FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] [SOLVED] Fastboot for Ubuntu 11.04, please help.

169 posts
Thanks Meter: 43
 
By sohrab.naushad, Senior Member on 12th June 2011, 10:31 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
Hey guys,
I've been wanted to fastboot into fjfalcon's kernel. I am using ubuntu 11.04 and im pretty new to linux even though ive found my way around. I don't have fastboot in the tools folder. I tried downloading already compiled files but they seem to be for different devices and they have specific vendor ID's. Could someone guide me on how I can get fastboot to work in ubuntu for the Xt720? I'd be really grateful. Thank you.
 
 
13th June 2011, 07:41 AM |#2  
fjfalcon's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Schelkovo
Thanks Meter: 1,269
 
Donate to Me
More
Code:
mkdir ~/fastboot
cd ~/fastboot
wget http://xt720.ru/Tools/fastboot
wget http://xt720.ru/Kernel/boot2.img
chmod +x fastboot
sudo ./fastboot boot boot2.img
Good Luck.
13th June 2011, 08:05 AM |#3  
sohrab.naushad's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Peshawar
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Thanks, fjfalcon worked easy! Its nice to see ubuntu users, have you tried natty yet? Oh and thanks for the work on the kernel, it works really well with the new MIUI optimized ROM.
13th June 2011, 08:17 AM |#4  
fjfalcon's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Schelkovo
Thanks Meter: 1,269
 
Donate to Me
More
Well,i'am Linux user, but not an ubuntu =)
Gentoo and Archlinux mine distrib =)
13th June 2011, 08:36 AM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fjfalcon

Well,i'am Linux user, but not an ubuntu =)
Gentoo and Archlinux mine distrib =)

Hi,fjfalcon.
In Arch Linux,How to use higher version gcc?
I have tried cross-arm-linux-gnueabi-gcc-base and cross-arm-none-eabi-gcc-base but they don't work anywhere.
Many warning like "variable 'c' set but not used [-Wunused-but-set-variable]"
Stop in one error:"drivers/misc/sec/bridge_pub2sec.S:37: Error: selected processor does not support ARM mode `smc 1'"
How to slove it?Thanks
13th June 2011, 09:34 AM |#6  
fjfalcon's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Schelkovo
Thanks Meter: 1,269
 
Donate to Me
More
agcc with export PATH to prebuilt toolchain? =)
13th June 2011, 11:08 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
thanks you
13th June 2011, 10:41 PM |#8  
sohrab.naushad's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Peshawar
Thanks Meter: 43
 
More
Thats cool, ive been on ubuntu for around 8 months and I love it. I guess for people starting out ubuntu is the way to go. They have their new unity interface which makes the transition from windows easier. Lol I spend more time modding my ubuntu than my android. Love the personalization.

Btw, for anyone looking at this thread to run fastboot in linux I realized you had to use the sudo command. So its:

$ sudo ./fastboot boot boot.img

or whatever .img you want to boot with.
27th July 2011, 05:55 AM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sohrab.naushad

Btw, for anyone looking at this thread to run fastboot in linux I realized you had to use the sudo command.

While the thread title does say ubuntu, not all linux distros use sudo. If you are using such a distro (older versions of Fedora, for instance), you need to use "su" or log in as root.
27th July 2011, 10:42 AM |#10  
Vistaus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Almere
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
If you want fastboot and adb standalone for Linux, then you can download my package: https://sites.google.com/site/ubukun...orlinux.tar.gz
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Vistaus For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Vistaus Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes