FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[GUIDE] Return your European M8 to 100% Stock - S-OFF REQUIRED

15,283 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,042
 
By EddyOS, Senior Member on 29th April 2014, 12:20 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
30th April 2014, 07:51 PM |#21  
BerndM14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 562
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by The1nonly1

Im guessing that once your back at stock you'll get OTA updates?

Of course yes! Though I don't think you'll be denied OTAs if you at least have a stock ROM and stock recovery with S-OFF Don't quote me on it though lol
The Following User Says Thank You to BerndM14 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift BerndM14 Ad-Free
 
 
30th April 2014, 07:52 PM |#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM14

Of course yes! Though I don't think you'll be denied OTAs if you at least have a stock ROM and stock recovery with S-OFF Don't quote me on it though lol

Ok. So stock recovery is required for OTA as well?
30th April 2014, 08:05 PM |#23  
BerndM14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 562
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by The1nonly1

Ok. So stock recovery is required for OTA as well?

As I understand it yes, perhaps @EddyOS could help more on that or correct me if I'm wrong on it. Though that's how I understand it

Then perform a nandroid backup, this will backup also the stock HTC recovery that is needed in combination with the stock nandroid backup to be able to recieve official HTC OTA's

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2701376

Mr Hofs Collection of stock backups etc It's stated as above in the first post.
The Following User Says Thank You to BerndM14 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift BerndM14 Ad-Free
30th April 2014, 09:48 PM |#24  
EddyOS's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 4,042
 
More
You will need to have the stock recovery for OTA updates, but flashing the FW package restores the stock recovery so you're good to go

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to EddyOS For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift EddyOS Ad-Free
17th May 2014, 10:29 AM |#25  
b0gd4n's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

I thought I'd write this guide after doing it myself and with the lack of RUUs it may be of use to others...

This covers returning an unbranded, European One M8_UL to stock, running 1.54.401.5. It does NOT cover returning carrier-branded handsets back to stock, nor other country unbranded variants - only the EU model. It also doesn't cover adb/fastboot as you should really already know what you're doing with that if you're running a custom ROM.

Although I run 100% stock these days I wanted to be S-OFF so had to use the following to get back to 100% stock but keep S-OFF for future freedom

This guide will assume that you're using CID HTC__001 (which is my CID) because you need to reflash the FW but if you were already running on 1.54.401.5 BEFORE flashing a new ROM then it can be skipped so if you're S-ON you can still use this guide - just not the parts about resetting the unlocked/tamper flags. It also assumes you already have the latest TWRP recovery on your phone. I did this using 2.7.0.2 available here.

Other CIDs that will work are:

HTC__102
HTC__203
HTC__E11
HTC__405
HTC__Y13
HTC__304
HTC__A07
HTC__032
HTC__J15
HTC__016
HTC__M27
HTC__K18
HTC__A48
HTC__002

So lets begin...

1. Restore the phone back to stock

I used the odexed package provided by @mike1986., which is available to download here

Once downloaded, copy the file to your phone and flash as you would any other custom ROM in TWRP. Once complete, reboot the phone but when TWRP asks if you want to root it, select 'No'

2. Install SuperSU

To reset the 'unlocked' and 'tamper' flags, you need SU permissions so using the SuperSU package is ideal for this. Download it from here and flash it via recovery. Once installed, reboot the phone

3. Reset the 'tamper' flag (REQUIRES S-OFF)

To reset the tamper flag, follow this guide (thanks to @scotty1223)

4. Reset the 'unlocked' flag (REQUIRES S-OFF)

To reset the unlocked flag, follow this guide (again, thanks to @scotty1223)

5. Flash stock FW package

Now your phone is back to 100% stock, we need to get the stock recovery back on the phone. To do this, you have to flash the 1.54.401.5 FW package from here (again, thanks to @mike1986.). To flash this file, do the following:

a. Reboot phone into fastboot
b. Copy the FW file to your fastboot folder on your PC (if you don't have fastboot in your system path)
c. Rename the FW file firmware.zip (NOT firmware.zip.zip)
d. Type: fastboot oem rebootRUU and wait for device to reboot
e. Type: fastboot flash zip firmware.zip and wait for process to complete. Although you don't have to do this twice as you used to do with RUU ZIPs, it's STRONGLY recommended that you run this command a second time after the first has finished to make sure it 'takes' properly
f. Type: fastboot reboot

The phone will now reboot

6. Remove SuperSU

So, your phone should now be back to 100%, locked and have the stock recovery but you still have the SuperSU app in the app drawer. To remove this, open the app and go into the app settings and uninstall it. Once it's removed, reboot the phone to complete the process

7. All done!

Voila, you are now back to 100% stock but still S-OFF so you have the option in future to do anything you want!

Hey there.

I want to return my M8 to warranty repairs and therefore have to return to stock.

I have CID H3G_001, root, unlocked, and S-OFF.

I have found the stock H3G__001 nandroid backup and I understand that I have to flash that and so on.

What I do not understand is related to the S-OFF flag. Do I HAVE to make the phone S_ON to get warranty repair?
What happens if I make the phone S-ON? Am I not able to make it S-OFF again?

Thanks!
17th May 2014, 12:15 PM |#26  
EddyOS's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 4,042
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0gd4n

Hey there.

I want to return my M8 to warranty repairs and therefore have to return to stock.

I have CID H3G_001, root, unlocked, and S-OFF.

I have found the stock H3G__001 nandroid backup and I understand that I have to flash that and so on.

What I do not understand is related to the S-OFF flag. Do I HAVE to make the phone S_ON to get warranty repair?
What happens if I make the phone S-ON? Am I not able to make it S-OFF again?

Thanks!

You can leave it S-OFF, they don't seem to care/check it anyway!
17th May 2014, 01:06 PM |#27  
b0gd4n's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

You can leave it S-OFF, they don't seem to care/check it anyway!

ok, but if they were to check and it would be S-OFF, would it mean that the warranty would be void?

Also, what happens if I S-ON before sending? Does it mean that I cannot S-OFF again?
17th May 2014, 06:10 PM |#28  
EddyOS's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 4,042
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0gd4n

ok, but if they were to check and it would be S-OFF, would it mean that the warranty would be void?

Also, what happens if I S-ON before sending? Does it mean that I cannot S-OFF again?

1. Some phones go out S-OFF so they shouldn't care
2. If you got S-OFF once you should be able to get it again. As you don't have an unbranded phone this guide doesn't fully apply as the firmware isn't for your device. I'd use the backup available and then flash the stock recovery, lock the bootloader and remove tampered if you need to but otherwise leave it S-OFF
The Following User Says Thank You to EddyOS For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift EddyOS Ad-Free
17th May 2014, 07:22 PM |#29  
Senior Member
Flag Springfield, OH
Thanks Meter: 889
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0gd4n

Hey there.

I want to return my M8 to warranty repairs and therefore have to return to stock.

I have CID H3G_001, root, unlocked, and S-OFF.

I have found the stock H3G__001 nandroid backup and I understand that I have to flash that and so on.

What I do not understand is related to the S-OFF flag. Do I HAVE to make the phone S_ON to get warranty repair?
What happens if I make the phone S-ON? Am I not able to make it S-OFF again?

Thanks!







Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

You can leave it S-OFF, they don't seem to care/check it anyway!







Quote:
Originally Posted by b0gd4n

ok, but if they were to check and it would be S-OFF, would it mean that the warranty would be void?

Also, what happens if I S-ON before sending? Does it mean that I cannot S-OFF again?







Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

1. Some phones go out S-OFF so they shouldn't care
2. If you got S-OFF once you should be able to get it again. As you don't have an unbranded phone this guide doesn't fully apply as the firmware isn't for your device. I'd use the backup available and then flash the stock recovery, lock the bootloader and remove tampered if you need to but otherwise leave it S-OFF

I have some first hand knowledge on this. You should most certainly go back to s-on. I had some dead pixels and called HTC. They offered to replace my phone. I had to pay $19 for shipping both ways through HTC. I had to send my phone to them, then they would inspect it and send me a new phone. I returned to stock except I left it s-off. Well.... After they received my phone, I got an email saying in order for them to go on I would have to pay $140. To make a long story short, it was because of s-off. I did get them to replace it for free, but it took much lying and arguing.

Now... The problem is, getting s-on is not the easy. Well, it's easy to do... But it doesn't work every time from what I'm getting. So, try to go back to s-on if you can.

Sent from my One using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to housry23 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift housry23 Ad-Free
17th May 2014, 11:02 PM |#30  
Senior Member
Flag Zurich (Switzerland)
Thanks Meter: 47
 
More
Can you please elaborate (or link some topics) why it doesn't always work? This is the first time I hear this.

Thanks.
18th May 2014, 09:10 AM |#31  
Senior Member
Flag Springfield, OH
Thanks Meter: 889
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black Antitoon

Can you please elaborate (or link some topics) why it doesn't always work? This is the first time I hear this.

Thanks.

Well I read it somewhere that the fastboot oem writesecureflag 3 is hit or miss. It may or may not work. I haven't tried and I haven't gotten my m8 back yet to test it. It's just not guaranteed to work. That's all I know. I don't remember where I read it. Might have been m7 forums.

Sent from my One using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to housry23 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift housry23 Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes