FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

*ROOTED*Rooting acer a500

242 posts
Thanks Meter: 92

By colbur87, Senior Member on 22nd April 2011, 04:51 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I've been in Chicago so sorry.

Iconia has been rooted,details in this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...3&postcount=82
Credit goes to those posted in that thread.

*4-26*
Alright folks,

I got small news that ill update tomorrow with. I'm out of town and ill be back in the AM.

*4-25*
I've had a some time to mess around with this. So I don't think the root will come with the update.zip file. I have been unsuccessful with getting the tablet to run my modified update.zip file. Im guessing that honeycomb has a special digital signature but im no expert lol. So the root is going to have to come else where. I'm about 95% sure that I have a working su file but the task comes to copying it /system/bin and changing the permissions.

Also, when acer releases an update; it will shed some light on the image. If anyone has any ideas shoot me a PM because 2 brains are better then my one.

*Original post*
Ok first of all, the a500 def needs a dedicated forum. I think with the requests in this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=998123 and the fact that the tablet is just coming out is good reason enough......

Ok, so I got mine yesterday and I just started tinkering with it today. It appears there is some type of bootloader to say the least. I don't think rooting will be difficult at all.

If you press the Volume up and Power button, the tablet apperas to look for a file called you guess it, update.zip! It then says "rebooting recovery image"

So I know this is not much progress, but im going to be working on making a root method...
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to colbur87 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift colbur87 Ad-Free

23rd April 2011, 03:53 AM |#2  
Thanks Meter: 1

More
Great Mate let me know how you go....