FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

easyroot+S-off mac/linux

807 posts
Thanks Meter: 353
 
Post Reply Email Thread
I have made a script of the most popular guide for rooting the Thunderbolt right now.

http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/03...ts-bootloader/

Long story short, I have not tested this enough to guarantee it will work for everyone. It can run on both Mac and Linux, and only requires that curl is installed (by default on Mac, and most Linux distros). I have made absolutely sure that the script did not run anything what-so-ever that is damaging without letting you verify that you want to continue several times.

Please only test at this time if you know your way around adb, and are willing to run into non-damaging issues (it may fail, but I assure you, no damage is done)

usage
Make sure the phone is plugged in and adb is installed and working, and device is showing. Start a terminal IN the adb directory and put this script in there. Start it as usual in a terminal? (rename oneClick.txt to oneClick.sh)

Both AndroidPolice & AndIRC are nor affiliated with this root process or responsible for it.
Attached Files
File Type: txt oneClick.txt - [Click for QR Code] (4.2 KB, 497 views)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kdb424 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kdb424 Ad-Free
 
 
24th March 2011, 06:24 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
has anyone tested this? i have a mac but am not experienced in adb...was going to give it a shot when i got off work today.

@kdb424, is there some way you could provide more detailed instructions for adb noobs? if not, i'll try dbzfanatic's easy root or attempt this after learning adb myself first.
24th March 2011, 08:33 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 353
 
Donate to Me
More
First off, thanks andrew8806 for doing that edit. I knew I had missed something.
Second, the only thing you should have to do on a mac to verify this is going to work is make sure adb is installed, and make sure your device comes up in adb devices.
If that's good, all you need to do is open a terminal and type "cd " and drag and drop the folder that adb is installed into (depending on where you installed it, it could be different or I'd just type it) then put the script in there and run

sh ./oneClick.sh

and follow the instructions in the script.
24th March 2011, 09:31 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
will this still wipe data?
24th March 2011, 09:37 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 353
 
Donate to Me
More
Yes, absolutely. Long story short is that it requires that an old build be flashed on your phone so that can be hacked. It's the only know method of rooting now. All one clicks are just abusing that and simplifying as much as possible.
25th March 2011, 02:06 AM |#6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
just got done rooting with my macbook pro. the script kdb424 wrote worked really well. there were a few hiccups along the way, not sure if they were from my terminal glitching or the script or my phone or whatever, but it worked, flashing clockworkmod right now to change the ROM.

for anyone curious, sometimes the script would just stop because some command missed or something. i would just edit kdb424's script to remove the portion that i already completed and rerun the script essentially starting it up again wherever it messed up. at the end i ran the last few lines myself but overall it was quite helpful to root, especially for someone new to ADB like me.
The Following User Says Thank You to bkiminfinity For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bkiminfinity Ad-Free
25th March 2011, 07:48 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 353
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkiminfinity

just got done rooting with my macbook pro. the script kdb424 wrote worked really well. there were a few hiccups along the way, not sure if they were from my terminal glitching or the script or my phone or whatever, but it worked, flashing clockworkmod right now to change the ROM.

for anyone curious, sometimes the script would just stop because some command missed or something. i would just edit kdb424's script to remove the portion that i already completed and rerun the script essentially starting it up again wherever it messed up. at the end i ran the last few lines myself but overall it was quite helpful to root, especially for someone new to ADB like me.

Thank you so much. I'm glad to hear success. I know ADB has some issues that I can not resolve. It's the same no matter how you root. Do you remember what portions gave you trouble specifically? I could take a closer look at it and iron hose things out. Once again, thanks again, and glad I could help!
25th March 2011, 11:00 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Willing to try this once things get ironed out.
26th March 2011, 04:31 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdb424

Do you remember what portions gave you trouble specifically? I could take a closer look at it and iron hose things out. Once again, thanks again, and glad I could help!

all of the md5 sums and outputs were correct so there were no brick possibility i think. if i recall correctly, sometimes pushing the PS05IMG.zip would not execute properly and the script would not continue until i reran it. i think that might've happened with both the downgrade and the s-off one, can't say for certain. some parts that hiccuped may have just been my tbolt needing extra reboots so i don't think that was the script's fault. towards the end i would just run the lines myself, i think i had to redo the ./adb shell /data/local/psneuter line the most before it took properly. i believe that was it, like i had said it was quite helpful and greatly expedited the rooting process.
26th March 2011, 05:32 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Im expierienced with ADB and I have a mac. Will be trying this out now. Reporting back soon.....



Edit (after using scipt)

While the script is great, the end just turns into a #failfest. It refuses to the final file to my SD card and sites that its read only. The end I am doing manually. The rest of the script is amzing and gets a A+
28th March 2011, 08:13 AM |#11  
OP Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 353
 
Donate to Me
More
Thank you so much for your feedback. I'll be looking into that. If I come up with any typos in the script, I'll update and let you know. ADB is known to act odd at times, so it may be pure ADB's fault. Definitely taking a look into though,. Enjoy your root!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes