FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[solved] com.android.phone has stopped unexpectedly and no network connection

14 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By eladmagen, Junior Member on 27th April 2011, 01:02 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
hello everyone,

i'm a newbie and just tried to flash the rom of my phone to a newer version and then i got to the point where i needed help.

my phone is x10mini baseband m76xx-tsncjolym-53404015 with kernel 2.6.29 and 2.1.1.A.0.6 firmware.

first i root my phone http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=833722
then i install xrecovery http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=878426x and copied everyting to system/bin ...

after wiping the settings (factory settings) in xrecovery, installing MIMICM6 1.00 and restarting, i got an error message saying "com.android.phone has stopped unexpectedly" repeatedly (each time two messages) and also no network (gsm) connectivaty.

then i though that maybe i need another rom.. so i tried xCyanogenMini - Gigglebread - v10 and got the same thing. same with Srom-2.3.3Gingerbread-v1 and then ... i decided to try to go back to factory-empty-backup and i got network connectivaty and no error messages whatsoever.

so it seems that my phone dont like non-official roms?

any help in this matter ?

thanks,
elad
 
 
27th April 2011, 03:50 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag madras
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eladmagen

hello everyone,

i'm a newbie and just tried to flash the rom of my phone to a newer version and then i got to the point where i needed help.

my phone is x10mini baseband m76xx-tsncjolym-53404015 with kernel 2.6.29 and 2.1.1.A.0.6 firmware.

first i root my phone http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=833722
then i install xrecovery http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=878426x and copied everyting to system/bin ...

after wiping the settings (factory settings) in xrecovery, installing MIMICM6 1.00 and restarting, i got an error message saying "com.android.phone has stopped unexpectedly" repeatedly (each time two messages) and also no network (gsm) connectivaty.

then i though that maybe i need another rom.. so i tried xCyanogenMini - Gigglebread - v10 and got the same thing. same with Srom-2.3.3Gingerbread-v1 and then ... i decided to try to go back to factory-empty-backup and i got network connectivaty and no error messages whatsoever.

so it seems that my phone dont like non-official roms?

any help in this matter ?

thanks,
elad

1)use SEUS to clean up and install the official FW.
2)root and then install Xrecovery
30backup your fw using Xrecovery
4)copy to your sd card and rename the downloaded CM1 as update
5)install through Xrecovery using the update zip option
6)only then do a factory reset---REMEMBER only after you install your custom ROM
7)reboot
NOTE---ensure that you format your sd card(and avoid having any partition) before you start all this but of course after backing up the contents of your sd card so that you can copy all of it back again.
Best wishes.

.................do press the thanks button if this helps..................
27th April 2011, 04:15 AM |#3  
epaljr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bermuda Triangle
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
how to make partition of sd card?
27th April 2011, 05:01 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Flag madras
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by epaljr

how to make partition of sd card?

very easy--start by reading http://www.partitionwizard.com/free-...n-manager.html
....download to your pc the free software,connect your phone with the sd card in it,mount and then use what you have read carefully.
One thumb rule to remember is that the size of the partition that you create should be not more than 10% the size of your sd card---eg if you have an sd card that is 2GB in size.don't make a partition larger than 200MB....
For most of your needs,it is better to create and ext 3 partition,of course PRIMARY.

...do press the thanks button if this helps......
The Following User Says Thank You to sathkartha For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sathkartha Ad-Free
27th April 2011, 05:03 AM |#5  
epaljr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bermuda Triangle
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sathkartha

very easy--start by reading http://www.partitionwizard.com/free-...n-manager.html
....download to your pc the free software,connect your phone with the sd card in it,mount and then use what you have read carefully.
One thumb rule to remember is that the size of the partition that you create should be not more than 10% the size of your sd card---eg if you have an sd card that is 2GB in size.don't make a partition larger than 200MB....
For most of your needs,it is better to create and ext 3 partition,of course PRIMARY.

...do press the thanks button if this helps......

thanks dude.. it works.
27th April 2011, 06:29 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag madras
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
@epaljr---glad I could be of some help.
The Following User Says Thank You to sathkartha For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift sathkartha Ad-Free
27th April 2011, 10:26 AM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sathkartha

1)use SEUS to clean up and install the official FW.
2)root and then install Xrecovery
30backup your fw using Xrecovery
4)copy to your sd card and rename the downloaded CM1 as update
5)install through Xrecovery using the update zip option
6)only then do a factory reset---REMEMBER only after you install your custom ROM
7)reboot
NOTE---ensure that you format your sd card(and avoid having any partition) before you start all this but of course after backing up the contents of your sd card so that you can copy all of it back again.
Best wishes.

.................do press the thanks button if this helps..................


hello sathkartha and thank you very much for your quick answer !
what you described is just what i did... step by step... without success so far.
i will try to do anything again from scratch (starting with the SEUS) and hope it will do better this time... will keep u posted.

thanks again
27th April 2011, 11:09 AM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
app2sd
btw, i wanted 2 ask - according to the root article in the forum there are two main stages, the root itself and then the installataion of app2sd usind the adb shell... so.. i wanted to ask what is the app2sd for ? is it required ?

thanks!
27th April 2011, 11:26 AM |#9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
hey,

sorry about the multiple posts... i've just tried to redo everything frmo scratch.
i payed extra attention to what i actually need todo lol since i'm still little new in this.. and i think that everything was done right (root, xrec, update rom ...) but i still get the same result. right after the initial (2mins) boot when i get the android logo and the 'click to begin' text, i'm getting the same annoying com.android.phone error and i see no network connection on the icons on the top bar.

what can be the cause? the phone seems to be working fine with the original sony rom and the other roms seems to be working fine... only with no network which brings those annyoing messages.

any ideas???

thanks
27th April 2011, 12:08 PM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
ohh this is annoying! no computer have come to defeat me so far (i'm a pretty advanced user hehe).., and as u can guess i'm still playing with this thing.

currently the biggest progress that i could make (same on every rom) is that if i'm able to tap the phone into airplane mode the errors stops (but still no network connection ofcourse). then if i leave it on airplace mode, reboot and disable airplane i'm able to go into the network setting for a sec before it crush and even get the list of providers. for a sec it seems like its connecting and then.. the same error. i tried to disable network data, to set only 2g providors.. and any setting i've tried so far gave me the same annoying com.android.phone error.

from what i can understand.. the error that i have is related to the sim card somehow? so i tried to take the usim card off and see whats up.. the result? no error but still no network connection (duh), but this time it seems like everything is working fine? i'm able to get into all of the network settings without airplane mode and etc and list the network providers but nothing more as u can guess because i dont have a sim installed.

anyway, i'm hopeless, dunno how to continue from here.

needs ideas! :)

thanks again everyone! and btw: this forum kickass!
27th April 2011, 03:12 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag madras
Thanks Meter: 151
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eladmagen

hey,

sorry about the multiple posts... i've just tried to redo everything frmo scratch.
i payed extra attention to what i actually need todo lol since i'm still little new in this.. and i think that everything was done right (root, xrec, update rom ...) but i still get the same result. right after the initial (2mins) boot when i get the android logo and the 'click to begin' text, i'm getting the same annoying com.android.phone error and i see no network connection on the icons on the top bar.

what can be the cause? the phone seems to be working fine with the original sony rom and the other roms seems to be working fine... only with no network which brings those annyoing messages.

any ideas???

thanks


just wondering---after installation of CM1 and when your phone boots and you see the opening screen with a green android with the text,you click on the android to begin okay?On the following and subsequent screens,click on 'skip' button instead of sign in etc right upto the stage it ends with 'finish'.
You will then see the launcher and the home screen from which go to 'settings'---wireless networks----mobile networks-----now on this list check and enable data traffic.By default,this is not enabled and it will not facilitate data.
This is the only thing I can think of that you may have to redo properly and wish you all the luck.
Best wishes.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes