FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[KITCHEN] dsixda HTC Android Kitchen Now for Leo Nand

4,966 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,907
 
By af974, Retired Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator on 17th March 2011, 05:02 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
17th March 2011, 03:22 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by Life Engineer

Nice to know that an arabian is cooking

Waiting your builds because i'm sure you will be incorporating arabic roms and full arabic support by default!

I am still a noob when it comes to Android but will do my best, Used to be very good with WinMob bt still starting here, will try my best though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by af974

This error sound of something wrong in updater-script, in this kitchen you must:
1. convert updater-script to update-script for working on it
2. convert it back to updater-script before make the zip process.

Anyway fore me it worked at 1st shot and this is what i made and in Dsixda thread there is a good tutorial and a video that explain all.

Thanks for your reply, I did convert it back and forth though but still same error. The tutorials are very nice and I did follow them to the letter. Will try again today after I get back home from work and will try to get another base to start from.
The Following User Says Thank You to Raptordin For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Raptordin Ad-Free
 
 
17th March 2011, 03:39 PM |#12  
af974's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 1,907
 
More
Np raptordin,
if you wanna say to me what build you are trying to mod and what mod you want to do, i can give it a go and see if i get the same error.
17th March 2011, 03:41 PM |#13  
Senior Member
Flag Cairo
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by af974

Np raptordin,
if you wanna say to me what build you are trying to mod and what mod you want to do, i can give it a go and see if i get the same error.

Will test again in an hour or so when I get home and report back. Thanks for your interest.
17th March 2011, 04:08 PM |#14  
dsixda's Avatar
Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 5,341
 
More
Just a reminder -- if you have a boot.img in your ROM's working folder, and it didn't get converted to "boot" folder after building the ROM, then you have to do the conversion manually.

1) Select option 20 - "Unpack or re-pack a boot.img"
2) Select option c - "Convert boot.img into NAND boot folder"

Then you can build.

If you are using a custom HD2 ROM then this step is probably not necessary, as the kitchen will aready have created the boot folder and removed the boot.img. To make sure, just open the .ZIP file that was created by the kitchen after building.
The Following User Says Thank You to dsixda For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift dsixda Ad-Free
17th March 2011, 04:27 PM |#15  
af974's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 1,907
 
More
Thanks for info Dsixda,

I'm facing a couple of problems with the Kitchen, here they are:

1. In the Kitchen Rom info app2sd are not installed but it still in init.d
2. if i add /data/app (option 13) market apps installation end with an error.

Code:
Working folder information

 Android OS version             : 2.3.3
 Device                         : bravo
 ROM Name                       : GRI40
 Rooted (unsecured boot.img)    : YES
 Rooted (Superuser.apk + su)    : YES
 BusyBox installed              : YES
 BusyBox run-parts support      : YES
 Apps2SD enabled                : NO
 /data/app enabled              : NO
 Custom boot animation allowed  : NO
 Nano text editor installed     : YES
 Bash shell support             : YES
 /system/framework is deodexed  : YES
 /system/app is deodexed        : YES
 radio.img found                : NO
 ROM will wipe all data         : NO
I'm using this rom as base http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=933951
17th March 2011, 04:32 PM |#16  
dsixda's Avatar
Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 5,341
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by af974

Thanks for info Dsixda,

I'm facing a couple of problems with the Kitchen, here they are:

1. In the Kitchen Rom info app2sd are not installed but it still in init.d

So you don't have an "a2sd" file under /system/bin or /system/xbin or anywhere else? What options did you select for apps2sd (e.g. runparts?).

Quote:

2. if i add /data/app (option 13) market apps installation end with an error.

You need to be specific.. what is the error? And when you say 'installation' do you mean while the kitchen is adding the data/app folder, or while the ROM is booting?
17th March 2011, 04:50 PM |#17  
af974's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 1,907
 
More
Nope, there is nothing in there but there is the script in init.d " 10app2sd", though i'm speaking of original update.zip.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsixda

So you don't have an "a2sd" file under /system/bin or /system/xbin or anywhere else? What options did you select for apps2sd (e.g. runparts?).


After the boot, i go to market and download an app but it cant be installed.

Quote:

You need to be specific.. what is the error? And when you say 'installation' do you mean while the kitchen is adding the data/app folder, or while the ROM is booting?

17th March 2011, 05:44 PM |#18  
joshkoss's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Flag CT, USA
Thanks Meter: 635
 
More
Whoot! time to get my chef on!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joshkoss For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift joshkoss Ad-Free
17th March 2011, 07:30 PM |#19  
Member
Flag Tarbes
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Thanks you for this great tool
18th March 2011, 12:35 AM |#20  
dsixda's Avatar
Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 5,341
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by af974

Nope, there is nothing in there but there is the script in init.d " 10app2sd", though i'm speaking of original update.zip.

Is it really apps2sd (apps to ext3) or is it just that hack that is used to move all apps to the fat32 partition of the SD card (the option that is in Settings of Cyanogen ROMs)? Can you paste the contents of that file here please (in [CODE] tags)

Quote:

After the boot, i go to market and download an app but it cant be installed.

I don't know anything about that, probably your device's or ROM's issue because it works elsewhere. When the kitchen adds /data/app to the working folder it only sets the permissions for that folder when flashing.
18th March 2011, 01:59 AM |#21  
af974's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 1,907
 
More
Here it is:

Code:
#!/system/bin/sh
#
# Apps2SD using symlinks and bind mounts
# Original Apps2SD script by shade@chemlab.org (cyanogen)
# Adapted for Oxygen ROM by AdamG
# Fixed for slow detection of SD cards by _thalamus and output a bit more debugging info so we can see where problems are arising.

# execute any postinstall script then kill it
   

enablea2sd () {
	# mount and set perms
    busybox mount -o noatime,nodiratime -t auto /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /sd-ext;
    busybox chown 1000:1000 /sd-ext;
    busybox chmod 771 /sd-ext;

    # clean up any old symlinks, create data directories
    for i in data;
	do
		if [ -h /data/$i ];
		then
			rm /data/$i;
		fi;
		if [ ! -d /data/$i ];
		then
			mkdir /data/$i;
			busybox chown 1000:1000 /data/$i;
			busybox chmod 771 /data/$i;
		fi;
	done;

    # don't allow /data/data on sd because of upgrade issues - move it if possible
    if [ -d /sd-ext/data ];
    then
        busybox cp -a /sd-ext/data/* /data/data/;
        busybox rm -rf /sd-ext/data;
    fi;

    # move apps from internal memory to sdcard
    for i in app app-private;
    do
        if [ ! -d /sd-ext/$i ];
        then
            mkdir /sd-ext/$i;
        fi

        busybox chown 1000:1000 /sd-ext/$i;
        busybox chmod 771 /sd-ext/$i
	    
        if [ -d /data/$i ] && [ ! -h /data/$i ];
        then
            busybox cp -a /data/$i/* /sd-ext/$i/;
            busybox rm -f /data/$i/*;
        fi;
    done;

    # symlink app dirs - they must be on the same filesystem
    for i in app app-private;
    do
        if [ -d /data/$i ] && [ ! -h /data/$i ];
        then
            busybox rm -rf /data/$i;
            busybox ln -s /sd-ext/$i /data/$i;
        fi;
    done;

    # clean up old whiteouts
    for i in local misc property system tombstones data;
    do
        if [ -h /sd-ext/$i ]; then rm -f /sd-ext/$i; fi
    done;

    # please don't put odex files in the app directory people!
    # it causes dexopt to crash when switching builds!
    busybox rm -f /sd-ext/app/*.odex

    setprop oxygen.a2sd.active 1;
    
    echo "+++ Apps-to-SD successfully enabled";

}

disablea2sd() {    # replace symlinks with directories so we can boot without sd
    for i in app app-private;
    do
       if [ -h /data/$i ];
       then
            rm -f /data/$i;
            mkdir /data/$i;
            busybox chown 1000:1000 /data/$i;
            busybox chmod 771 /data/$i;
        fi;
    done;

    setprop oxygen.a2sd.active 0;
}


if [ -e /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 ]; # We check for the presence of the FAT partition first to see if the SD has initialised.
	then
	echo "SD Card has been initialised...checking for ext partition.";
		if  [ -e /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 ]; # If false, it isn't there so we don't have to sleep the script and delay the boot.
		then
			enablea2sd;
		else
			echo "No ext partition present, apps2sd disabled";
			disablea2sd;
		fi;
		
	else
		sleep 4; #Enables time for a slow SD to be detected and populate the device nodes.
		if [ -e /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 ];
			then
				echo "enablea2sd for slow SD card";
				enablea2sd;
			else
				echo "No ext partition present after sleep, apps2sd disabled";
				disablea2sd;
			fi;
	fi;

sync;
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsixda

Is it really apps2sd (apps to ext3) or is it just that hack that is used to move all apps to the fat32 partition of the SD card (the option that is in Settings of Cyanogen ROMs)? Can you paste the contents of that file here please (in [CODE] tags)


Yes it could be, i will try again maybe with anoter build.

Quote:

I don't know anything about that, probably your device's or ROM's issue because it works elsewhere. When the kitchen adds /data/app to the working folder it only sets the permissions for that folder when flashing.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes