FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Linux and Android for Vogue [kernel thread]

2,478 posts
Thanks Meter: 5,038
 
By dzo, Senior Recognized Developer on 3rd April 2008, 10:28 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
10th April 2008, 10:48 AM |#101  
utak3r's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Szczecin
Thanks Meter: 263
 
Donate to Me
More
There's a kernel for Omap850, and it's working fine. So... we just have to make a proper initrd image
 
 
10th April 2008, 11:55 AM |#102  
Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by utak3r

There's a kernel for Omap850, and it's working fine. So... we just have to make a proper initrd image

I'd love to test it when someone has created it At this point I'm not a big help...
10th April 2008, 12:59 PM |#103  
dferreira's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oulu
Thanks Meter: 143
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by utak3r

There's a kernel for Omap850, and it's working fine. So... we just have to make a proper initrd image

Holly cow Nice work guys! Can't wait to see this up and running Android
10th April 2008, 02:13 PM |#104  
Soul_Est's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mississauga
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Cool
Works great on my Telus branded Touch! I'll see what I can do about getting some more applications running on it.
10th April 2008, 02:28 PM |#105  
swatspyder's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Once we get this thing past "Alpha" lol... I will for sure change to this linux OS. I hate how bloated WM is on this phone. And even though it is so basic, Android is running VERY fast on the phone "running out of ram" but this is a great leap to the next version of OS.

As long as I can get EVDOrA and make calls... I will be good to go
10th April 2008, 03:25 PM |#106  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Can anyone make a video of this so the rest of us can see how this is all going down?
10th April 2008, 03:40 PM |#107  
dferreira's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oulu
Thanks Meter: 143
 
Donate to Me
More
Omap zImage, going to test it now...
http://osdir.com/ml/ports.arm.omap/2.../msg00050.html

Edit: this did change something, still no boot tho.

Checking this now:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...7&postcount=64
I've got almost a boot using one of the zImages that come with LinWizard... Changed the MTYPE to 6666, which was on the config file of LinWizard.
10th April 2008, 04:05 PM |#108  
Senior Member
Flag Berlin
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dferreira

Omap zImage, going to test it now...
http://osdir.com/ml/ports.arm.omap/2.../msg00050.html

Edit: this did change something, still no boot tho.

Checking this now:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...7&postcount=64
I've got almost a boot using one of the zImages that come with LinWizard... Changed the MTYPE to 6666, which was on the config file of LinWizard.

lol

I just tried the zImage file and was on a black screen now. On the top of the screen there were some white dots. Then my device was shut down...

Waiting for news again
10th April 2008, 04:40 PM |#109  
dferreira's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oulu
Thanks Meter: 143
 
Donate to Me
More
Ok, I've got a boot, sort of...

I've changed on the default.txt file
set RAMSIZE 0x01800000
set MTYPE 6666
set KERNEL zImage_wizard
#set initrd initrd.gz
set initrd initrd-android
set cmdline "rw quiet"
boot

And I've got this far... Somewhere along the lines, it says that it doesn't support Omap architecture... is this a Haret problem?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00420.JPG
Views:	506
Size:	97.4 KB
ID:	80404  
10th April 2008, 06:12 PM |#110  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dferreira

And I've got this far... Somewhere along the lines, it says that it doesn't support Omap architecture... is this a Haret problem?

No. your problem is that the SD driver does not work as expected, so you can't mount the SD card.
Isn't this android stuff running of the ramdisk ?
10th April 2008, 06:19 PM |#111  
dferreira's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oulu
Thanks Meter: 143
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:

No. your problem is that the SD driver does not work as expected, so you can't mount the SD card.
Isn't this android stuff running of the ramdisk ?

I've created a folder "Android" on my SD Card and running from there. So I need to copy this to the root of the phone?

Edit: I've copied it to the root of the phone, still, doesn't boot, same message.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, linux, vogue

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes