FORUMS

[APP][Root][OFFICIAL] AdAway v4.3.2 :: [2019-12-29]

604 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,267
 
Post Reply Email Thread
8th May 2018, 01:21 AM |#11001  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 2,438
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torngarsak

Is anybody else having issues blocking YouTube adds when accessing via chrome? Used to be blocked but I've been getting adds lately - I'm blocking adds everywhere else (see - XDA site) so I'm a bit perplexed if I have a setting wrong somewhere

AdAway does not specifically block YouTube Ads.
The Following User Says Thank You to DiamondJohn For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift DiamondJohn Ad-Free
8th May 2018, 01:51 AM |#11002  
ktmom's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Deep Space Station K7
Thanks Meter: 3,210
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torngarsak

Is anybody else having issues blocking YouTube adds when accessing via chrome? Used to be blocked but I've been getting adds lately - I'm blocking adds everywhere else (see - XDA site) so I'm a bit perplexed if I have a setting wrong somewhere

I would try using Firefox with the Ublock origin add on and see if they are blocked. Google (chrome) has a vested interest in forcing the ads.

You could also see if DNS Logging gives you anything to block when using chrome.

"Good judgment comes from experience, and a lot of that comes from bad judgment." - Will Rogers
The Following User Says Thank You to ktmom For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift ktmom Ad-Free
8th May 2018, 02:28 AM |#11003  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 2,438
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Torngarsak

Is anybody else having issues blocking YouTube adds when accessing via chrome? Used to be blocked but I've been getting adds lately - I'm blocking adds everywhere else (see - XDA site) so I'm a bit perplexed if I have a setting wrong somewhere

Quote:
Originally Posted by DiamondJohn

AdAway does not specifically block YouTube Ads.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktmom

I would try using Firefox with the Ublock origin add on and see if they are blocked. Google (chrome) has a vested interest in forcing the ads.

You could also see if DNS Logging gives you anything to block when using chrome.

I don't think DNS logging will help. I believe that YouTube (ie google) push the pre-video ads from the same servers the video is pushed from. So blocking one will also block the other. I personally use NewPipe to access youtube video's without the ads, but that wont help your in-browser ads (ie within chrome); ie the actual question.

To block within a browser, I think something like the above may be your only route. I am a little surprised that I can block youtube ads with a chrome extension on my desktop and there isn't something similar for the mobile chrome.
The Following User Says Thank You to DiamondJohn For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift DiamondJohn Ad-Free
8th May 2018, 05:09 AM |#11004  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Oh Wow, TIL. I guess I'll go ahead and give Firefox another try since chrome moved away from the address bar at the bottom setup anyway.
8th May 2018, 07:05 AM |#11005  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Hi,
is it always required to reboot phone after updating hosts file?
Thanks
8th May 2018, 07:11 AM |#11006  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorog

Hi,
is it always required to reboot phone after updating hosts file?
Thanks

Yes it is . As then only the new hosts files can merge properly with existing and update the hosts files

So for its proper working yes need to re boot or else it will stop working and you will start seeing ads.
The Following User Says Thank You to Aghoraswami For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Aghoraswami Ad-Free
8th May 2018, 07:24 AM |#11007  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiamondJohn

AdAway should work on both Mobile and WiFi. Unless you have an issue as described by @ktmom

As for how well it worked previously as compared to now, its an "arms race" to block ads, in that the advertisers are probably wiser and more pro-active to the ad blockers, and work harder to defeat them; eg change their hosts more often. I noticed ads slipping through, so I expanded my host sources from the default handful to 30 host sources. My main problem is that I may of gone too far, and am blocking most of the images on a lot of web sites.

I checked the host files content and it is ok.
(Filled when enabled and empty when not)
And I am talking about after my OS upgrade so from one day to another I got still lots of ads with Adaway so can't be anything with "arms race"
Could be though I added extra sources to host previously but can't remember now which
8th May 2018, 07:43 AM |#11008  
Recognized Contributor
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 2,438
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TaranQ

I got still lots of ads with Adaway so can't be anything with "arms race"

That's exactly what I would expect. Have you got it on an auto update? some ads will slip through as the ad-servers (ie hosts) are changed intra-day. ie the "arms-race"

If you see an add on a web page, re-download your host list and reboot (I personally don't need a reboot to see the effects, your phone may act differently differently), then go back to the web page to see if that has cleared the ads.
8th May 2018, 09:01 AM |#11009  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,498
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lorog

Hi,
is it always required to reboot phone after updating hosts file?
Thanks

No. It depends on phone and Android version but with most current setups it's actually not required. You will probably have to restart the browser etc.
The Following User Says Thank You to jcmm11 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jcmm11 Ad-Free
8th May 2018, 10:02 AM |#11010  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 81
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiamondJohn

That's exactly what I would expect. Have you got it on an auto update? some ads will slip through as the ad-servers (ie hosts) are changed intra-day. ie the "arms-race"

If you see an add on a web page, re-download your host list and reboot (I personally don't need a reboot to see the effects, your phone may act differently differently), then go back to the web page to see if that has cleared the ads.

Here too works without reboot. But what I wanted to say that it went from absolutely NO ads whatsoever in MM to lots of ads under Oreo overnight. It struck me as I thought installing Adaway would help me get rid of the ads all the way with no special user intervention like it did under MM. (Btw I had no special user added host entries).
I don't have it set to auto update but i tried updating (and rebooting) when I noticed the ads but it didn't do the trick.
8th May 2018, 10:25 AM |#11011  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,498
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by guest4711

This should be ok in systemless mode, but not with standard solutions like LOS-su-addon. (And yes, on some older devices like my i9100 magisk will never be available.)

I've been thinking about this.
AdAway already has to know where the different systemless root solutions store their copies of the hosts file.
There's nothing to prevent AdAway from implementing it's own systemless hosts solution for those root solutions that aren't designed to work as systemless.
Store a copy of the hosts file in AdAway's data directory. Use a bind mount to mount that copy over the file in /system/etc
That would enable you to use the same basic mechanism for all root solutions.
Just because a root solution isn't systemless doesn't mean you can't implement systemless concepts on your own in appropriate situations.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ad block, adaway, adblock, adblocker, source

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes