FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] Froyo App2sd not reliable?

504 posts
Thanks Meter: 44
 
By Kashban, Senior Member on 16th December 2010, 07:28 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hey!

I had some apps moved to the internal storage using the stock app2sd feature of Froyo... only to discover that some of them got lost after one or more reboots.

Data is still there but the apps are not installed anymore. Only way to recover them is to reinstall them from the market.

Anybody else facing this issue?

Cheers,
Kashban
 
 
16th December 2010, 08:14 AM |#2  
cajl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag near PARIS (94)
Thanks Meter: 167
 
Donate to Me
More
for move the apk on internal memory
see applications
not all applications will be moved
16th December 2010, 09:19 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kashban

Hey!

I had some apps moved to the internal storage using the stock app2sd feature of Froyo... only to discover that some of them got lost after one or more reboots.

Data is still there but the apps are not installed anymore. Only way to recover them is to reinstall them from the market.

Anybody else facing this issue?

Cheers,
Kashban

got the same problem, app keep disappear here and there. Now i decided to use the system memory only coz sooner or later the app will gone if i move it to SD or internal memory.

Not sure it is the firmware problem or froyo problem.
16th December 2010, 10:51 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 139
 
More
FW Problem.
Will be gone soon.
The Following User Says Thank You to fzelle For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift fzelle Ad-Free
16th December 2010, 12:32 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fzelle

FW Problem.
Will be gone soon.

Do we have another archos employee here?

How soon is soon, if I may ask, Sir?

16th December 2010, 01:22 PM |#6  
cajl's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag near PARIS (94)
Thanks Meter: 167
 
Donate to Me
More
no archos employees
just beta tester
The Following User Says Thank You to cajl For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift cajl Ad-Free
16th December 2010, 01:31 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cajl

no archos employees
just beta tester

means that you are testing a new beta, correct? Any improvements on wlan?

Thanks
16th December 2010, 02:57 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I don't have these problems on A70, running 2.0.54.
But I don't have a ton of apps :P

Also, I've managed to fix WiFi problem on encrypted network.
Switch to AES (from TKIP), WPA2-PSK, channel 1, fixed IP (before was assigned via DHCP).
29th December 2010, 03:24 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
am I doing something wrong cause when I seem to use app2sd to move to internal storage it moves to the 8GB storage and not the 32 GB microSD card I have installed. what am I doing wrong?

I also had the problem with apps having issues, but I uninstalled app2sd and reinstalled and it seemed to fix the issue (the manual update cratered)
29th December 2010, 06:05 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 139
 
More
You are doing nothing wrong.

App2SD as Archos hasimplemented it uses the internal SD.
You can't change this.
The Following User Says Thank You to fzelle For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift fzelle Ad-Free
29th December 2010, 06:46 PM |#11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fzelle

You are doing nothing wrong.

App2SD as Archos hasimplemented it uses the internal SD.
You can't change this.

so then the microsd card is just for my music and movie files?
can I even save ebooks(kindle, nook,google, aldilko) to the card or is that also just limited to the internal storage?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes