FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[DEV] The project to port Android(froyo) on S8500 (8530)

183 posts
Thanks Meter: 624
 
By oleg_k, Retired Recognized Developer on 29th March 2011, 04:26 AM
Thread Closed Email Thread
4th April 2011, 12:23 PM |#41  
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 624
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabianadmin

Hmm ok seems you're right. Like i said in a previous post. the best way to off set that is by creating some Swap space for the device, be that on a MicroSD card or internally, it only needs to be 128mb after all.

Edit: I used to own a HTC G1 and it only had 192mb of ram the Wave has almost 3 times that (well give or take) and the G1 still runs beautifully running gingerbread to this very day the wave should have no problem what so ever!

By the way was the new boot loader access method of any use to you, e.g can you use it to directly boot Android without using Jtag?

now only with jtag. maybe later will be use injection code to original bootloader.
jtag tool need first time for initial putting android bootloader.Then i used Odin 1.7 for manipulate with varios firmwares and bootloaders.
 
 
4th April 2011, 12:24 PM |#42  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
I bet S8500 got those 512MB, maybe in your botting you're only accesing the OS reserved partition of the RAM, that would explain why you got such a weird RAM memory quantity. I am sure It got 512MB partitioned in those 38x and 128. But anyway with time we will see.
4th April 2011, 12:26 PM |#43  
Senior Member
Flag Straffan
Thanks Meter: 183
 
More
Well its lucky that a way to open up the boot loader was found at the same time you're making good progress with the port.

You never told me if you managed to get the display operational. Did you find a method of controlling the pins?
4th April 2011, 12:31 PM |#44  
Senior Member
Flag Hartford CT
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabianadmin

Hmm ok seems you're right. Like i said in a previous post. the best way to off set that is by creating some Swap space for the device, be that on a MicroSD card or internally, it only needs to be 128mb after all.

Edit: I used to own a HTC G1 and it only had 192mb of ram the Wave has almost 3 times that (well give or take) and the G1 still runs beautifully running gingerbread to this very day the wave should have no problem what so ever!

By the way was the new boot loader access method of any use to you, e.g can you use it to directly boot Android without using Jtag?

Agreed.. even i own a galaxy i7500(now dead and used a paper weight ) which had only 128 mb...but still it can run froyo smoothly..
4th April 2011, 12:40 PM |#45  
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 393
 
More
About the display I offered my help as there's clear implementation of s3cfb_tl2796.c and s6e63m0.c files from M130K in the Wave bootloader (it looks like what's under CONFIG_M135K define, but there are some differences), but wasn't yet able to find enough time to do it.

Best Regards,
mijoma
4th April 2011, 12:58 PM |#46  
Senior Member
Flag Straffan
Thanks Meter: 183
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijoma

About the display I offered my help as there's clear implementation of s3cfb_tl2796.c and s6e63m0.c files from M130K in the Wave bootloader (it looks like what's under CONFIG_M135K define, but there are some differences), but wasn't yet able to find enough time to do it.

Best Regards,
mijoma

So you're saying that the display is configureable from the boot loader only? If so then if i where Oleg_k i wouldn't worry about it until you get a 'successful' boot
4th April 2011, 01:17 PM |#47  
guari's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabianadmin

So you're saying that the display is configureable from the boot loader only? If so then if i where Oleg_k i wouldn't worry about it until you get a 'successful' boot

but if so, how they solved in androbada project (if it's not fake..)? in androbada they said something like they've simply replaced bada os files with those of galaxyS rom (like spoofing..), i dubt they accessed to bootloader..
4th April 2011, 01:20 PM |#48  
Senior Member
Flag Straffan
Thanks Meter: 183
 
More
Well oleg_k has released logs and configuration files, Androbada have released videos, we have no idea how they did any of it. I think its high time that we have some material from Androbada. At this rate Oleg_k will have a working port that is flash able long before they release anything.

@oleg_k: Maybe you should send the logs and config.txt over to the idroid folks as well as a copy of the service manual and see if they would be willing to offer assistance in solving you're problem.
4th April 2011, 01:30 PM |#49  
mylove90's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 677
 
More
maybe a video of the boot oleg_k will cheer us up
all of us love seeing videos even if they were strange
i know for sure you are porting android but i want to see how far did you reach
4th April 2011, 01:40 PM |#50  
Senior Member
Flag Straffan
Thanks Meter: 183
 
More
Hmmm yeah i wouldn't mind seeing a video, although if its just a blank screen without listen of the boot process in the terminal it would be a pretty boring video!
The Following User Says Thank You to sabianadmin For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sabianadmin Ad-Free
4th April 2011, 01:44 PM |#51  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
I think that making them to record a 'stupid'/'senseless' video is just useless, we will make them lose time on something we all know, this project is going ahead and It's not fake just like Androbada's.

So let's just try not to bother them so much with questions so they can dedicate more time on the project itself. Once we got something material to touch then we will be able to ask everything we want to xD

Let the gods play
The Following User Says Thank You to mkz14 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mkz14 Ad-Free
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread

Tags
wave s8500 android
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes