FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

DROID RAZR HD Utility 1.20 [Windows/Mac/Linux]

2,298 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,490
 
By mattlgroff, Inactive Recognized Developer on 18th April 2013, 01:41 AM
Thread Closed Email Thread
26th April 2013, 07:39 PM |#11  
LifeAsADroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Awesomeville, USA
Thanks Meter: 312
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks Matt!

- I've unlocked the bootloader this morning and it worked perfectly (have to find the program in the forum to change the "bootloader unlocked" startup screen now, but I digress).

- After installing 4.1.2 I can always re-root using the utility I'm guessing, yes?

- Will the utility install 4.1.2 and replace a "modified" 4.1.1, or do I have to have a "stock" 4.1.1 ROM for the 4.1.2 to work? By "modified" I mean deleted apps, reconfigured SQLite Edited hotspot app, etc... I only ask since I cannot get the 4.1.2 OTA to install as my phone is currently, and was wondering if it was known if I would run into the same problem using the Utility 1.20. Or if this is the reason for the creation of the Utility 1.20...

- If I have to be stock and the 4.1.2 won't work as my phone is currently, I am thinking I could use the Utility 1.10 to go back to 4.0.4, then up to stock 4.1.1 and 4.1.2 from there (or straight to 4.1.2 from 4.0.4 if possible), then re-delete and re-hack the apps I want to delete and hack (if that all makes sense).

Another blob of text, hopefully broken down a little bit better for you
26th April 2013, 08:26 PM |#12  
mattlgroff's Avatar
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 2,490
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LifeAsADroid

Thanks Matt!

- I've unlocked the bootloader this morning and it worked perfectly (have to find the program in the forum to change the "bootloader unlocked" startup screen now, but I digress).

- After installing 4.1.2 I can always re-root using the utility I'm guessing, yes? Yes... but it's better to flash SuperSu.zip through CWM or TWRP because no doubt in the next update the Motochopper exploit will be patched.

- Will the utility install 4.1.2 and replace a "modified" 4.1.1, or do I have to have a "stock" 4.1.1 ROM for the 4.1.2 to work? By "modified" I mean deleted apps, reconfigured SQLite Edited hotspot app, etc... I only ask since I cannot get the 4.1.2 OTA to install as my phone is currently, and was wondering if it was known if I would run into the same problem using the Utility 1.20. Or if this is the reason for the creation of the Utility 1.20...This Utility will install 4.1.2 using the FXZ files. You won't need to OTA, this brings you there.

- If I have to be stock and the 4.1.2 won't work as my phone is currently, I am thinking I could use the Utility 1.10 to go back to 4.0.4, then up to stock 4.1.1 and 4.1.2 from there (or straight to 4.1.2 from 4.0.4 if possible), then re-delete and re-hack the apps I want to delete and hack (if that all makes sense). I don't understand why you don't just go directly to 4.1.2 using this

Another blob of text, hopefully broken down a little bit better for you

Hope I helped...
27th April 2013, 03:14 AM |#13  
erj-drvr's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Indy
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LifeAsADroid

Thanks Matt!

- I've unlocked the bootloader this morning and it worked perfectly (have to find the program in the forum to change the "bootloader unlocked" startup screen now, but I digress).


http://www.droidrzr.com/index.php/to.../?fromsearch=1
27th April 2013, 06:32 AM |#14  
LifeAsADroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Awesomeville, USA
Thanks Meter: 312
 
Donate to Me
More
Hi Matt,

Ok, so I attempted using the utility to run options 1 and 2. No dice. Option 1 looked like the below attachment. Ran in AP Fastboot, USB debugging enabled. Tried twice, once rooted, once not, same outcome. Any ideas what's wrong?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pic.jpg
Views:	284
Size:	137.5 KB
ID:	1915270  
27th April 2013, 07:06 AM |#15  
mattlgroff's Avatar
OP Inactive Recognized Developer
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 2,490
 
Donate to Me
More
Use different USB cable and non-3.0 port.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
27th April 2013, 05:19 PM |#16  
LifeAsADroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Awesomeville, USA
Thanks Meter: 312
 
Donate to Me
More
Tried a few different cables, few different ports on the computer, still no dice. I guess I am destined to have 4.1.1 forever
27th April 2013, 06:59 PM |#17  
LifeAsADroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Awesomeville, USA
Thanks Meter: 312
 
Donate to Me
More
PS - thanks erj-drvr for the bootloader screen changing url!
28th April 2013, 03:06 AM |#18  
wooddale's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New Lisbon
Thanks Meter: 467
 
More
Im on 4.1.1 everything working fine I just want to get to 4.1.2 is this the best way to do it or is there an easier way? I am unlocked and rooted if I use the utility it will put me on 4.1.2 still unlocked I will have to get a recovery and root correct? It wont unlock me?
28th April 2013, 09:50 AM |#19  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I selected option 5 and tried to do the Motochopper root exploit. Though the exploit in the console showed as successful, when I rebooted and run Root Checker Pro, I see the issues below.

I was on 4.1.1 w/ root, got 4.1.2, which broke root. Per the above, Motochopper showed as working, but that doesn't seem to be the case. Any suggestions?

Quote:

Root Access is not properly configured or was not granted.

Super User Applications Status:
Superuser application - version 3.1.3 - is installed!
SuperSU application - version 1.25 - is installed!

System File Properties for Root Access:
Standard Location
Check Command: ls -l /system/xbin/su:
Result: ---sr---wt root root 91980 2013-04-28 00:36 su
Analysis: Setuid attribute present and root user ownership present. Root access is correctly configured for this file! Executing this file can grant root access!

Alternative Location
Check Command: ls -l /sbin/su:
Result: /sbin/su: Permission denied
Analysis: File system permissions restricted and denied access.

Alternative Location
Check Command: ls -l /system/xbin/sudo:
Result: /system/xbin/sudo: No such file or directory
Analysis: File /system/xbin/sudo does not exist.

Standard Location
Check Command: ls -l /system/bin/su:
Result: -rwxr-xr-x root shell 380532 2013-01-11 13:48 su
Analysis: Setuid attribute NOT present BUT root user ownership is present. Root access is NOT correctly configured for this file!

Root User ID and Group ID Status:
SU binary not found or not operating properly

System Environment PATH: /sbin /vendor/bin /system/sbin /system/bin /system/xbin

ADB Shell Default User:
ADB shell setting for standard access, stored in default.prop, is configured as: shell (non root) user - ro.secure=1

Results provided on your DROID RAZR HD device by Root Checker Pro version 1.3.1 from joeykrim in the Android Market - http://goo.gl/NcnHn

28th April 2013, 02:18 PM |#20  
Senior Member
Flag The Woodlands, TX
Thanks Meter: 615
 
More
Assuming I am BL unlocked, rooted and on 4.1.2 with CWM installed after using the utility, can I then just flash the latest CM 10.1 nightly?
Can I safely remove Safestrap now and just use CWM instead? Thanks.
29th April 2013, 01:24 AM |#21  
LifeAsADroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Awesomeville, USA
Thanks Meter: 312
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by v12xke

Assuming I am BL unlocked, rooted and on 4.1.2 with CWM installed after using the utility, can I then just flash the latest CM 10.1 nightly?
Can I safely remove Safestrap now and just use CWM instead? Thanks.

Yes, I believe I read somewhere that once the bootloader is unlocked we can use CWM and that safestrap is obsolete. I have used CWM already and it worked perfectly to restore a backup I had.

Still trying to get my phone to download and install 4.1.2 though...

What are the benefits of 4.1.2 over 4.1.1 again?
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes