How to manually upgrade/downgrade your Amazon FireTV

Search This thread

roligov

Senior Member
Dec 29, 2012
308
110
London
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Update 02/03/2015

This guide I posted is well out of date, there are other methods to follow now days.
Please use http://www.aftvnews.com/tag/guide/ as it is up to date and current.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks to AFTVNews.com for the OTA link and rbox for pointing me in the right direction :eek: I've successfully manually upgraded to the latest firmware, downgraded back to 51.1.0.2 and am now upgrading back to 51.1.1.0.

This is the process I followed. I take it for granted that you rooted, have SU and Busybox free installed.

Don't blame me if you **** your device up and you have a brick.

So lets get to it:

1. Download which ever firmware you wish to restore to:
Code:
51.1.0.1
http://amzdigitaldownloads.edgesuite.net/obfuscated/e6f65fefb36aaf7b94fd370f516b9c11/bueller-ota-51.1.0.1_user_510055620-signed.bin

51.1.0.2
http://amzdigitaldownloads.edgesuite.net/obfuscated/cec02756d1964c9cb1f71d52056cc81a/bueller-ota-51.1.0.2_user_510058520-signed.bin

51.1.1.0
http://amzdigitaldownloads.edgesuite.net/obfuscated/568eef32595f034b4304e19aa566befb/bueller-ota-51.1.1.0_user_511069920-signed.bin

51.1.1.0 Update 1
http://amzdigitaldownloads.edgesuite.net/obfuscated/4edaba705e98dee475680c33d3f41132/bueller-ota-51.1.1.0_user_511070220-signed.bin

2. Rename which ever one you wish to restore to update.zip

3. adb shell

4. su

5. chmod 777 cache

6. cd cache

7. chmod 777 recovery

8. cd recovery

9. echo --update_package=/cache/update.zip > command

10. ctrl + c

11. adb push update.zip /cache

--- Go make coffee or take a ****....The pushing of 466MB takes forever over wireless.---

An alternative is to copy update.zip to a USB Flash Drive, use StickMount to mount on the FireTV then copy it with the following command:

cp /sdcard/usbStorage/sda1/update.zip /cache

12. adb reboot recovery

Now it should reboot and start installing whatever update you downloaded and called update.zip :good:

If you get the out of space error:

No it's not because the updates are blocked, it's because you out of space in your cache partition. ADB shell to the box and run
ll /cache
If you have any bin files, delete them.

1. adb shell

2. su

3. rm /cache/*.bin
 
Last edited:

roligov

Senior Member
Dec 29, 2012
308
110
London
It automatically gets deleted. It's late this side so I'm going to bed.

Will do some testing tomorrow before I give the go ahead and tell everyone it's all working!
 
  • Like
Reactions: byrdcfmma

byrdcfmma

Senior Member
Sep 26, 2012
504
184
Central FL
Wow!! I knew someone would figure it out, just did not think it would be this soon. Thank you for the work!!

One step closer to an unlocked bootloader...
 

zahir32

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2011
152
34
Getting It Done

would there be a way to do this via shh


This method gets it done. I've tried others, but these instructions - and the fact that the OP has kindly prepared the "command" file for us - make it an easy ride. Just put the update zip in the same folder as your ADB setup, open your command window in that folder and adb will find it.
 

gazdaman.

Senior Member
Jan 22, 2012
86
19
Can this be done over a local network or do I have to hook the Fire TV up to my PC using a USB (Male to Male) lead?
 

hmagoo

Member
Sep 29, 2011
47
17
Palm Desert, CA
Last edited:

loughrey101

Senior Member
May 4, 2014
58
4
Thanks to FireTVNews.com for the OTA link and rbox for pointing me in the right direction :eek: I've successfully manually upgraded to the latest firmware, downgraded back to 51.1.0.2 and am now upgrading back to 51.1.1.0.

This is the process I followed. I take it for granted that you rooted, have SU and Busybox free installed.

Don't blame me if you **** your device up and you have a brick.

So lets get to it:

1. Download which ever firmware you wish to restore to:
Code:
51.1.0.1 update
http://amzdigitaldownloads.edgesuite.net/obfuscated/e6f65fefb36aaf7b94fd370f516b9c11/bueller-ota-51.1.0.1_user_510055620-signed.bin

51.1.0.2 update
http://amzdigitaldownloads.edgesuite.net/obfuscated/cec02756d1964c9cb1f71d52056cc81a/bueller-ota-51.1.0.2_user_510058520-signed.bin

51.1.1.0 update
http://amzdigitaldownloads.edgesuite.net/obfuscated/568eef32595f034b4304e19aa566befb/bueller-ota-51.1.1.0_user_511069920-signed.bin
2. Rename which ever one you wish to restore to update.zip
3. adb shell
4. su
5. chmod 777 cache
6. cd cache
7. chmod 777 recovery
8. cd recovery
9. wget http://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/16913146/command
10. ctrl + c
11. adb push update.zip /cache
--- Go make coffee or take a ****....The pushing of 466MB takes forever.---
12. adb reboot recovery

Now it should reboot and start installing whatever update you downloaded and called update.zip :good:


Thanks for the info! I hear the new update offers nothing new and causes more problems than good by disrupting the alphametical order of sideloaded apps. Is it worth updating for or will there be no significant differences? It's funny because amazon.com don't mention a new update release.

Also does you update method require you to re-root the device or does root survive the update? Thanks very much!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jboo

gazdaman.

Senior Member
Jan 22, 2012
86
19
Got it working with Windows 7

This is how I done it.
(Ensure you have ADB installed - If not google "ADB setup 1.3 windows")
Download the chosen firmware and rename it to update.zip
Download roligov's command file
remove the .txt extension that windows gives it when you download it. The filename should just be "command" with no extension otherwise you will get the failed message when you reboot to recovery.

Now run command prompt as Administrator
(I will use C:\ as the file location example)

adb kill-server
adb start-server
adb connect "Fire TV IP Address"
adb shell
su
chmod 777 cache
cd cache
chmod 777 recovery
ctrl + c
adb push C:\command /cache/recovery
adb push C:\update.zip /cache

--- Go make coffee or take a ****....The pushing of 466MB takes forever.--- (Took 2 minutes over LAN for me)

adb reboot recovery

Done :)
Many thanks to roligov for the initial find to set me on my way.
 
Last edited:

rp201

Senior Member
Dec 18, 2010
415
51
Yeah my FireTV is hooked up to my Wireless so it takes forever to push the update.

if one has a usb thumb drive and stick mount installed, copying the .bin to the /cache folder step might be faster?

User copies .bin file(s) and command file to a folder on thumb drive where a script file which lists .bins in thumbdrive folder and allows user to choose a numeral and then executes commands for update process would be cool for newbies. even having the script "autocreate" the command file.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: roligov

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 13
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Update 02/03/2015

    This guide I posted is well out of date, there are other methods to follow now days.
    Please use http://www.aftvnews.com/tag/guide/ as it is up to date and current.


    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Thanks to AFTVNews.com for the OTA link and rbox for pointing me in the right direction :eek: I've successfully manually upgraded to the latest firmware, downgraded back to 51.1.0.2 and am now upgrading back to 51.1.1.0.

    This is the process I followed. I take it for granted that you rooted, have SU and Busybox free installed.

    Don't blame me if you **** your device up and you have a brick.

    So lets get to it:

    1. Download which ever firmware you wish to restore to:
    Code:
    51.1.0.1
    http://amzdigitaldownloads.edgesuite.net/obfuscated/e6f65fefb36aaf7b94fd370f516b9c11/bueller-ota-51.1.0.1_user_510055620-signed.bin
    
    51.1.0.2
    http://amzdigitaldownloads.edgesuite.net/obfuscated/cec02756d1964c9cb1f71d52056cc81a/bueller-ota-51.1.0.2_user_510058520-signed.bin
    
    51.1.1.0
    http://amzdigitaldownloads.edgesuite.net/obfuscated/568eef32595f034b4304e19aa566befb/bueller-ota-51.1.1.0_user_511069920-signed.bin
    
    51.1.1.0 Update 1
    http://amzdigitaldownloads.edgesuite.net/obfuscated/4edaba705e98dee475680c33d3f41132/bueller-ota-51.1.1.0_user_511070220-signed.bin

    2. Rename which ever one you wish to restore to update.zip

    3. adb shell

    4. su

    5. chmod 777 cache

    6. cd cache

    7. chmod 777 recovery

    8. cd recovery

    9. echo --update_package=/cache/update.zip > command

    10. ctrl + c

    11. adb push update.zip /cache

    --- Go make coffee or take a ****....The pushing of 466MB takes forever over wireless.---

    An alternative is to copy update.zip to a USB Flash Drive, use StickMount to mount on the FireTV then copy it with the following command:

    cp /sdcard/usbStorage/sda1/update.zip /cache

    12. adb reboot recovery

    Now it should reboot and start installing whatever update you downloaded and called update.zip :good:

    If you get the out of space error:

    No it's not because the updates are blocked, it's because you out of space in your cache partition. ADB shell to the box and run
    ll /cache
    If you have any bin files, delete them.

    1. adb shell

    2. su

    3. rm /cache/*.bin
    3
    For those who are manually updating.

    I did the manual update and was really pleased with the new firmware. I started having problems with WiFi dropping and I figured it was my router but decided to check with Amazon customer service to see if people had reported it. They asked me to verify my firmware version and when I did they told me I should not have received the update yet. I put on my "I don't know how this newfangled technologicky stuff works" voice and asked a bunch of stupid questions like could hooking up to a friends network or having the date set wrong have made it update. He bought it and said it appears to have happened to a few people.

    He did give me the obligatory "it would void your warranty" if I installed it manually speech then verified my connection looked good and they could see my unit over the web. He asked if I waned to replace it under warranty anyway to be safe, I declined and he let me know I would hvae to go through all the steps we had again if I wanted to replace it later.

    So short story long - I would keep you old version number handy if you manually update and maybe end up getting a soft brick you can't recover yourself down the road, at least until we are pretty sure the official update has gone global.
    2
    Got it working with Windows 7

    This is how I done it.
    (Ensure you have ADB installed - If not google "ADB setup 1.3 windows")
    Download the chosen firmware and rename it to update.zip
    Download roligov's command file
    remove the .txt extension that windows gives it when you download it. The filename should just be "command" with no extension otherwise you will get the failed message when you reboot to recovery.

    Now run command prompt as Administrator
    (I will use C:\ as the file location example)

    adb kill-server
    adb start-server
    adb connect "Fire TV IP Address"
    adb shell
    su
    chmod 777 cache
    cd cache
    chmod 777 recovery
    ctrl + c
    adb push C:\command /cache/recovery
    adb push C:\update.zip /cache

    --- Go make coffee or take a ****....The pushing of 466MB takes forever.--- (Took 2 minutes over LAN for me)

    adb reboot recovery

    Done :)
    Many thanks to roligov for the initial find to set me on my way.
    1
    It automatically gets deleted. It's late this side so I'm going to bed.

    Will do some testing tomorrow before I give the go ahead and tell everyone it's all working!
    1
    Ok, I am assuming that when you reboot your FTV after completing the downgrade steps, the FTV shows an error message and boots back into the current firmware.

    Assuming that....

    Go to http://www.aftvnews.com/how-to-manually-upgrade-or-downgrade-the-amazon-fire-tv/

    I am sure you are following the guide step by step. What you will do is, scroll down the guide and go to the section titled "If downgrading fails:". Follow that line by line and run that on your FTV (important to run all the rm commands to get rid of the stuff you pushed to FTV). Once done, reboot your FTV normally.

    Next, start working through the steps one by one from the very top (you do not need to re-download files if you already have them on your computer, but you will re-push them back to FTV as the previous steps in the "If downgrading fails" will get rid of those files from FTV) AND STOP AFTER STEP 8. FOR STEP 9, DO NOT RUN THE COMMAND LISTED THERE. Instead, you will run:

    echo “--update_package=/cache/update.zip” > command

    Note, there is a double quotation mark before -- and after zip.

    Follow the guide from Step 10 onwards.

    IF YOU SUCCESSFULLY DOWNGRADE, IT WILL REMOVE ROOT. RUN TOWELROOT AND RE-ROOT IT. ONCE RE-ROOTED, RUN THE DISABLE COMMAND ON FTV TO STOP OTA UPGRADES (Not sure if you need to run that command, but run it anyways...)

    Let us know how it goes....