FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Time Warner Cable app for ICS (Fixed for Rooted Users)

416 posts
Thanks Meter: 46
 
By droidxrooting, Senior Member on 17th April 2012, 05:18 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
TWC just released the app that will allow you to stream the live TV shows from your phone. I got really excited to watch Game of Thrones.

But when I try to launch the app. It says it does not run on rooted device. WTF?

What is the difference between rooted or unrooted device when it comes to TWC app?

I tried to unroot with root keeper to run the app with no luck.

Any suggestions or workaround to get it working?



Update: Thanks to b00sted now rooted users can benefit from Time Warner App

Here is the link to fix : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=24975697

Sent from my DROID RAZR using XDA Premium App
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to droidxrooting For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift droidxrooting Ad-Free
 
 
17th April 2012, 05:37 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
I can confirm this on Epic 4g touch (rooted)
The Following User Says Thank You to st1ngr4y For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift st1ngr4y Ad-Free
17th April 2012, 06:56 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Same issue here. Rooted Hp touchpad running 4.0.4. When you launch TWC app and choose Live TV it will state "TWC tv is not supported on rooted devices"
17th April 2012, 07:10 PM |#4  
IdowhatIwant's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Anaheim, CA
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frohoss

"TWC tv is not supported on rooted devices"

I'm sure it will be in time. Timewarner lol..
17th April 2012, 08:05 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Buffalo, NY
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
confirmed here on Verizon Galaxy Nexus. Hope someone fixes this. You also have to have USB Debugging disabled, AND be on your home network (which means Road runner is also a requirement).

EDIT...

Turns out the TWC app only checks for the presence of /system/app/superuser.apk. A quick rename of superuser.apk and it works fine. A simple script can be written for this to toggle it.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MarkGbe For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift MarkGbe Ad-Free
17th April 2012, 08:52 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag Buffalo, NY
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhhurdler1

I had this same issue with my jailbroken IPAD2. However a fix was created called "FakeTimeWarner" that you can install via cydia. Hopefully someone can create the same fix for android devices?

---------- Post added at 02:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:40 PM ----------




I've edited and it still doesn't seem to work...

i haven't actually been able to test watching TV since im at work but when i renamed Superuser.apk i stopped getting the "TWC tv is not supported on rooted devices" message. ill try when i get home in a bit and reports back.

---------- Post added at 02:52 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:50 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhhurdler1

I had this same issue with my jailbroken IPAD2. However a fix was created called "FakeTimeWarner" that you can install via cydia. Hopefully someone can create the same fix for android devices?

---------- Post added at 02:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:40 PM ----------




I've edited and it still doesn't seem to work...




EDIT -

Killed app and still didn't work...

Rebooted. and now WORKS. Thanks a lot

Ah ok, cool.

If you use the app 'GScript' which is in the market, you can write a script and add a widget to your homescreen to execute the rename and to reverse it. Makes it real easy to go ba ck and forth.
17th April 2012, 09:09 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 57
 
Donate to Me
More
sweet!!! Working on my rooted att note, anyone have any workarounds that will allow me to view when not connected to home wifi network?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Tomdg07 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Tomdg07 Ad-Free
17th April 2012, 09:15 PM |#8  
b00sted's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mount Morris NY
Thanks Meter: 872
 
Donate to Me
More
just found this post as well, was looking for this over on the nexus forums.. I have the decompiled apk if someone can tell me what to nix I can recompile and give it a try for us.. Here is the decompiled apk. u will see in the smali files it talks about if root and if adb is enabled.. I just dont know what to really nix out of there withough completely breaking it.. http://dl.dropbox.com/u/22063477/com.TWCableTV-1.zip
bhhurdler1
17th April 2012, 10:06 PM |#9  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Anyone else seeing ever so slight lag? Kinda like a jitter.. I'm wondering if this is due to rom/kernal or if it's just cause it's the first version.
17th April 2012, 10:15 PM |#10  
jeffrash's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
Donate to Me
More
Does this help?
:~/Downloads/com.TWCableTV-1$ grep -H -r "Superuser" ~Downloads/com.TWCableTV-1
~/Downloads/com.TWCableTV-1/smali/com/TWCableTV/androidphone/a/a.smali: const-string v1, "/system/app/Superuser.apk"
The Following User Says Thank You to jeffrash For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift jeffrash Ad-Free
17th April 2012, 10:29 PM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
Thank you everyone for clarification. Some Driod-life members reported that clearing cache helps too. I have not tried it myself yet but it is worth a shot.

Quote from D-L: We have seen a user submitted tip that if you wipe the application’s data in your app settings menu, that could clear up the issue. It’s worth a shot, so give it a try if you have been having this trouble and let us know if it works or not.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes