe using the way MD described?:

But then instead of pulling it, flashing it.
Code:
adb shell dd if=/dev/block/platform/sdhci-tegra.3/by-name/SOS of=/sdcard/recovery.img
fastboot flash recovery /sdcard/recovery.img
fastboot erase cache
adb shell rm /sdcard/recovery.img
fastboot reboot


You're the best. Can't thank you enough!!
That would not work for restoring.
Your backing up CWM and Then re-flashing it
fastboot flash recovery /sdcard/recovery.img < will not work as the recovery is still on your device
 

TomONeill

Senior Member
Dec 4, 2008
236
64
The funny thing, is that we (vorbeth and I) both work together on things ;)

Sorta the way things should be done ;)

And yeah, he's pretty darn good......

MD

That's so awesome.

That would not work for restoring.
Your backing up CWM and Then re-flashing it

Just thinking with ya, mate.
Okay, so that wouldn't work. I don't know else where the recovery.img comes from.

fastboot flash recovery /sdcard/recovery.img < will not work as the recovery is still on your device
I thought about that, but that means that we do have to pull it first to flash it next.
 

Vorbeth

Senior Member
Mar 10, 2006
2,180
2,355
You asked, and it's now in the OP

EasyRoot 2.0 - Also removes root.
That does include the 600+ symlinks created by busybox :angel:

Also restores stock boot.img and recovery.img
 

TomONeill

Senior Member
Dec 4, 2008
236
64
Wait, this installs the latest cwm? Is it also possible to install it without it?
Is it possible to lock the bootloader again (with the fastbook oem lock command) after removing root?
 

Vorbeth

Senior Member
Mar 10, 2006
2,180
2,355
Wait, this installs the latest cwm? Is it also possible to install it without it?
Is it possible to lock the bootloader again (with the fastbook oem lock command) after removing root?

I'll make CWM an option.
As for locking the bootloader, no it is not possible. I've tried, keeps telling me the system.img is not valid.
Maybe if we could flash back the original ICS rom the device shipped with then we could, as I don't have a copy of that or can find one online I guess I'll never know
 

meier2009

Senior Member
Jan 13, 2012
130
28
nice work, should work for all dummies if drivers are correct installed ;)

for 4.0.4 boot img, ill send you one, i think it was the one but not sure
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 17
    *** CAUTION ***
    *** FOR A700 ONLY ***
    *** FLASH AT YOUR OWN RISK ***

    I've been getting back into the swing of thing's and decided to upload these insecure boot images for you all
    The boot ramdisk is based on the EMEA.GB Jelly Bean ROM but should work for all A700's

    About EasyRoot:
    • Patched Based on latest RV10RC01.EMEA.GB
    • Fully insecure boot.img
    • Full ADB access to /system
    • Installs latest cwm
    • Installs su and busybox
    • Can also be used to FULLY remove root (Does not relock bootloader)

    You need:
    • Acer Iconia Tab A700 with an unlocked bootloader & already be running Jelly Bean

    How to use:
    • Download zip and extract it on your computer
    • Run the included easyroot.bat
    • Follow onscreen intructions

    Download:

    Thanks to:
    • Moscow Desire
    • pawitp
    • chainfire
    • plus all those who helped to crack open the A700
    9
    I'm new to this and wanted to download easyroot 2.0 and it is giving me a Not found 404 error. Can someone please upload it again.

    Thanks

    Here you go:
    http://www50.zippyshare.com/v/73471463/file.html

    Edit April 2018:
    Link's broken. I don't have the file anymore so can't reshare. So sorry!
    2
    Hi,


    this seem very attravtive, thanks for putting this together. I have a few questions for you. Bearing in mind that I start from a 100% stock JB A700:

    - Will any of the install steps wipe data / settings on my system ?
    - Will it prevent futur OTAs ?
    - Is there there a way to go back to stock if we do this ?


    thanks for your help!

    I think I can answer.
    1. Shouldn't effect current install. It's a boot.img only and CWM if you don't have it.
    2. Yes. Unlocked bootloaders and rooting will make future OTA's inoperable. You will get a message stating "unfortunately you can not receive OTA. Please contact Acer". or something like that.
    3. There's always a way to go back to stock. Typically it involves installing a stock rom, which of course will clean all your user data and such.

    MD
    2
    I think I can answer.
    1. Shouldn't effect current install. It's a boot.img only and CWM if you don't have it.
    2. Yes. Unlocked bootloaders and rooting will make future OTA's inoperable. You will get a message stating "unfortunately you can not receive OTA. Please contact Acer". or something like that.
    3. There's always a way to go back to stock. Typically it involves installing a stock rom, which of course will clean all your user data and such.

    MD

    Spot on,
    Why go back to stock? Any ota ill be repacking so it can be flashed via cwm

    Sent from my EndeavorU using xda app-developers app
    2
    If my bootloader is already unlocked and I have a previous Recovery on the tablet, do I still need to install CWM BEFORE I boot to Recovery adn install the boot.zip file?

    Depends on your version of the ""previous recovery"". Seems there are many in the past 3 months. Some of them. were "brick-makers".

    Generally, you are safe to "install zip only".

    MD