FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

How to simulate OTA checking

246 posts
Thanks Meter: 109
 
By alx5962, Senior Member on 28th September 2012, 12:41 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
* First go to:
https://code.google.com/p/rest-client/downloads/list
And download RESTClient Gui (not CLI).
Note : this application requires Java.

* Download the included call1.rcq.txt and rename it to call1.rcq
then open it with RESTClient (File -> open request)

* Go to the Body tab and the firmware_version is what you need to change
(locale can be changed to de_DE or en_US or fr_FR)

* Click on the green button to send a request

* Look inside the Body tab of the HTTP Response section to get the OTA answer.

* The following firmware_version codes are working:
Acer_A700_043.207.06_EMEA_DE
Acer_A700_032.201.02_PA_CUS1
Acer_A700_043.207.06_EMEA_FR

* I haven't found yet the way Acer encodes thoses firmware names byt noticed Acer_A700_043.***.06_EMEA_** are ther most working ones.

* Please share codes if you find more ones !
Attached Files
File Type: txt call1.rcq.txt - [Click for QR Code] (444 Bytes, 124 views)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to alx5962 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift alx5962 Ad-Free
28th September 2012, 03:36 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Galaxy S, quadrant 2
Thanks Meter: 123
 
More
this is to get newer updates after the root checking updater?
28th September 2012, 04:34 PM |#4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Lille
Thanks Meter: 109
 
More
This is the geeky way to check if an OTA update is available when - like me- you lost this ability by using a different recovery for root.
28th September 2012, 04:44 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Lille
Thanks Meter: 109
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vache

You can also use this tool : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=29674556

Can you tell me how to convert Pandora to system,please ?
As you mentioned on the OTA tool topic :
"Acer_AV044_E330_RV08RC02_EMEA_CUS2 become 044.208.05_EMEA_CUS2"
044 is for AV044
But 208 ? 05?
28th September 2012, 05:02 PM |#6  
vache's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Paris
Thanks Meter: 3,596
 
Donate to Me
More
The "2" is a constant (it may change in the future), just add it prior to "08". The "05" is an error, it should be "02" (keep the last number as it is).
And yes 044 is for AV44.
The Following User Says Thank You to vache For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th September 2012, 05:16 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Galaxy S, quadrant 2
Thanks Meter: 123
 
More
the image name for USA in the OP appears to be older than the update which blocked updates and added Power Option

could be wrong as i don't quite understand the method to their names either... the way they name images

this is the last Acer i will buy, but I'm not going to sell this for another tab just because i don't like how they operate
29th September 2012, 09:48 AM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Lille
Thanks Meter: 109
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sterist

the image name for USA in the OP appears to be older than the update which blocked updates and added Power Option

could be wrong as i don't quite understand the method to their names either... the way they name images

this is the last Acer i will buy, but I'm not going to sell this for another tab just because i don't like how they operate


I only had this one in my list for this country. Topic will be updated when I have newer working firmware versions.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
acer ota a700

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes