Handover - Seamlessly move tasks from phone to PC!

What's your OS

  • Windows

    Votes: 71 81.6%
  • Mac OSX

    Votes: 9 10.3%
  • Linux

    Votes: 7 8.0%
  • ChromeOS

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    87
Search This thread

hamzahrmalik

Senior Member
May 31, 2013
1,658
2,020

Handover

YouTube demo : https://youtu.be/D2yYvg1UIx0

Handover lets you seamlessly move from your phone to your PC by letting you open whatever content is on your phone in one click
With the Chrome Extension, you can also move from PC back to your phone in one tap
In most apps, you can use the share menu and select "Handover"
Some apps will support Handover Tapless. These apps can push content without your interaction

Requirements
Windows PC or Mac with 10.9 or later and Android phone (experimental support for Linux)
Both in same LAN (network, can't work over internet (yet!))
Java 8 or later on PC

Tapless Supported Apps
https://handover.hamzahrmalik.com/#tapless
Please email developers and ask them to add support then this can take off
Note that rooted phones can use this mod to add support to Chrome, Youtube and any app with an embedded web view
Also note non-supported apps can still use Handover via the Share menu

Planned Features
OSX Support (only if I get enough people interested in it, leave a post if you are) this has been added!
Indicator on phone to show when connected
Let me know if you have any ideas

How to get Handover
You need to download the app to your phone from Play Store or APK
Then download the PC server from http://handover.hamzahrmalik.com
Windows: Run the installation on your PC and start the service
Mac: Open the downloaded .dmg file and drag the Handover folder into Applications. Then launch Handover Settings from Launchpad
Linux: Run the java file to start the server. To launch content from the phone, use the bash script

Changelog
Version 2.0 - 24/4/16
Initial Release​
 
Last edited:

hamzahrmalik

Senior Member
May 31, 2013
1,658
2,020
Information for developers

If you want to integrate Handover with your app, here's how

What does integrating Handover Tapless do
Integrating allows users of your app to click a button on their PC which will launch whatever content is on your app. It works best with websites, eg if your app is a browser, a forum, or some web based content

How to do it
Simply send a broadcast of the URL for the content whenever the content changes like so:
Code:
 // Create Intent
Intent i = new Intent("com.hamzahrmalik.handover.android.SEND");
// Put the data in using the tag
i.putExtra("**URL**=", "http://example.com");
// Send broadcast
sendBroadcast(i);

Sample app
Here's a sample app on Github
Also see my commit for adding the feature to Lightning browser: https://github.com/hamzahrmalik/Lightning-Browser/commit/cf629947922f867e3124921ef0dd3e711aca03c7
 
Last edited:

Xkirnel99

Senior Member
Feb 11, 2015
599
162
rabat
I will install the Xposed module, and thanks for that amazing app i was search for a long time ago

Sent from my GT-I8190 using Tapatalk
 

FingerBlastJ

Senior Member
Jul 25, 2010
448
28
NY
need help

doesnt work on my mac. i put in the correct ip address on the mac and clicked the handover icon of the app in the applications folder. i visited youtube on the mac while watching youtube on my android and no handover. here is a screenshot of my imac specs, maybe its the os im running.
 

hamzahrmalik

Senior Member
May 31, 2013
1,658
2,020
doesnt work on my mac. i put in the correct ip address on the mac and clicked the handover icon of the app in the applications folder. i visited youtube on the mac while watching youtube on my android and no handover. here is a screenshot of my imac specs, maybe its the os im running.
I think you've misunderstood how the app works
You go on a video on tour Mac and then use the Share menu on you phone and select "Handover". The video will automatically then open on your Mac

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
 

Whitest

Senior Member
Oct 6, 2011
143
60
Tried to use the debugger on Mac and Handover Settings App crashes sadly. Log:

Code:
Process:               Handover Settings [1330]
Path:                  /Applications/Handover/Handover Settings.app/Contents/MacOS/Handover Settings
Identifier:            com.hamzahrmalik.handover.settings
Version:               2.0 (1)
Code Type:             X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process:        ??? [1]
Responsible:           Handover Settings [1330]
User ID:               501

Date/Time:             2016-04-27 11:17:28.879 -0300
OS Version:            Mac OS X 10.11.4 (15E65)
Report Version:        11
Anonymous UUID:        71C2DFEC-8632-7A2C-B7E1-DE1D757FE32A

Sleep/Wake UUID:       F55C77B5-05B9-4E76-B811-900C3C2C858B

Time Awake Since Boot: 9100 seconds
Time Since Wake:       4000 seconds

System Integrity Protection: disabled

Crashed Thread:        0  Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type:        EXC_BAD_INSTRUCTION (SIGILL)
Exception Codes:       0x0000000000000001, 0x0000000000000000
Exception Note:        EXC_CORPSE_NOTIFY

Application Specific Information:
Performing @selector(enableDebug:) from sender NSMenuItem 0x7fb500c455d0
fatal error: 'try!' expression unexpectedly raised an error: Error Domain=NSCocoaErrorDomain Code=4 "“handover-debug.jar” couldn’t be removed." UserInfo={NSFilePath=/Users/Teutone/handover-debug.jar, NSUserStringVariant=(
    Remove
), NSUnderlyingError=0x7fb500df6170 {Error Domain=NSPOSIXErrorDomain Code=2 "No such file or directory"}}: file /Library/Caches/com.apple.xbs/Sources/swiftlang/swiftlang-703.0.18.1/src/swift/stdlib/public/core/ErrorType.swift, line 54

Really love the App though - working flawlessly apart from that. Had to add the IP manually in the Android App
 
Last edited:
May 21, 2016
7
0
What router settings could cause Handover to not work?

EDIT: Nevermind. It worked after a minute. Still would be useful information.
 
Last edited:

CrazyCypher

Senior Member
Oct 19, 2010
2,061
452
Samsung Galaxy Watch 4
Hello, I bought your app so I can send files, but how can I send .apk from my PC to my phone? I am using PRO version and chrome extension on PC is grayed out so I cannot click "options".
Please help, I only bought this so I can use to send files... Other things already work :)

Thank you for the answer, I appreciate it.
 

hamzahrmalik

Senior Member
May 31, 2013
1,658
2,020
Hello, I bought your app so I can send files, but how can I send .apk from my PC to my phone? I am using PRO version and chrome extension on PC is grayed out so I cannot click "options".
Please help, I only bought this so I can use to send files... Other things already work :)

Thank you for the answer, I appreciate it.
Use the "share" menu from your phone and then share to the "Handover" app
The file should open on your computer

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
 

hamzahrmalik

Senior Member
May 31, 2013
1,658
2,020
Thank you for quick answer :) Why do I need chrome extension? I can send website from PC to my phone without chrome extension (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqo5G8ICZcw -> This is working without chrome extension) . What is use of chrome extension? :)
Chrome extension is from PC to phone
Without it you can do phone to PC
It will still seem to work without the extension but if you change the page on the PC after removing extension it won't work anymore

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
 
  • Like
Reactions: CrazyCypher

Artieza

Senior Member
Mar 17, 2016
467
173
LG G8
LG V60 ThinQ
Helpful thing. It would be great if support of Firefox will come. Also for a some reason I can't get a clipboard data when press the link on PC. I receive last viewed WebView. Is it intended?
 

Ts_sT

Senior Member
Oct 9, 2014
80
23
Stuttgart
this might sound like a stupid question, but seriously: how do i remove handover from my computer again?
dont get me wrong, actually i really like the app, but currently it is installed on my work computer for testing and now i want to switch the install to my private computer.... but i cant find a way to remove it somehow?! :D
 

hamzahrmalik

Senior Member
May 31, 2013
1,658
2,020
this might sound like a stupid question, but seriously: how do i remove handover from my computer again?
dont get me wrong, actually i really like the app, but currently it is installed on my work computer for testing and now i want to switch the install to my private computer.... but i cant find a way to remove it somehow?! :D
Yes I still haven't made an uninstaller. Tonight maybe. Meanwhile just go to C://program files and delete the handover folder. Or it may be in C://program files x86

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 8

    Handover

    YouTube demo : https://youtu.be/D2yYvg1UIx0

    Handover lets you seamlessly move from your phone to your PC by letting you open whatever content is on your phone in one click
    With the Chrome Extension, you can also move from PC back to your phone in one tap
    In most apps, you can use the share menu and select "Handover"
    Some apps will support Handover Tapless. These apps can push content without your interaction

    Requirements
    Windows PC or Mac with 10.9 or later and Android phone (experimental support for Linux)
    Both in same LAN (network, can't work over internet (yet!))
    Java 8 or later on PC

    Tapless Supported Apps
    https://handover.hamzahrmalik.com/#tapless
    Please email developers and ask them to add support then this can take off
    Note that rooted phones can use this mod to add support to Chrome, Youtube and any app with an embedded web view
    Also note non-supported apps can still use Handover via the Share menu

    Planned Features
    OSX Support (only if I get enough people interested in it, leave a post if you are) this has been added!
    Indicator on phone to show when connected
    Let me know if you have any ideas

    How to get Handover
    You need to download the app to your phone from Play Store or APK
    Then download the PC server from http://handover.hamzahrmalik.com
    Windows: Run the installation on your PC and start the service
    Mac: Open the downloaded .dmg file and drag the Handover folder into Applications. Then launch Handover Settings from Launchpad
    Linux: Run the java file to start the server. To launch content from the phone, use the bash script

    Changelog
    Version 2.0 - 24/4/16
    Initial Release​
    2
    Information for developers

    If you want to integrate Handover with your app, here's how

    What does integrating Handover Tapless do
    Integrating allows users of your app to click a button on their PC which will launch whatever content is on your app. It works best with websites, eg if your app is a browser, a forum, or some web based content

    How to do it
    Simply send a broadcast of the URL for the content whenever the content changes like so:
    Code:
     // Create Intent
    Intent i = new Intent("com.hamzahrmalik.handover.android.SEND");
    // Put the data in using the tag
    i.putExtra("**URL**=", "http://example.com");
    // Send broadcast
    sendBroadcast(i);

    Sample app
    Here's a sample app on Github
    Also see my commit for adding the feature to Lightning browser: https://github.com/hamzahrmalik/Lightning-Browser/commit/cf629947922f867e3124921ef0dd3e711aca03c7
    1
    Handover 3 is now out along with a chrome extension allowing you to Handover from PC to phone
    Demo: https://youtu.be/lqo5G8ICZcw
    1
    Thank you for quick answer :) Why do I need chrome extension? I can send website from PC to my phone without chrome extension (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqo5G8ICZcw -> This is working without chrome extension) . What is use of chrome extension? :)
    Chrome extension is from PC to phone
    Without it you can do phone to PC
    It will still seem to work without the extension but if you change the page on the PC after removing extension it won't work anymore

    Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk
    1
    Wow, your module fills up an Xposed error log.
    Yeah I'll fix that

    Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk