[Q] Bricked a500- stuck on boot menu.

Search This thread

boxyJ

Mar 29, 2013
Yes I am a noob, but a noob in need of help.
I recently decided to root my Acer Iconia a500 16gb WIFI version, running on stock ICS. I realised i had to unlock my bootloader to install CWM etc. So I followed a tutorial, and used blackthund3rs A500 APX Flash Utility v0.4. I used the flash package "Skrilax_CZ's bootloader V8".

So I thought all was going well, however when rebooting it, it just sits on "Skrilax_CZ's bootloader V8: Booting primary kernel image". I'm assuming its bricked, as it doesn't go beyond this point. I can get a few other options by doing the "PWR+VOL" combination and it opens boot-menu mode with the options:
-Reboot
-Fastboot Mode
-Boot Primary Kernel Image
-Boot Secondary Kernel Image
-Boot Recovery
-Set Boot secondary Kernel Image
-Set debug mode off/on
-Wipe Cache
The only option that does the slytest thing is putting it in fastboot mode. When putting it in this mode, it registers in "A500MANAGER" (when connected to my pc via USB) as the device being in fastboot mode. But I dont know what to do from there.
I've looked at multiple threads and cant find anything to fix this problem.
Please Help! Thanks!

Moscow Desire

Retired Senior Moderator
I recently decided to root my Acer Iconia a500 16gb WIFI version, running on stock ICS. I realised i had to unlock my bootloader to install CWM etc. So I followed a tutorial, and used blackthund3rs A500 APX Flash Utility v0.4. I used the flash package "Skrilax_CZ's bootloader V8".

So I thought all was going well, however when rebooting it, it just sits on "Skrilax_CZ's bootloader V8: Booting primary kernel image". I'm assuming its bricked, as it doesn't go beyond this point. I can get a few other options by doing the "PWR+VOL" combination and it opens boot-menu mode with the options:
-Reboot
-Fastboot Mode
-Boot Recovery
-Set debug mode off/on
-Wipe Cache