FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[OFFICAL] Work out how to enable fastboot for locked devices / Problem solved :D

2,058 posts
Thanks Meter: 613
 
By punkmonkey1984, Senior Member on 16th April 2011, 03:32 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
So as you may already be aware phones like mine, (orange uk) have the fastboot locked down, and so we cant unlock the bootloader.

I for one believe it can be accessed but needs a little bit of time and research on getting it done.

This thread is aimed for brain-storming for ideas and collecting them for us to try out,

You can de-brand your phone by flashing the software from this thread

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1033193

thanks to scott4 for the first upload mirror on page 3

Any ideas on getting the bootloader up and going on locked devices please put them in here

UPDATES

We now have root access thanks to Chainfire's gingerbreak apk which is here

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1044765

If your getting "could not extract assets" from gingerbreak

try doing
Quote:
Originally Posted by xperiax10.awesome

cool, finally I rooted my xperia ARC
these are very simple steps(copied from different threads):
1. Install the attached apk: Gingerbreak-v1.00
after installing most people getting this error - "could not extract assets".

TO OVERCOME THIS, just copy the attached ADB.zip and extract it on your laptop (windows)
say at
E:\mobile_Xperia\ADB
goto above path in your cmd promt and types these lines (your phone should be connected to laptop in debugging mode)
E:\mobile_Xperia\ADB>adb shell rmdir /data/local/tmp
E:\mobile_Xperia\ADB>adb shell mkdir /data/local/tmp


NOW JUST INSTALL THE apk file again and click on ROOT

if that Fails try replacing it with rm -r /data/local/tmp

Update 2

Blagus has kindly opened up this thread here

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1063394

We need people with a SIM-FREE phone with a LOCKED bootloader to help us all out, so if thats YOU !!!
Help us poor sods with branded handsets please.


UPDATE 3

Blagus Has come out with his release (As the man who can)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blagus

Omnius for SE v0.23 (30th August 2011)

Added unlocking of S1 MSM7x30 GSM/UMTS phones (testpoint connection to GND is required.)
Added bootloader unlocking for S1 MSM7x30 phones

Anyone who donated (+punk... sorry forgot username, the OP ), contact me for free unlock.

For rest, contact for price (cheaper than at official Omnius resellers).

You can contact him here http://forum.xda-developers.com/member.php?u=2645841

Instructions
TESTPOINT INSTRUCTIONS PROVIDED BY mooxie FROM XDA FORUM:
1 turn of the phone
2 take of the backcover
3 remove the battery and sim card
4 take of the plastic covering the test point it's a bit stuck there but the gentle if you can.
5 Find something flexible like a wire or so i used steel wire. Make bend it so you easily can put it on the test point and the ground since you need to hold it there and press the powerbutton in the next step.
6 put in the battery
7 put the wire on the test point and the ground keep it there and press the power button for a few seconds. You wont get any confirmation that it suceeded.
8 Plug in the usb cable in the phone. Windows will now search for a new driver.
If it doesn't install automaticly. Go into the device manager of windows and look up something called SEMC_HUBB think it was that name. Choose update driver and browse to your omnius\driver folder. You will get a warning that the driver isn't signed but press okay and it should install.
9 Now if everything is done right the flashing will start and you should soon have an unlocked phone :)

Also side note i had problems with
qhsusb_dload driver not installing correctly.
if this is your case right click update and point to the omnius folder and choose update. worked for me.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to punkmonkey1984 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift punkmonkey1984 Ad-Free
 
 
17th April 2011, 03:23 PM |#2  
dh2311's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 280
 
Donate to Me
More
Have you tried connecting via ADB, and running the command "adb reboot fastboot"?
17th April 2011, 04:34 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dh2311

Have you tried connecting via ADB, and running the command "adb reboot fastboot"?

What does this command does beside going to the fastboot?
17th April 2011, 04:43 PM |#4  
punkmonkey1984's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucheon 부천시
Thanks Meter: 613
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rithina

What does this command does beside going to the fastboot?

Well if we can get into fastboot we can unlock the kernal, for the people stuck with not being able to do the normal way
17th April 2011, 04:46 PM |#5  
punkmonkey1984's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucheon 부천시
Thanks Meter: 613
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dh2311

Have you tried connecting via ADB, and running the command "adb reboot fastboot"?

Reboots back up as normal, also did adb devices and it was there,
17th April 2011, 05:44 PM |#6  
MarylandCookie's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Birmingham, UK
Thanks Meter: 354
 
Donate to Me
More
Have you tried removing the simlock?
17th April 2011, 07:57 PM |#7  
punkmonkey1984's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Bucheon 부천시
Thanks Meter: 613
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarylandCookie

Have you tried removing the simlock?

No not sure how to do it for free, i think someone with a Japaneses version has removed it, i will PM him to ask him
19th April 2011, 02:54 PM |#8  
Blagus's Avatar
Inactive Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,055
 
Donate to Me
More
Here's a thought: backup TA. Write random values to security area. If fastboot is disabled/enabled depending on TA simlock info, tampered sec. zone could give you fastboot. Then unlock bootloader and in order to get your phone back to life, restore TA.

Method should be 100% safe as long as you can write TA back.

Sent from my X8 using XDA App
19th April 2011, 04:00 PM |#9  
Mr_Bartek's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 554
 
Donate to Me
More
Tampered units wont let the phone boot.
19th April 2011, 07:25 PM |#10  
Blagus's Avatar
Inactive Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,055
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lollylost100

Tampered units wont let the phone boot.

But what about flash mode and fastboot? I know they won't boot but that's why in the end TA is restored.
20th April 2011, 11:42 AM |#11  
diggedy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Durham
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
so now all you crazy kids with unlocked phones have root I dont suppose anyone has any more ideas about this problem do they?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes