FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[APP][4.0+][v2.8.3.1] BubbleUPnP - UPnP/DLNA/Chromecast Control Point and Renderer

5,772 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,179
 
Post Reply Email Thread
13th June 2018, 02:40 AM |#13751  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbleguuum

Do you have a dynamic ip address/hostname attributed by your ISP ? If dynamic, it changes regularly and you must use a (free) dyndns service to have a stable public hostname that you can fill in the BubbleUPnP Server web config 'Network and security' tab

Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbleguuum

Please send me (bubbleguuum@free.fr) the BubbleUPnP Server log file, located in /root/.bubbleupnpserver/BubbleUPnPServer.log.0

I did a clean install of Ubuntu 18.04 on a freshly formatted hard drive to clean out any random junk. Looks like I'm having a problem with my DDNS.

I can connect remotely when using my IP address or the public address that is picked up from Fios. But when I change to my no-ip DDNS, it won't connect through the app. It will, however, connect to the server using the DDNS in a mobile browser.

Are there any specific settings you can suggest for setting up a No-IP DDNS? I was using a Port Redirect in order to specify the port number. (my.ddns.com = 123.45.67.890:58050) I know I have the name right and the IP address b/c it works in a browser.
e.

UPDATE / SOLVED: Specifying the port on the DDNS was causing the problem. I had the DDNS using a "port 80 redirect" because it was the only way to specify the port at the DDNS.

Instead of using my.ddns.com set to point to myIPaddress:58050, I chanaged it just to point to myIPaddress, and specified the port as my.ddns.com:58050. Back in business.
 
 
14th June 2018, 02:22 PM |#13752  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,179
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fujo1975

Hi

I'm using the new beta version 3.0p2 and I noticed the exit button the notification pulldown is absent. I usually exit using that method as it it much easier than going back into app to do it when I'm usually using my phone for something else while watching a downloaded video on TV (streamed using BubbleUPnP via DLNA through my Xbox One). Btw, I am using a LG G6 with Android Oreo 8.0

@fujo1975

Notification X button will be back, in place of the 'prev track' button (because it was not possible to add it without replacing another button).
See the Google+ post comments for more info.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fujo1975

By the way, I've used your app for several years now and absolutely love it. It basically does EVERYTHING I need it to and does it easily and quickly. Will you be adding Spotify or SoundCloud support at any time? I personally much prefer Google Play Music, but have friends who use my phone who prefer on of the others. Spotify will stream through my Xbox but I don't think SoundCloud does. The only reason I as is they also allow me to play music in the background while doing something else on my Xbox whereas Google Music does not. Thanks.

Spotify can work with the Audio Cast Xposed module. SoundCloud works by sharing tracks/playlists from the SoundCloud app to BubbleUPnP. Not direct integration but better than nothing.
The Following User Says Thank You to bubbleguuum For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bubbleguuum Ad-Free
14th June 2018, 02:24 PM |#13753  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,179
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by burak.82

hi, registered user here, love your app. i have a small issue. i try to cast from my phone to my tv and movie starts however after 2-3 secs , it drops .

i am streaming from my pc thats sitting at the end of the flat, pc connected via tp-link powerline adapter with 100mbps.

what can be the isse? thanks alot

@burak.82

You can send me a log file if you wish, attempting to stream a problematic movie to your TV until it stops. See first post for logging instructions.
14th June 2018, 02:27 PM |#13754  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,179
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by taimei

@bubbleguuum

How is "DSF(DSD) file's tags support" going?

@taimei

It's been totally forgotten due to the work on v3.
I will look into it after v3.
The Following User Says Thank You to bubbleguuum For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bubbleguuum Ad-Free
14th June 2018, 02:31 PM |#13755  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,179
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDevilsDemons

I'm trying to use the app on my note 8 and it tells me to enable Setting>local and cast> enable remote browsing. I enabled nearby device scanning but I can't seem to find the equivalent on android 8.0.

@TheDevilsDemons

It refers to BubbleUPnP Settings, on the device on which you want its local media to be accessible by other devices. It has nothing to do with 'nearby device scanning'.
The Following User Says Thank You to bubbleguuum For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift bubbleguuum Ad-Free
14th June 2018, 04:20 PM |#13756  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Multiple Duplicate Servers showing in App and Server
Suddenly started having duplicte servers show up in the app and can't find a way to "clear the cache" or anything like that.
I have unchecked each server in the webui and restart the bubble server, hoping to clear them, but it hasn't worked.

I now have 4 icons for each of my media servers and can't tell which are the "real" ones.

I searched back through the forum, but other references to duplicates were advised to check "settings > network" which no longer exists in the app or on the server admin.

THanks for the help!
15th June 2018, 06:44 AM |#13757  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Is there any sort of a renderer that I can plug into a TV that will allow me to stream from my phone and does not require an internet connection. Preferably without the need for a local network. I use Bubbleupnp with chromecast and it works great, but I'm thinking of hotel rooms.
16th June 2018, 11:35 AM |#13758  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Just installed the latest v3 beta on my Android 8, I noticed the "stop" button is missing and there is also no way exit BubbleUPnP from the drop down notification. Exiting from the app requires pressing "more" then "X" which is a bit counterintuitive, took me a while to figure out.

May I also ask what "extract embedded subtitles" actually does? I assume it allows you to use the subtitle embedded within the videos, but it has never actually worked?

Another problem with BubbleUPnP is that seeking bar is extremely difficult control. I have to go off the edge of the screen to get to the seeking bar. But then I'd find myself inadvertently bring up the side menu instead of seeking. And the bar is too thin and the timer is blocked by the finger when adjusting. Hopefully, v3 would improve on that eventually.

Update: I see the notification X button has been answered above already.
16th June 2018, 08:39 PM |#13759  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
hi,

this could be me not following changes closely enough, but i had a problem with volume that i eventually tracked to a bubbleupnp setting.

when i use my ultraRendu in mpd/dlna mode all was fine but when i set the ultraRendu to NAA mode i got no sound.
after debugging my HQPlayer and ultraRendu settings (and finding nothing wrong), i found that my bubbleupnp volume was at minimum with the NAA
renderer. I didn't notice this because i had disabled volume control (I thought) and therefore hidden the volume slider.
When i unhid the volume, the problem was clear and moving the slider to 100% got me where I wanted to be.

Is this because there are/were now 'per renderer' volume levels saved somewhere?
If so, I didn't see that setting.

so, i'm fine here now, but wanted to pass this one to 1) get clarity here on what was happening and 2) give you a heads up in case someone else runs into this.

thanks for a fine app!
17th June 2018, 02:48 PM |#13760  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,179
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplydat

Just installed the latest v3 beta on my Android 8, I noticed the "stop" button is missing and there is also no way exit BubbleUPnP from the drop down notification. Exiting from the app requires pressing "more" then "X" which is a bit counterintuitive, took me a while to figure out.

May I also ask what "extract embedded subtitles" actually does? I assume it allows you to use the subtitle embedded within the videos, but it has never actually worked?

Another problem with BubbleUPnP is that seeking bar is extremely difficult control. I have to go off the edge of the screen to get to the seeking bar. But then I'd find myself inadvertently bring up the side menu instead of seeking. And the bar is too thin and the timer is blocked by the finger when adjusting. Hopefully, v3 would improve on that eventually.

Update: I see the notification X button has been answered above already.

@simplydat

Notification X button will be back in the next update, replacing the 'prev track' button.

"extract embedded subtitles" is done by BubbleUPnP Server to extract eventual text based embedded subtitles in MKV and MP4, for playing to Chromecast.
It does work but it can take up to a few minutes to extract, the first time a video is played. Then the sub can be toggle on in the Now Playing screen.

Seeking: you can tap anywhere on the horizontal seek line, then drag the slider. While keeping dragging you can even go down to see the seek handle better.


Stop button: it's gone but you can Stop by long pressing the Play/Pause button.
17th June 2018, 02:50 PM |#13761  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,179
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cat6man

hi,

this could be me not following changes closely enough, but i had a problem with volume that i eventually tracked to a bubbleupnp setting.

when i use my ultraRendu in mpd/dlna mode all was fine but when i set the ultraRendu to NAA mode i got no sound.
after debugging my HQPlayer and ultraRendu settings (and finding nothing wrong), i found that my bubbleupnp volume was at minimum with the NAA
renderer. I didn't notice this because i had disabled volume control (I thought) and therefore hidden the volume slider.
When i unhid the volume, the problem was clear and moving the slider to 100% got me where I wanted to be.

Is this because there are/were now 'per renderer' volume levels saved somewhere?
If so, I didn't see that setting.

so, i'm fine here now, but wanted to pass this one to 1) get clarity here on what was happening and 2) give you a heads up in case someone else runs into this.

thanks for a fine app!

@cat6man

BubbleUPnP never sets the volume by itself. It only sets it if you explicitly change volume via hardware buttons, on screen slider or buttons etc.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes