FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[TUT][ARC]how to get rooted 2.3.3 with locked bootloader

1,209 posts
Thanks Meter: 369
 
Post Reply Email Thread
First of all thanks to kokbiel for discovering this!

Do not try this if you have an unlocked bootloader or if you dont know what your doing! I'm not resposible if you break or brick your phone!

If you're allready on a rooted .181 or .184 and OTA update is available for you just update your firmware. If there is no OTA update available for your customazation version follow these instuctions:
- flash back to 3.0.A.2.181 generic with the flashtool
- Use Gingerbreak or Superoneclick to root your device
- Update your Arc using a OTA(over the air) update(Go to settings->About phone->Software update)
- Enjoy your rooted 2.3.3!!!

Update 1: it seems that the OTA update is not working if you did any modifications to/deleted system files so it's adviced to always flash the .181 firmware provided in this post
Update 2: if you have any battery problems after flashing the .181 firmware(if it's only showing 1%) removing the battery for a few minutes should solve this
Update 3: thanks to ricstc we now have a video tutorial on how to follow these instructions
Update 4: if you want you can keep your user data by unchecking the whipe user data in the flashtool while selecting the correct ftf file. this will cause a lot of error message's on 2.3.2 but just click them away and continue the procedure, after upgrading again to 2.3.3 the error message's will be gone!
Update 5: this methode still works with the new 4.0.A.2.368 firmware! if you don't get the OTA update with the provided .181 firmware try flashing the .184 firmware and try the OTA again

At the moment there are a lot of battery problems when you downgrade from 2.3.4 if you have any problem follow this or this thread for a possible solution
The Following 70 Users Say Thank You to kistigun For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kistigun Ad-Free
 
 
8th June 2011, 02:46 PM |#2  
punkmonkey1984's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucheon 부천시
Thanks Meter: 610
 
More
In general how long did it take for Gingerbreak / superoneclick to do its stuff.
iv been waiting about 5-10 minutes with nothing. :S
8th June 2011, 02:53 PM |#3  
kistigun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Weert
Thanks Meter: 369
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by punkmonkey1984

In general how long did it take for Gingerbreak / superoneclick to do its stuff.
iv been waiting about 5-10 minutes with nothing. :S

can take up to 20 minutes, can't say for sure.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kistigun For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kistigun Ad-Free
8th June 2011, 02:57 PM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by punkmonkey1984

In general how long did it take for Gingerbreak / superoneclick to do its stuff.
iv been waiting about 5-10 minutes with nothing. :S

the process of obtaining root took me 3-4 minutes
8th June 2011, 02:59 PM |#5  
punkmonkey1984's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucheon 부천시
Thanks Meter: 610
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tRippinthehead

the process of obtaining root took me 3-4 minutes

Ill try a fresh formatted SD card and try again :S
Did you get "SD card safe to remove" message on the status bar?
8th June 2011, 03:01 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by punkmonkey1984

Ill try a fresh formatted SD card and try again :S
Did you get "SD card safe to remove" message on the status bar?

Yes. It's ok.
8th June 2011, 03:01 PM |#7  
kistigun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Weert
Thanks Meter: 369
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by punkmonkey1984

Ill try a fresh formatted SD card and try again :S
Did you get "SD card safe to remove" message on the status bar?

yes, just reboot and try again
The Following User Says Thank You to kistigun For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kistigun Ad-Free
8th June 2011, 03:04 PM |#8  
punkmonkey1984's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucheon 부천시
Thanks Meter: 610
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kistigun

yes, just reboot and try again

But it always says "SD card is saft to remove" i am using the Global customized firmware, but dont think that would be the case in any means, can you provide a link to the one you used kistigun please ?
Im on a fresh install so might as well try the version you used lol.
8th June 2011, 03:10 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
More
finds the update, but then I can not update via OTA, the phone says to me - "could not connect to network"
8th June 2011, 03:10 PM |#10  
kistigun's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Weert
Thanks Meter: 369
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by punkmonkey1984

But it always says "SD card is saft to remove" i am using the Global customized firmware, but dont think that would be the case in any means, can you provide a link to the one you used kistigun please ?
Im on a fresh install so might as well try the version you used lol.

i've updated the first post with a link to the firmware i've used
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kistigun For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift kistigun Ad-Free
8th June 2011, 03:12 PM |#11  
punkmonkey1984's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucheon 부천시
Thanks Meter: 610
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kistigun

i've updated the first post with a link to the firmware i've used

Thanks ill try and report back.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes