FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Guide] How to debrand/flash your HTC 7 Mozart

456 posts
Thanks Meter: 56
 
By Casey_boy, Retired Recognized Developer on 21st March 2011, 07:34 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
This is a guide on how to flash a new ROM to your HTC 7 Mozart, without using Goldcard. This method can be used to update your ROM or to debrand your phone.

This method was outlined here by theintelligent. I've also used info from here by alalai. I take no credit for discovering this, but thought it deserved a pinned topic to help stop the multiple "how do I flash" topics and to make it easier for users to find the information.

Before you start

This WILL debrand your phone (remove network customisations) and it will enable you to receive updates as soon as Microsoft release them (rather than waiting for the operators).

It WILL NOT unlock your device (to allow you to use other network's SIMs). You will need to use a commercial service for this.

You WILL be able to update your phone to NoDo (and later leaked versions when they appear).

Preparation

I'm not sure why, I think it may be due to getting the right drivers installed, but you will need to install one of the following:
Windows XP users:
Install Microsoft ActiveSync .

Windows Vista/7 users:

Install Windows Mobile Device Center - make sure you install the right version 32/64bit depending upon your OS version.
Ensure that your phone's battery has at least 50% charge.

Download and flash your ROMs

Yes, I said ROMs - if you want to debrand your phone, you will need to download two sets of ROMs. If you're just updating and not debranding then you'll just need to download one ROM.
  1. Download a ROM which is by the same network as you're on (for example if you're phone is currently locked to Orange UK then download RUU_Mozart_Orange_UK_1.22.061.10_Radio_5.50.09.18_ 22.24.50.09U, by ansar. - do not download 1.30!).
  2. Open up ActiveSync/Mobile Device Center
  3. Flash this ROM to your phone (you may not need to do this step, but most users will).
    • Turn your phone off.
    • Put your phone into Bootloader Mode - this can be done by pressing and holding the Volume Down Key & Power Button.
    • Plug your phone into your PC, hopefully a HTC USB driver will install.
    • Once the driver is installed your phone should display USB mode.
    • Extract the zip file and then run the exe file
    • Run through the update process
    • When your ROM is flashed, your phone will want you to customise it - just do the basic stuff.
  4. Download the ROM you would like to flash (e.g. RUU_Mozart_HTC_Europe_1.30.401.01_5.54.09.21_22.33 b.50_RELEASE).
  5. Extract the unbranded ROM zip file and then extract the exe file (WinZip will not do this - try 7zip or similar).
  6. Copy the RUU_signed.nbh from the unbranded ROM
  7. Extract the branded ROM exe
  8. Paste the RUU_signed.nbh from the unbranded ROM to branded ROM
  9. Plug your phone back into the PC in bootloader mode
  10. Run RomUpdateUtility.exe file from the branded ROM (but with the unbranded RUU_signed.nbh file)
  11. Follow the steps...
  12. Et voila, you'll have (if all goes well) and unbranded ROM installed
  13. Last step, plug your phone back into your PC and run Zune. Your phone should receive the latest cumulative update.

Let me know if anything isn't clear or needs updating. I am not going to list all ROMs, but there are a plethora of them available here.

Casey
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Casey_boy For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Casey_boy Ad-Free
 
 
22nd March 2011, 03:32 AM |#2  
trixnix's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Quezon City
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
thanks so much for this. i will try asap if my asia unbranded mozart will be flashed.


edit: question if i dont want to unbrand my mozart coz it already unbranded asia will i flash the htc_europe rom only? pls enlighten mo. ima little confused. =)
22nd March 2011, 09:25 AM |#3  
Casey_boy's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixnix

edit: question if i dont want to unbrand my mozart coz it already unbranded asia will i flash the htc_europe rom only? pls enlighten mo. ima little confused. =)

Yes, if you're sure it's unbranded, then you can flash any ROM you like. Just make sure there's no difference between Asian and European models (I honestly don't know either way).

Casey
22nd March 2011, 10:41 AM |#4  
Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
This is probably a stupid question but, after debranding can you still install operator specific apps (such as Orange UK's 'Your Orange' app) from the Marketplace?
22nd March 2011, 11:23 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omega Point

This is probably a stupid question but, after debranding can you still install operator specific apps (such as Orange UK's 'Your Orange' app) from the Marketplace?

yes u can if u find it on the marketplace
they are apps like others
22nd March 2011, 04:39 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i am from algeria.
after a sucessfull flash, pin code requested.

is there a solution?
23rd March 2011, 11:36 AM |#7  
pedaah's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
did you have the phone pin locked before you did the update? otherwise the default is usually 0000
24th March 2011, 10:52 AM |#8  
Junior Member
Taipei
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
i try to flash my asian version Mozart,

when i open the ROMUpdateUtility after it starts,

the Windows Mobile Device Center will automatically close, is that normal?


i flashed "RUU_Mozart_hTC_Asia_WWE_1.26.707.01_Radio_5.51.09 .06_22.30.50.09U_by_ansar" first

And i paste the RUU_signed.nbh of "RUU_Mozart_HTC_Europe_1.30.401.01_5.54.09.21_22.3 3b.50_RELEASE" and flashed it.

the RUU always show invaild vender

thx u
24th March 2011, 03:51 PM |#9  
Casey_boy's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 56
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alljerry04

i flashed "RUU_Mozart_hTC_Asia_WWE_1.26.707.01_Radio_5.51.09 .06_22.30.50.09U_by_ansar" first

And i paste the RUU_signed.nbh of "RUU_Mozart_HTC_Europe_1.30.401.01_5.54.09.21_22.3 3b.50_RELEASE" and flashed it.

the RUU always show invaild vender

I'm not sure if you can cross regions - I haven't tried it - someone else here may know. Maybe try another ROM.
24th March 2011, 04:01 PM |#10  
R3PUBL1K's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ɒzəl.twɪzəl
Thanks Meter: 20
 
Donate to Me
More
Hi,

Great post.

If you going to flash via the bootloader then AS or WMDC do not need to be running.

Before attempting to flash a device ensure the battery has a charge of more than 50%

It is always good practise to perform another hard reset after flashing a ROM.
24th March 2011, 04:20 PM |#11  
R3PUBL1K's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ɒzəl.twɪzəl
Thanks Meter: 20
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alljerry04

i try to flash my asian version Mozart,


i flashed "RUU_Mozart_hTC_Asia_WWE_1.26.707.01_Radio_5.51.09 .06_22.30.50.09U_by_ansar" first

And i paste the RUU_signed.nbh of "RUU_Mozart_HTC_Europe_1.30.401.01_5.54.09.21_22.3 3b.50_RELEASE" and flashed it.

the RUU always show invaild vender

thx u

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casey_boy

I'm not sure if you can cross regions - I haven't tried it - someone else here may know. Maybe try another ROM.

Hi,

I think you will need to create a goldcard and purchase a cable (new days) or even HARD-SPL or CID (old days) to unlock your device if you want to flash ROMS from different regions, when the option becomes available for the Mozart. (if ever).
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes