FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[APP][Root][OFFICIAL] AdAway v4.3.0 :: [2019-11-01]

595 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,832
 
Post Reply Email Thread
2nd December 2013, 02:48 AM |#1001  
lanwarrior's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 158
 
More
What do you guys use?

On Nexus 7 2013, YouTube got the dreaded server time out.

In my S4 Active, it works.
2nd December 2013, 03:05 AM |#1002  
78Staff's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cosmo, Fl
Thanks Meter: 459
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lanwarrior

What do you guys use?

On Nexus 7 2013, YouTube got the dreaded server time out.

In my S4 Active, it works.


In my sig... ATT S4, AdAway 2.8 and Clear YouTube 5.2.27
2nd December 2013, 03:37 AM |#1003  
Ci-Fi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 122
 
More
I gave up YouTube a while ago for Viral ( https://play.google.com/store/apps/d....Mata.YTplayer ). It doesn't have buffer issues that YouTube has and it can open in a floating popup mode.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ci-Fi For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Ci-Fi Ad-Free
2nd December 2013, 11:25 AM |#1004  
an0n981's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 972
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ItzMar

Link please

Here you go
https://mega.co.nz/#!R05BxAjC!XzNsUb..._gOXsC6sSsSlEc

Although I would recommend downloading it from FDroid yourself
The Following User Says Thank You to an0n981 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift an0n981 Ad-Free
2nd December 2013, 02:43 PM |#1005  
j1gga84's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bremen
Thanks Meter: 2,692
 
More
Can anybody tell me what is the difference to Adblock Plus 1.2.0.309 ?
Is it possible to install both blocker programmes or is this not very useful?


Many thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to j1gga84 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift j1gga84 Ad-Free
2nd December 2013, 05:00 PM |#1006  
DecypherT's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
@j1gga84, Adaway works and ad block plus in most cases does not.
Also ad block plus didn't work on my nexus 4, it shutted off 3G constantly after enabling it.

Send from my Nexus 4
The Following User Says Thank You to DecypherT For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift DecypherT Ad-Free
2nd December 2013, 11:52 PM |#1007  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DecypherT

@j1gga84, Adaway works and ad block plus in most cases does not.
Also ad block plus didn't work on my nexus 4, it shutted off 3G constantly after enabling it.

Send from my Nexus 4

I have latest adaway and I have only problem with one app (Caynax A6W). It'says that I buy PRO version or stop blocking ads.
I have two questions:
1) How can app (without root) know if I use adblocker even in airplane mode?
2) Can I whitelist this app (it doesn't have intrusive ads) ?
3rd December 2013, 12:07 AM |#1008  
Senior Member
Flag Fullerton
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Croatoan®

I have latest adaway and I have only problem with one app (Caynax A6W). It'says that I buy PRO version or stop blocking ads.
I have two questions:
1) How can app (without root) know if I use adblocker even in airplane mode?
2) Can I whitelist this app (it doesn't have intrusive ads) ?

1. most likely it is checking to see if valid data is coming back from the ad url or checking if the ad url isn't a local ip
2. you can whitelist the app just have to find all the urls to whitelist
3rd December 2013, 12:57 AM |#1009  
bleached45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 481
 
More
For those of you that don't know, the looping issue with it trying to apply hosts and getting stuck is somehow related to the hide reboot dialog option. If you make sure the box is unchecked, then clear the app cache in android app settings and restart the app (I'll be fully honest, I don't remember the exact process, I may have reverted (disabled) hosts after that and rebooted) it should work. I have 2.8 on kitkat running nicely. Can confirm ads are blocked and YouTube works.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to bleached45 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bleached45 Ad-Free
3rd December 2013, 03:35 PM |#1010  
DecypherT's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Croatoan®

I have latest adaway and I have only problem with one app (Caynax A6W). It'says that I buy PRO version or stop blocking ads.
I have two questions:
1) How can app (without root) know if I use adblocker even in airplane mode?
2) Can I whitelist this app (it doesn't have intrusive ads) ?

Some apps detect an ad blocker. Don't know how.

1. What do you mean with, 'without root'? Adaway needs root and root is not per app based. Your complete phone is rooted or it isn't. Perhaps you mean SU permission?

If it detects your ad blocker I don't know what to do.

There could be a way, but that way isn't to be shared here. Sounds a bit weird I know.




Send from my Nexus 4
The Following User Says Thank You to DecypherT For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift DecypherT Ad-Free
3rd December 2013, 03:42 PM |#1011  
Senior Member
Flag Roma
Thanks Meter: 22
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bleached45

For those of you that don't know, the looping issue with it trying to apply hosts and getting stuck is somehow related to the hide reboot dialog option. If you make sure the box is unchecked, then clear the app cache in android app settings and restart the app (I'll be fully honest, I don't remember the exact process, I may have reverted (disabled) hosts after that and rebooted) it should work. I have 2.8 on kitkat running nicely. Can confirm ads are blocked and YouTube works.

Thanks, I can confirm you are right.I had the looping issue and solved following your indication, that is I unchecked hide reboot box, disabled hosts, cleared cache and finally everything worked fine!
The Following User Says Thank You to dagosjt For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dagosjt Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ad block, adaway, adblock, adblocker, source

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes