FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

igo 8 does not work

23 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Pinraiser, Junior Member on 21st May 2009, 09:30 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
25th May 2009, 12:43 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Wait
Wait wait !

In french, we have a sentence : "Ne pas mettre la charrue avant les boeufs"

Your error message only tell us that igo don't find a file.

First thing : how do you installed igo ?

I could see two things in your case :

- maybe there is another ini file in the main memory, program files folder, of your device and the one on storage card is not used
- maybe the link on the start menu that you use try to go to another folder than storagecard\igo8

Try to run igo directly from the folder on your storage card by launching the app from file explorer.

Kinds regards
 
 
25th May 2009, 02:51 PM |#12  
freco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 93
 
More
Your data.zip (or your skin file) has not the apropriate files for touch pro resolution.
Try a diferent data.zip that works with your iGO8 version.

If you accidentaly choose a skin that does not work with touch pro when you last run iGO8, and after restart does not start anymore, just go to \Storage Card(..whatever)\iGO8\Contents\Skin\ and delete it. It will start with the default skin.

Good luck.

Edit. My sys.txt has nothing related to 640x480 or 480x640.

[folders]
app="%SDCARD%/iGO8"

[interface]
maxzoom2d=6000000
show_exit=1

[rawdisplay]
screen_x=
screen_y=

[tts]
tts_buffer=131072
announce_exit_directions=1
tts_logics=3
priority="HIGH"
always_say_road_names=1
announce_street_name=1
skip_exit_numbers=0

[3d]
show_guidance_strip=1
show_guidance_arrows=1
guidancearrow_first_size=1.5
guidancearrow_first_alpha=24
guidancearrow_second_size=0.8
guidancearrow_second_alpha=12

[map]
3d_scale_carmodel=1
3dcarsizemin=2500
3dcarsizemax=4000
3dcarsizemul=30000

[roundaboutcam]
enabled=0
centery=20

[dynamiccompressor]
compressor=1
ratio=9
gain=9

[sound]
ding=0
queue_length=200
mute_os_key=1

[debug]
sound_q_length=200
tts_min_ready_wav= 1
tts_getaway_time=100
tts_expected_engine_delay=400
25th May 2009, 08:09 PM |#13  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks for your reaction freco

i tried your sugestions, but the directory content was already empty!

In copied your sys.txt to mine and started the aplication and get the following message:

Program application database cannot be found. Please insert original application SD card.

The sys.txt file begins with:

[folders]
app=%Opslagkaart(stand for SDCARD)%/iGO8, is this the sentence where it goes wrong?

Jena
26th May 2009, 11:22 AM |#14  
freco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 93
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinraiser

i tried your sugestions, but the directory content was already empty!

Folder Content should not be empty. It has to contain the following folders,

Building -> (files to see buildings on the map, can be empty though)
Dem -> (file to see mountains etc, can be empty though)
Lang -> (Language files)
Map -> (Map files)
Poi -> (Poi files)
Scheme -> (Color Shemes)
Speedcam -> (Speedcam database)
Voice -> (Voise files)
Skin (optional)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinraiser

The sys.txt file begins with:

[folders]
app=%Opslagkaart(stand for SDCARD)%/iGO8, is this the sentence where it goes wrong?

Jena

Maybe that 's the main problem. If you open a file explorer what is the path to iGO8 folder? Try to write this path at app=

This works fine for me too

[folders]
app="/Storage Card/iGO8"
26th May 2009, 07:46 PM |#15  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Unhappy
Quote:
Originally Posted by freco


This works fine for me too

[folders]
app="/Storage Card/iGO8"

freco,

I tried again your suggestions, and i thought i was a step closer? but ........
The folder content has the folders you named, so....

the path to igo8 folder i looked for and i make a change for that.
And i must say he starts when i dubbel click the igo8.exe, but then he return to the folder where igo8. exe is and nothing happen further.

need i say more..............
26th May 2009, 08:44 PM |#16  
freco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 93
 
More
Did you run iGO8 setup? Returning back to explorer means does not start.
26th May 2009, 09:26 PM |#17  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i cant get igo8 to work on my Fuze either! its driving me insane. it looks like it is about to open up fine and then it just shuts off. i have tried everything u guys have suggested here, please let me know if you find a solution.

thank you =/
26th May 2009, 11:29 PM |#18  
Senior Member
Flag NoVa
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by techkills

i cant get igo8 to work on my Fuze either! its driving me insane. it looks like it is about to open up fine and then it just shuts off. i have tried everything u guys have suggested here, please let me know if you find a solution.

thank you =/

sent you a pm
27th May 2009, 08:52 AM |#19  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by freco

Did you run iGO8 setup?

what do you mean with, did you run iGO8 setup?

I copied the whole iGO8 directory to my HTC touch pro SD card and double clicked on the iGO8.exe file (and offcourse i changed the system.txt file)
27th May 2009, 10:01 AM |#20  
freco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 93
 
More
Check your PM.
27th May 2009, 10:36 AM |#21  
srieman's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag right here!
Thanks Meter: 0
 
Donate to Me
More
SOLUTION
What version of igo 8 are you using? I had the same error message you have, it turned out I was using a version of igo8 that wasn't totally compatible with my phone. Once I installed a 100% compatible version it was fine.

The version I'm using is 8.3.2.64029 from nov 7 2008, if you can't find this version let me know.

Also, you do NOT want to use the 240 x 320 resolution, you should use 800x480 and the highres setting in [rawdisplay] should read: highres=0. You can also use 400 x 240, but you have to change the highres setting in [rawdisplay] to: highres=1

igo 8.3.2.64029 is compatible with both resolutions. If you end up using another version, this is how you determine what resolution(s) your version is compatible with: (please forgive me if you already know this)

Open the data.zip file which is in the top level igo8 directory.
Navigate to the ui_igo8 folder and open it.
Each compatible resolution will have a folder in the ui_igo8 folder, ie; ui_igo8\400_240
ui_igo8\800_480

If you see 2 folders with the same resolution, but reversed:
ui_igo8\400_240
ui_igo8\240_400
400_240 is for landscape
240_400 is for portrait

I don't know why this is done as you can change your screen from portrait to landscape or vice versa in the advanced settings section of igo8 without the need for 2 seperate resolution folders.
Here are some things I have in my sys.txt:

[folders]
app="%SDCARD%/iGO8"

[loading]
show_progressbar=0
show_statustext=0

[rawdisplay]
driver=gdi
class="landscape"
screen_x=800
screen_y=480
highres=0

If you would like to see the entire file, let me know. It's really long, that's why I didn't post it here.

Please let me know if you have any other question & good luck!

peace,
stacy
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes